We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
American Quality Lodge Panama City
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed June 6, 2012

There have been a lot of negative reviews of this property, and at the time they may have been well founded. However, my family stayed here this past week, and the new manager has certainly done a lot already to turn it around. Our room was clean and neat, and all of the staff was helpful and courteous. It was quiet, with no problems. Many of the rooms you can see being remodeled and new furniture is replacing the old. The rates are extremely low for Panama City. It is a short drive to the beach, cutting out all of the Panama City traffic, and convenient to stores and restaurants. The management seemed very open to suggestions, and is working hard to change the image of the hotel. It is not the Ritz, but it is a pleasant place to stay and well worth the money,

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter and have less traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanW35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 172 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

This wasn't bad for an overnight stay since I didn't spend much time in the room. The office clerks were friendly and helpful and check in and check out was quick and easy. The room was pretty old but clean. I liked having a microwave and small refigerator to keep my drinks cold. I probably would stay there again for a one night stay. If I was in PC for vacation, I'd probably splerge and spend more money at a resort.

Room Tip: I'd stay in the front facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was honestly the worst experience we have ever had. We checked in and they gave us a room right next to the scariest people ever! I'm pretty open to all walks of life but I was pretty uncomfortable. They were having a party with tons of people and really loud music. Again, I'm pretty laid back but these people were scary. We spoke to them and tried to make it comfortable. We even were friendly to the poor dog tied to the hotel pole by their room. that is when one of them said "Our dog keeps trying to go in your room because we used to live there we just moved". Wow! Ok then we leave for dinner, passing a ton of "deals" going on everywhere. We hid our stuff behind the bed and left the curtains open on purpose. We come back about 4 hours later and the curtains are open and there is TONS of hair in the sink. They are hollering at me and my friend telling us what they are going to do to us and a lot of other really SCARY comments. So we go to the front and after arguing with the front desk guy get our money back and go to another hotel. Unless you like to do drugs and have prostututes around then I advise you DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. It is very dirty and gross and really should be apartments and NOT a hotel for the public. Also, a lady that night at our "new" hotel told us that a little girl was killed there not to long ago. I am telling you DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: "Just do not stay here....whatever you do"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AngieSmith2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have stayed at this particular American Quality Lodge many times. It is the only motel that I have seen roaches in. There were drug deals going on all in the parking lot and prostitutes wondering up and down the corridors. We had our door open at one point and a prostitute stumbled into our room and passed out on one of the beds. We had made reservations to stay in one of the suites in advance, when we arrived (after driving 8 hours) our suite had been rented to someone else and our reservation suddenly did not exist. I remember when this motel was a fine establishment and I would have recommended it to friends and family, now the only advise I have about this place is that it needs an over haul and needs security.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you are looking to buy crack or a prostutute this is the place to go. Even the staff said dont park in the back, park your car so we can see it from the front desk.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeP2323, General Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

I am so sorry you had a bad experience. I am also thankful you brought these issues to my attention. I will address these issues with my security personnel and make sure they are taken care of immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This motel worked out for us. It was much cheaper than the other hotels so we got a room for the whole weekend. The room had a small stove, kithen sink and a big refrigerator which we loved. The motel is pretty old but clean and comfy. The pool was a lot of fun and so was the game room with pool tables and ms. pacman. There is a coin laundry which we used and the staff was helpful and friendly. I probably will stay here again if I return to Panama City.

Room Tip: get a room with kitchen and larger fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

If you are looking for the best price in PC, this is it. It's an older motel but the staff is good and the rooms are cleaner than average. They come with a mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker(better coffee in lobby). There is a nice pool and laundry room for the hotel guests. This is a busy place so you'd be best to call for a reservation. It's not the best that PC has but its the best for the price.

Room Tip: I'd ask to face the pool and ask for a minifridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#12 of 31 in Panama City
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Panama City
Ramada Panama City
#25 of 31 in Panama City
403 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Panama City, FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Panama City
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City
3.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#4 of 31 in Panama City
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Quality Lodge Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Quality Lodge Panama City

Address: 4810 W Highway 98, Panama City, FL 32401-1033
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: $49 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — American Quality Lodge Panama City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your American Quality Lodge Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Quality Lodge Panama City Hotel Panama City
Valu Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing