We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place, loooong wait time”

Hunt's Oyster Bar & Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 269 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Columbus, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local place, loooong wait time”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a great little local place. Be prepared to wait! It's very noisy and not much on character. You get alot of food for the money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    849
    231
    90
    43
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

After attempting to have dinner at Hunt's Oyster Bar on the first Friday of our PC trip and not wanting to wait the 1.5 hr that the hostess advised, we returned the following evening. Our wait this visit was about an hour and well worth it. After starting with oysters on the half shell (large and sweet) and the Three Cheese Jalapeño Baked Oysters (simply delicious) we each had a sandwich or po-boy with a side. Definitely no complaints. For dessert - turtle pie. We left satisfied and thankful that we were persistent enough to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hughshomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Be careful ”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

A bunch of us friends ate there while on vacation. One plate had long hair in it, think they didn't change food. I ate chicken and slaw within 20 to 25 minutes was throwing up at Pier Park. Sickest I have been in a long time. It might be a one time deal but just be careful , it's not a good feeling!

Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler35904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We got there at 4:30 pm for a hour wait. After looking over the menu, we tried a dozen on the half shell and fried Gator as appetizers. The oysters were the largest I had ever seen. A couple I had to cut in half, they were so big. With the four of us, we ordered the Crab Cakes, Fried Shrimp, Crab Claws and the Seafood Platter ( which was grilled). We were not disappointed at all. With plenty of sweet tea, we were all just stuffed with fresh seafood. Service is great. Yes, it is worth the wait. Don't get discouraged and wonder across the street to another seafood boat place. We did a couple of nights before. Now we wished we had just waited. Yes there is a wait at this time of year, so go early or try it for lunch. Best place we have eaten at so far this week !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnbiker4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent food, cramped space”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Thought this was a GREAT place due to a friend's recommendation and the 45-minute wait. However, I was not impressed. Food was decent, but the restaurant is very small and noisy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GODisGOOD2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunt's Oyster Bar & Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Hunt's Oyster Bar & Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing