We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, we're never going there again.”

Angelo & Sons Seafood
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Panacea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well, we're never going there again.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We've been going to Angelo's since 1993. It's been a family tradition when we go to St. George Island for the Seafood Festival in November and we would make the (almost) one hour drive to eat at Angelo's. BUT since the original restaurant was destroyed by Hurricane Dennis in 2005 this restaurant has become a hit-and-miss mess. The menu has changed so much and is so pricy that we are sometimes at a loss to pick something to eat. We LOVE their Buffalo Backs, but the last five times we've made the hour long drive, we find that they don't have them. Even when we have called ahead to ask!

We stayed on St. George Island in April and decided to give Angelo's one last try for Buffalo Backs; we walked in, asked if they had them before we were seated (this on a Sunday at 12:30) and were told 'no.' We turned and walked out. Angelo's: you are overpriced and underwhelming. We will not be coming back again after 30 years of patronage!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    55
    32
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A disappointing meal”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have been going to Angelos for over 30 years and will probably not return unless Angelo is in the kitchen. Several years ago, we had the worst meal of our lives there and it took quite a while before we returned. We lucked out since Angelo was in the kitchen and the food was superb. We felt confident that the restaurant had turned the corner and ventured back with guests this past March. Unfortunately, the food was disappointing, and we will not return unless we know for sure that Angelo is in the kitchen. The portions were adequate, but the quality of the fish and the crab was not what it should have been. The meals had none of the flair that they used to have. The seasonings were not well done. For $170 for four people, the meal should have been much better.

Nothing is forever!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emtstation53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Angelo's and sons”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We use to live in Tallahassee , fl and that is where we always brought our friends when they came to visit. We live in pa now and came to visit friends and went to Angelo's. it was nothing like it was! The cheese grits now have cream corn in it. The fish was dry and the broil veggies vere raw. We were very disappointed as eating dinner there was on our bucket list. We will not ever go back and there are a lot of other fresh seafood restraunts to try

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This is not the Main over the Water Restaurant, but a smaller version about a mile away”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate there 3 times in a 4 day period! We had oysters (from Texas but really good), shrimp poboy, fried soft shell crab twice, grouper po'boy. Then we had steamed shrimp with Cajun spices on our last visit. The service was really good & the atmosphere was warm & friendly. And the prices aren't as high as the larger restaurant over the water at Ochlolonee Bay. I probably didn't spell that right. They are also open for breakfast a few days a week but we didnt try that. They are open mostly 11am to 8pm.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wetravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Get your old chef back. It isn't what it use to be. And who puts cream corn in cheese grits. We will not be back

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo & Sons Seafood also viewed

 
Panacea, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Angelo & Sons Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing