We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for price, I would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
American Quality Lodge Panama City
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Panama City
nelson
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“OK for price, I would stay again”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

If you want somewhere cheap that is clean, you can stay here. Yes the car park is rough in places and the rooms need some refurbishment but the beds and bathroom were clean and my wife told me that the pool was the cleanest she had been in during our trip.
The entrance door was odd, the handle worked upside down and we couldn't get in at first, also it was a metal door and had completely rusted through at the bottom.
There was a guest laundry and a large games room. My biggest gripe was that there was no wifi in the room, only if you went to the games room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valulodge, General Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I just wanted to take this time to personally thank you for writing a review for your recent visit to the American Quality Lodge. Your opinion is very important to us. We are constantly striving to make the best guest experiences and thank you for comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    23
    15
    95
See reviews for
64
26
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

As soon as I opened the door it smelled horrible thank god I had febrezze in my car. I sit in my car for a feww while the room aired out. The maids were smoking weed. Prostitutes were running back and forth one woman about banged a door down. A man was burning a tire on the back of his truck. My mother was tired and she is hanicaped she went in to go to bed but could not even sleep because people were outside of our door being loud. It was a total waste of money. When I reported to the office they refused a refund and didnt even offer an apology. They should call it the no quality lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaytonaDistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valulodge, Public Relations Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Fort Irwin, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room is not ready. The bath and sink are totally filthy. The place is run down. Nothing close to the photos they have online. Not a safe place. Don't have a safe environment. Do not stay here. This should be taken out the search.

Room Tip: This is not a safe and clean place to be in. Very loud. Lots of bystanders.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kdavis5407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valulodge, Guest Relations Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We're so sorry that the hotel was not up to standards during your visit. Your experience is certainly not typical and we are very embarassed by your review. We can only hope that you might give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hi... I am a resident of MS but booked this hotel through bookit.com. First, if there are any individuals out there like me, who always hopes for the best... do not be fooled!! This is not a hotel that you would WANT to stay in
The pics on the internet are not accurate and the location is horrible!! I felt as though I was in the slums of Panama city!! Do not bring your kids to this hotel! There were people outside smoking and drinking and I didn't feel safe at all. Finally, to the owner(s), you guys should be ashamed! The locks and the doors were very shaky and the rooms smelled, and are very very old. When I read the review, I assumed that maybe an anger customer just gave a bad review but no, they are all true! Beware of American quality lodge. If you care anything about safety, well being, cleanliness, and security, DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikitaM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valulodge, Guest Relations Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you experienced many issues that tarnished your stay.. We're very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and do thank you for taking the time to share your feedback so that we have the opportunity to improve. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

i called they had a room i came from GA so my kids could go to the beach for the 1st time ever
i get in around 3am
the woman ran my card told me it didn't go through
that was a lie because
un like other people the woman ck her card and all out going and what do u know $149.08 was taken from it by her so i let her hear it got a room for 2 nites
the next day my door opens uo and here I'm thinking my child that runs just went out nope some one was given a key
that same day before going to the beach i was getting ready. if the maintenance man was 5second before the he would had seen my boos
he asked

WHAT ARE U ALL DOING IN HERE
I SAID I PAYED FOR THE ROOM FOR 2NITES
HE SAID NO U DIDNT
THEY DONT HAVE U IN DOWN AT THE OFFICE
i said then some one will give me my money back
he then demand it that we call the office with him standing right there
i call i was embarrassed mad angry frustrated upset and all the woman said was I needed to calm down
no need to get up set
let that happen to u

this place needs people that know how to do their jobs

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simmons1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valulodge, Guest Relations Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We apologize for the situation regarding your payment and are greatly sorry to have lost your business. It is never our intention to anger a guest or lose business, please accept our apology
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When we pulled into the parking lot, we were embarrassed because it was so run-down, and I'm sure we saw drug dealers and prostitutes stomping the parking lot. The door to our room was jammed and we had to put our shoulder into it to open it. When we walked in, the room reaked of bleach. I went to use the bathroom and the toilet was clogged so we had to call maintenance to come fix it. There was also a urine smell on the ground, which we later found out was piss on the floor that wasn't cleaned up. There was a hole in the wall in the bathroom and all the other walls were made of cinder blocks so it made us feel like we were in a prison. The floors were clearly not vacuumed. There was a blood stain on the bed sheets so I opted to sleep on top of the covers under my own blanket from home. Absolutely the most disgusting place I've ever stayed. Not worth the low price. Maybe if I can get everyone to not go there, they will be forced to close down which would be better for everyone.

Room Tip: Do not come here if it's the last thing you do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kory k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valulodge, Guest Relations Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and an account of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I guest this hotel is a good example of "you get what you pay for". First, the room was not ready as promised. Next the beds were nasty and we had to request new sheets. The carpet were funky looking and the room smelled horrible. And to top it off, they overcharged me for an extra night. I will never stay at this crappy hotel again and i recommend you don't either

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaTot1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valulodge, Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We always strive for a pleasurable guest experience while staying at our hotel. I apologize that you weren't happy with your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Panama City
Econo Lodge Panama City
#30 of 31 in Panama City
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#15 of 31 in Panama City
74 reviews
4.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites Panama City
3.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#3 of 31 in Panama City
245 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
Quality Inn & Conference Center
#19 of 31 in Panama City
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Quality Lodge Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Quality Lodge Panama City

Property: American Quality Lodge Panama City
Address: 4810 W Highway 98, Panama City, FL 32401-1033
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — American Quality Lodge Panama City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your American Quality Lodge Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Quality Lodge Panama City Hotel Panama City
Valu Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing