We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be afraid”
Review of Bayou Joe's

Bayou Joe's
Ranked #5 of 265 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Don't be afraid”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife was nervous about trying Bayou Joe's. We were new in town and didn't have word of mouth to guide us. The neighborhood's a little dodgy, 2 blocks from a park with a slelection of unsavory characters. Unpaved parking lot. But we drove by on a Sunday morning after church and the lot was pretty full, so we went for it.

It's a little disorganized; too small for a hostess but needs one. We found a seat by walking through the kitchen to the back dock. A friendly server found us eventually. We had a choice of brunch or lunch and both chose the sloppy joe. We drank coffee and soda, but could have ordered a beer. The roll was crammed full of seasoned ground beef in tomato sauce and had a unique flavor. It came with fries that were okay. We were talked into dessert, a frozen mint chococlate pie prepared by the current culinary student on staff. It was outstanding.

Seating is outdoors, on the dock. From time to time, you will be asked to help tie off one of the boats arriving with diners. Toss a fry in the water and watch some huge (I couldn't tell what it was because the water was so dark) fish gobble it down. Linger over a second cup of coffee and watch the boat traffic in and out of the marina while the bridge raises to accomodate the tall masts of the sailboats. Leave your wallet at home. You can practically pay for your meal with pocket change.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BamaVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    109
    30
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good but too little too expensive”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Portions were very small, a po boy or basket isn't enough to satisfy you, food was good and tasty. ---------
---------------------------------------

Helpful?
Thank eater_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quaint little hole-in-the-wall with outstanding food”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ate breakfast here with some friends in the know. I doubt we would ever have found this place otherwise. It is definitely an interesting, rustic little place right over the bayou. One of the specials that morning was crab cakes benedict. Two crispy crab cakes served on english muffin halves, topped with a lightly fried egg and topped with a luscious benedict sauce. We all cleaned our plates even though we were stuffed afterwards! I would definitely like to return to try their lunch or dinner menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lzee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennesaw
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not fronting the bayou, ON it”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very unique place to eat in Panama City area. Boaters disembark right onto a table, entering by any one of 3 sides, stepping thru the sliding doors. Look down between the planks and you can see the water. Watch the Beach Drive bridge open for passing boats. Oh yea, the food is outstanding as well. Fresh seafood (what else when ON the water?). Breakfast, lunches superb. One of our favorite haunts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort oglethorpe Ga
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Found it ..thanks to GPS”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Local told us about this place. We drove 13 miles to get there, and we enjoyed the food and view. It was different from what we are use to...Hole in the wall was correct. I laughed when turned in the drive. Staff was great, on the ball, food out very quick. We had the flounder baskets, which were good . First time I have eaten deep fried corn on the cob. I love key lime pie, but theirs is not that great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shannun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayou Joe's also viewed

 
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Bayou Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing