We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DUMP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunbird Condominiums
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DUMP”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Dump. And in case I stuttered let me say again....DUMP. Rooms are old, peeling paint, water spots on ceiling, outdated colors, carpet has 'rolls' in it where it is coming up, tiny tiny tiny rooms (not even room for a dresser or closet), bathroom.....cold water faucet in shower/tub did not work, tub had brown stains, kitchen....couldn't have the fridge and/or stove and/or dishwasher and/or silverware drawer open at the same time as there was not room! In addition to poor accommodations, upon check in we were advised that in addition to what we had already paid for room, we also owed a $135.00 cleaning fee! Can't imagine what for, our room certainly was not clean. Dishwasher had dirty dishes in it, oven had dirty pan in it, and bathroom floor was covered in hair. GROSS. I am being gracious by giving 1 star, and only did that b/c would not accept unless something was checked. DO NOT stay here, you will regret it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    14
    12
    23
See reviews for
35
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Most definitley a dissappintment! Room 212 is in dire need of updating & a good cleaning..bed was just a fullsize & uncomfortable..be ready to pay a cleaning fee, which Expedia fails to mention if booking thru them, parking fee, & wrist ban fee..not worth the money!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hoosiersweetheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We had a beach front view from our balcony and beach front access, which was great. But the room itself was dirty, not well kept. Very small uncomfortable full size bed with dingy linens, & don't even think about having someone sleep on the sofa bed, it felt like only metal springs. The staff is not actually onsite but down the street, and they were not helpful at all if you needed anything. Also, there are several hidden fees that they don't mention while reserving the property. So besides the view & beach front access this place is not a good look. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moulton, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Our first stay at Sunbird Condos in PCB Florida. We went with a group of 60 people expecting 2beds, linens, and tissue paper. Well, surprise! We were in 111W on the ground floor. That had the disadvantage that most ground floor rooms have - bugs. Walked in the bedroom to lay luggage down and killed a roach on the bedside table. We kept our bags zipped at all times and kept all the food in the fridge.
Also, the website for the condo doesn't give you clear info on whether the linens, etc. are provided. We got there and had to go buy sheets. Luckily, I had packed extra towels or we would have had to buy those as well. So, no sheets on sleeper sofa, only 4 towels, and only 1 ROLL OF toilet paper. There was a laundry room --- BUT it closes at 10pm!!! If you want, you can exchange the towels but that will cost you $$. Others in our group had to buy air mattresses and pillows because the mattresses on the sleeper sofa and pillows were so nasty!!
As for the management, it was beyond bad. Don't expect anything from them except a room key. They were rude and every problem resulted in the answer, "It is the option of the owner of the room to provide linens, tv, toilet paper, etc." That's not what you want to hear after you've driven 7 hours and can't get tv to work. After calling others in our group, and using both remotes, we were able to access the channels but with no help from onsite management.

The hotel has a very convenient location to the ocean. Shortest walking distance we've ever had. Decor was nice and it had nice tile floors in living area.
Pineapple Willy's is right next door - but the access way without walking around gated entrance is by their dumpsters. Aroma not appetizing.
Upon entrance, we felt like it was a very secure place since you have to have a code to enter the parking area or pool area. The room security was very outdated, though. Had a doorknob that could easily have been picked and opened. Also, lots of dark areas in the walk thru to get to rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed in unit 212W.

The Sunbird is on the beach, but this unit is not on the beach.
You have a view of the beach, and the parking lot, and pineapple willie's (and their dumpster). The complex overall is in dire need of TLC. Cleaning the pools would be a good start. There was always stuff floating on top of the water. The chairs by the pool were nice. You must buy pool bands for $3/each, which were never checked.....after I bought them.

Our unit was so dirty we had to go buy cleaning supplies so that we could stay. The owner already had his money & who wants to spend a short vacation dealing with such?? There is tile floor throughout, except the bedroom. The floors appeared to never get mopped and maybe only swept. We kept our shoes on the entire time. The fridge was dirty. There were washcloths from previous guests were hanging in the bathroom (gross!!), hair in the tub, and a mildewed shower curtain. The bed was old but clean and you could sleep on it. Dishwasher was not attached to the cabinetry and would rock out when you opened it (Not sure how that is allowed).

The furniture was worn and outdated. The window blind in the bedroom would not lower and had a nice pilowcase attached to it to partially cover the window. The air conditioner was very loud and in the bedroom. The sliding door to the balcony had a broken screen door w/ no screen in it. The vertical blinds on the sliding door were missing slats and would not close. Not good when you're on the 2nd floor with constant traffic beside you from pineapple willies and the beach (guests at the laketown wharf also use this as an access to the beach).

We overheard others in the pool area talking about their disappointment as well.

The Sunbird needs a facelift and some TLC. Many of the units were missing screens for the windows or had screens that were ripped. Needs painting. Just looks bad when compared to newer/nicer places.

Road work woke us up every morning and at 6am on Saturday morning.

We had some teenagers above us that were loud and who yelled at passers-by till 2am. There was no one on-site to handle the problem. We had to call someone who said to call someone else. The kids did not stop. Have no idea where any adults were. Never saw any security at all and gates were left up all during the day.

You get what you pay for.
If you want to stay somewhere nice.....The Sunbird is NOT the place.
If you want to stay somewhere really cheap on the beach.......sign up.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happytravelinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

My stay started off good, 1207w is a very nice room but the person that cleans the room does not do a good job. The condo is in a good spot on the beach but allot of traffic on road. I ran into a few problems that you should know about. I called and booked this room for 7 nights and on the morning of the 7th day I get a knock on the door at 10am telling me I had to leave and that they had booked the room to another party. Come to find out they had only charged me for 6 nights. They told me they would put me in another room but I'd have to load my stuff in the car and wait till 4pm till the room was ready. So if you book a room here double check you dates and what they charge you for. They also have a vendor that rents beach chairs on the beach. He pulls his chairs right down to the water so if you don't want to pay the high price for his chairs you will have to walk a ways down the beach to get near the water. They do offer wi fi but the signal is so bad it don't work most of the time. Over all I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jamesscribner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

My husband and I have been going to the Sunbird for the past 6 years the week after Christmas. When we first started staying there we rented from an on site rental company and when they left we rented from RA. We have since decided that that we will no longer rent from RA but a new onsite rental company that shows pictures of the rooms on line.
We have stayed in some beautiful condo's at the Sunbird over the years and will continue to go back.
It has great security and wonderful views and everyone we have dealt with has been wonderful. We have always had clean accomodations and will go back because of the location and view.

Room Tip: Rent through Beachside Resorts Onsite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panama City
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
114 reviews
Legacy By The Sea
#16 of 48 in Panama City Beach
822 reviews
Sunbird Suites
#70 of 83 in Panama City Beach
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Beach Resort
#15 of 83 in Panama City Beach
330 reviews
Shores of Panama Resort
#59 of 83 in Panama City Beach
298 reviews
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Condominiums

Property: Sunbird Condominiums
Address: 9850 S Thomas Dr, Panama City, FL 32408-4248
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbird Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunbird Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Condominiums Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing