We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish Tacos”
Review of The Clam House

The Clam House
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Palmetto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Parrish, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Fish Tacos”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Ate here last night. Both my wife and I ordered the Grouper fish tacos. Served with yummy pico, lettuce, sour cream and warm tortillads in foil. Fish was cut into strips just big enough to fit into the tortilla. Three pieces were each topped wilt a slice of avocado. Would love to see slices of lime servec with these. Probably should have asked. If you like beer and a local bar yhis one is for you as ling as you don't reqiire "ellegant dinning". Just good food at a reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dwbfl0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    41
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Secret hideaway”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very good sushi. Limited sushi menu but nice. If you like fish in its truest form try the Thai Fry fish. You pick from a list of whole fresh caught fish from the owners boats and weight size and then they score the fish and deep fry it. WOW AWESOME! You can get fish weighing 1 to 5 pounds pending on the catch that day. Be ready though because it's the whole fish put in front of you head and all. You get 2 sides. I recommend the cucumber/tomato salad and hush puppies. Met owner and he says he has an awesome kitchen staff made up of primarly of Japanese folk which is why their sushi is so good. Not a lot of servers on the floor but they work hard to take care of the guests and have always been cordial. Ask for Jenna. We came first as husband and wife and now feel confident enough that we have invited others to join us. Hope this helps.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Clams on the half shells”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

If you ever looked for clams on the half shell in Florida you know they are rare. Oysters are plentiful but clams are hard to find.

Kyle has his own clam bed and the clams are fresh and taste great. He is originally from Northport LI, where clams reign supreme.

Their sushi and fish are also fresh and right off the boat. The prices are good and they have a full bar with daily specials and good prices.

Off the beaten path but worth the stop.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Good old fried seafood and the sushi was surprisingly good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank talonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This place is tucked away in a spot where not a lot of traffic flows. My daughter and I heard they had good sushi, so we stopped here. When you walk in it looks like a typical sports pub. But with a twist! They specialize in seafood and sushi. They sunrise roll was the best I have ever tasted. I was instantly amazed when I tasted it. Since then we have been back several times and have tried the fish, other sushi rolls, the salads and the burger. All excellent! I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SpillThWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clam House also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Clam House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing