We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handling lots of sea critters”

Gulf Specimen Marine Lab & Aquarium
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Panacea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come see and touch Marine life for fun and education. Everything from sponges and algae to seahorses, sharks, and turtles!
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Handling lots of sea critters”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were staying in Tallahasse with my aunt Lonna and she brought there. I liked holding the big blue crabs and the sea urchins. We also held hermit crabs, sea dollars, starfish,sponges, and even more. We liked the sea turtle. I went up to the pool it was in and it came up to the surface and followed me. I don't like the sharks because once I thought it was a touching tank but it wasn't and a shark came at me fast but I got my hand out. This was a very genuine experience for getting in on your sea critters.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    37
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great hands-on experience”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our time at the marine lab. Lots of opportunities for touching creatures...brittle stars were our favorite. We had fun "digging" thru the sand to find hidden critters. I enjoyed seeing the other creatures up close...especially the sea turtle. Staff was friendly and informative. While the lab is small, we still spent a couple hours here because of the touch tanks. We never felt rushed and even returned to the touch area after viewing the rest of the lab. We liked watching the octopus in the back area swim and change color. If we are ever in the area, we will go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank proudteacher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alligator Point, Florida
2 reviews
“take the kids”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Educational and fun for kids and adults. We arrived as they were feeding, so cool. Join for a very reasonalbe price and take the grands.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank APonthebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosford
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place for kids who love the sea!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We took a group of students on a field trip and they loved the place! The staff members were firm but friendly and very knowledgeable about marine life. Students were able to touch and hold numerous creatures and loved seeing feeding time at the shark tank!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Definitely would be a great place for younger kids to visit and see up close some of the animals from the ocean.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf Specimen Marine Lab & Aquarium also viewed

Panacea, Florida Panhandle
 
Alligator Point, Florida Panhandle
Wakulla Springs, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Gulf Specimen Marine Lab & Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing