We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got to have the "cheesy potatoes" here.”
Review of Norma Rae's

Norma Rae's
Ranked #7 of 69 Restaurants in Palmetto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
532 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Got to have the "cheesy potatoes" here.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Excellent food, service and value here. We had the garden omelett, come hungry if you plan on finishing meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James99946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    40
    4
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellenton, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went to Norma Rae's ror a late breakfast and we were so impressed I came home to write about it. My husband said he meat lovers omelette was the best omelette he ever ate. The decor is wonderful and the wait staff and owners were very friendly. Definite repeat for this tucked away jewel

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acandrilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Lunch Destination”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Norma Rae's is one of those ubiquitous breakfast/lunch venues that are prolific in FL. However, it is not a chain, and the food, service, and prices deserve your patronage.

The restaurant is located in an old building with exposed brick on the walls, and "mature" wood floors. It is the antithesis of a modern diner, but much more charming and homey. The menu concentrates on breafast offerings along with soups, sandwiches and salads.

Service is usually fast and efficient. Breakfast orders are filled quickly. The omlettes are always tasty and light, as well as large. If you are really hungry, order the "Kitchen Sink" omlette. There is an excellent chance you will not be hungry the rest of the day. If you do not see an omlette that floats your boat, Norma Rae's offers a "build your own" with up to four ingredients for $6.99. The grits, home fries, and fruit are always good as side dishes. But don't expect a bloody mary or mimosa with your meal. Norma Rae's does not possess a beer, wine or liquor license.

There are normally specials offered daily, but the last time I decided to order one, my waitress explained it was no longer available, but they hadn't yet removed it from the chalkboard. A minor faux pas in what is usually a very efficient operation.

You cannot do better than Norma Rae's for breakfast in the Palmetto/Bradenton area. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonboro
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“consistent and good”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

It might be busy but the servers are CONSISTENTLY welcoming and efficient. The food is always cooked as ordered and tastes good. Nothing show-stopping, but who wants that at breakfast or lunch ? Just good food, good service in a business that appreciates their customers. My husband gives high praise for the hash , I miss the raisin toast but my poached eggs and crispy bacon with their cheesey potatoes are fine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Only place to go for breakfast in Palmetto!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We go there once a week and it is always good. Very consistent quality and service. The staff is great and the food comes out fast. It's the only place we recommend to our friends.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norma Rae's also viewed

 

Been to Norma Rae's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing