We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time, will be back”

Alvarez Mexican Foods
Ranked #31 of 69 Restaurants in Palmetto
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Delton, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“1st time, will be back”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We love it. Good prices, loved my burrito grande. Iced glass with bottle beer. My husband liked his tacos. Our waitress Elizabeth was friendly & quick. We stayed inside, but had a nice patio.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mjowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    15
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's bad business to dupe your customers”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I ordered tacos al pastor, which was clearly written on a chalkboard as one of two daily specials for $5.99. The waiter asked me if I wanted two tacos with rice and beans or three tacos by themselves. I asked for three tacos. When they arrived, they were small-ish, just so-so, and maybe worth $5 at best.
The check came, and they turned out to be $10. I inquired, and was told the 3 tacos are in fact more expensive. I told the waiter it would've been nice to know this. He said he'd asked his manager and it was the correct price according to him.
I live about a mile away from this place. I am not sure why I kept going back the 3-4 times I did. Every visit involved some major quirk like this. They have a nice outdoor seating area, but the food has not very good any of the times I've been there- and it's certainly not worth the price you might end up getting duped into paying.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sethreaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Twice monthly customer”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Been coming here for almost 30 years. Here's what we get: Chicken or beef enchiladas with rice and beans. 9 bucks. Always good. They greet you with menus and salsa and chips. The iced tea is too weak for me, no Coke Zero and no O'Doul's so I get water. The place was repainted in the last year to pep it up a bit. Always some Mexican music playing in the background. Make no mistake- you are here for the food, not the atmosphere. Yeah, it seems like the servers forget you, but they don't mean any harm. If you're in a hurry, just walk up to the register and ask for more salsa, or the bill or whatever. It's always been this way; no need to get in a stew about it.The cookies are a delicious dessert that can't be missed. Seems like they're 50 cents. Lunchtime features a Speedy special for about 5 bucks. You can always get stuff to go, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A favorable review from a frequent customer”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We've been diners here for about 20 years. Without question, as with many places we eat, including our own home, some meals have been better than others. I MUST say that this remains one of our favorites for authentic Mexican fare this side of San Antonio. The waitstaff is young, fresh and attentive. We like the fajitas, salsa, chips and $.99 import drafts. Give the place a shot. If I'm wrong, you are encouraged to post your own evaluation but I believe your experience will be positive!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billlane5200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great family run Mexican restaurant ! Outdoor seating. Great specials.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Everything homemade and yummy! Great salsa, .99 draught. Great family run Mexican restaurant ! Outdoor seating. Great specials.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alvarez Mexican Foods also viewed

 

Been to Alvarez Mexican Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing