We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home is where the heart is”
Review of Monterrey Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monterrey Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Panama City B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This motel is very close nit. Everyone there is so kindhearted and most are regular guests how come back every year. The motel parking lot backs right up to a public beach access which is usually very quiet. The pool has a nice sun deck and it isn't so large that a whole resort could be in the pool area, making it more private at times. All rooms are approx. the same size and each has a small living room with dining table and a kitchenette. The bathroom is small with a shower, sink and toilet in each room. The appliances are outdated and the air is musty at first but a spray of Lysol makes it all better. The owners are two sweet old ladies who run it by themselves and all you have to do is ask them and they will go out of their way to make your stay better. I have just gotten back and I have already requested my same room for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daphne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

I first discovered this little gem a few years ago and I keep returning here when I travel to Panama City Beach, Florida. The two ladys that own the property are very nice and make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. This is a small older property and in my opinion the name motel does not seem to fit. There are 11 units here and they are more like apartments than a motel room. They have a living or sitting area for watching TV/ cooking w/ microwave, fridge, stove, sink , coffee maker, dishes, pots & pans and silverwear / a seperate bedroom or bedrooms / bathroom w/ shower stall. You are within steps of a beach access to the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico. They also have a nice clean swimming pool in season. The units are very clean and you can also bring your doggy. What else can I say, other than have a great vacation staying at the Monterey...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Me and couple friends stayed here last year for the Thunder Beach bike rally. I wasn't sure what to expect when friend told me the room was only $59 and it had separate bedrooms but I said what the heck it was in panama city and I got away from Memphis. Lol. We rode bikes down and got there late and office was closed. He said they leave key in room for you. I wasn't use to that. Went in room and sure enough there were 2 separate bedrooms with a kitchen/den and of course bathroom. I was shocked. Sure the hotel was old and so was the furniture but it was all nice and clean. The floors were tile so no nasty carpet here. It is on the quiet end of strip so there wasn't too much traffic and the next morning I discovered we were right across from the beach access. We didn't have to cross a major road just a small street to
Access the condos on the water. We were literally 100 ft or so from the beach. For a two bedroom room that close to the water I have paid more than $200 per night in panama city. This place was like being at home. They have a supply room and when you need something you get it. There is nobody there after dark so you just do it yourself which is fine by me since if you need 5 towels you get 5 towels and not have to deal with housekeeping only wanting to give you 2. This is not a luxurious place by no means. When I go to panama city I go to be on the beach or out doing something not to be cooped up in a room. As long as the beds are clean and comfy I am fine which they were. I will definitely stay here again. To me this is the best deal in panama city.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bigdaddy71100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Javier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
7.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City
6.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#4 of 31 in Panama City
253 reviews
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama City
Hilton Garden Inn Panama City
#2 of 31 in Panama City
525 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites Panama City
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn  Panama City
Holiday Inn Panama City
#1 of 31 in Panama City
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterrey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterrey Motel

Address: 5501 Thomas Dr, Panama City, FL 32408-6711
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing