We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the BEST!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunt's Oyster Bar & Seafood Restaurant

Hunt's Oyster Bar & Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 261 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Still the BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you like fresh fried shrimp and an oyster bar, you will not find a better place on the coast! Its a bar with lots of locals. But, that the best places to get fresh!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CoachC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    215
    87
    37
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
193 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A couple of weeks ago my brother and I went to Hunt's on a rainy Saturday night at 9.There was a sign outside that said,"Sorry,we are out of fresh oysters."We got oysters nearby and went back to Hunt's.They were hosing down the place.We asked if they were closed.They said,"No, come on in!"We had the place to ourselves and we feasted!Fast forward a couple of weeks.I'm there again with my friend and his 5th grade aged son.We told the son,I.J.that it was time for him to become a man(eat a raw oyster).Well,turns out it wasn't quite time.I.J.did not relish the idea even after he saw his Dad and me slurping down 2 dozen each.To his credit he did try some of Joe's fried gator and he liked it a lot.I had the head on boiled shrimp,my personal fav at Hunt's.Aw man, what flavor.I'm sure they have way more salt than a high blood pressure man should ingest but,uuummmmhhh,yummy!My first review of Hunt's was titled: "Don't Go", because it is hard to get in.This review should've been titled "Go Only On Rainy January Nights When They Might Be Out Of Oysters!"

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackman1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrier Mills, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food for the price...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I ate here because of a recommendation my father in law gave us. It's a little out of the way from the beach, but it's worth the drive. My husband LOVES the oysters. We get the cheese oysters (cooked). It's kind of a hole in the wall kind of place, so don't expect fancy dining. But the price isn't bad. It's kind of located in a weird part of town though. Across the street looks like the ghetto, but then another block down are more nice attractions.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brachears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
2 reviews
“The BEST!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I can't say enough about this place. You know it's good when you get there 30 minutes before opening and there is already a line waiting to get in. The oysters are the freshest in PCB. Always crowded but a great, fun place to go. Don't go anywhere else but here for the best seafood and cold beer. Love, love this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Delores1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This funky little restaurant had the best oysters that we have experienced so far on our trip to Florida. We liked it so much that we went back two times. Loved the St. Andrews area also--so much less crowded than Panama City.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunt's Oyster Bar & Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Panama City, Florida Panhandle
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Hunt's Oyster Bar & Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing