We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible oysters and seafood and great local vibe!”
Review of Gene's Oyster Bar

Gene's Oyster Bar
Ranked #11 of 269 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Chattanooga
2 reviews
“Incredible oysters and seafood and great local vibe!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

It is off the beaten path, and a tiny place when you pull up but it is worth it. Friendly staff, shuck right in front of you - oysters and soft shell crabs were amazing. They have kids meals, gumbo, crab legs - something for everyone. We will go every time we come down here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midwesttobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    11
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh Oysters!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This place is not for you if you are looking for a sit down menu. It's very laid back, mom and pop type country restaurant. However, they have the best fresh oysters in the area. They'll shuck them in front of you. Service is great and It'll make you want to go back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Classic Oyster Bar”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Family owned restaurant where you feel like you are eating in someone's kitchen. We didn't ask enough questions about serving size of oysters and all left hungry. But the oysters were good. Just make sure you order enough. Great low key dining.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Discover the freshest and finest oysters in America”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Never iced fresh oysters from the water to your plate.An American treasure in its original neighborhood small oyster bar. Gumbo and other seafood all are great.Cash required but prices are very fair. Grab a stool and mix with a group of fellow oyster lovers who know where the pearls can be found.A treasure well worth the journey.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lanierpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oysters!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for candles, table cloths and fine wine this is not your place. If you are looking for the best raw oysters and traditional gulf coast seafood then look NO FURTHER. We walked in, found two stools and squeezed in to the worn counter next to two regulars who welcomed us and explained the menu. We then were served "oysters on the half shell" which were freshly shucked in front of us and served on a cafeteria tray. The saltine crackers were on the counter still in the paper sleeves and the squeeze bottles of scrumptious sauces were there for use at our discretion. We devoured to our hearts content. It would have been nice to drink a beer but no alcohol is served. Gene was sitting outside and greeted us on arrival and confirmed that our meal met our expectations when we left. I plan to return on my next visit.

Don't miss this GREAT PLACE.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gene's Oyster Bar also viewed

Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Gene's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing