We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better campgrounds in South Florida”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palmdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fisheating Creek Campground
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the better campgrounds in South Florida”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My idea of camping is an abundance of trees and nature and relaxation. I've been hard pressed to find a camping experience in South Florida that fit that image for me. Fisheating Creek was much closer to what we've been looking for. There's many different options for campsites. The ones on the creek felt small, open, and on top of one another. Except for maybe site 16, which extended further back.

We stayed in site 21 and loved it. Although, technically not "creekside" the back of the site had a short path through the trees to a private spot on the creek. It was nice being able to sit at our picnic table, or fire pit and not really be able to see any other campers except for those directly across from us. the Lakeside campsites on the other end of the property also looked promising. They shared the beach but the sites themselves looked relatively private. The 3 main bath houses/showers were very clean. and for convenience a set of porta-potties were placed close to site 21.

It was a little chilly for canoeing this stay, but we will take advantage of it for sure next time. All in all we had a great stay. It is true that the highway can be heard at night, but it isn't that bad. And the management was much more lax than you would find at a state park with tons of rules and regulations. It was nice to see kids climbing on trees and people just enjoying nature.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlt_5266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyinPalmdale, Owner at Fisheating Creek Campground, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear jlt,
Thank you for your review and insight. We love sharing the beauty of the creek with people. So glad you enjoyed your camping trip. AND it sounds like you found the sweet spot of Site 21 :)

We love watching the kids climb trees and ride their bikes...kind of harkens you back to another time.

Thanks for visiting...hope to see you again, ~Patty Register
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The website listed an abundance of activities to do. The weekend we were there there were not many.

Our campsite had NO privacy from the other sites. It was a large lot compared to the other ones.

We had to wear wristbands the entire time, which were awkward to wear and did not come off at night (they were the locking kind).

The quiet time starts at 11...however it was noisy the entire night! Not only from other campers but from the road noise.

The showers never got hot and the bathrooms were generally maintained.

Some of the sites were private but most were not. The campgrounds looked appealing and general store was reasonably priced.

No need for us to go again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriscash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was my second visit to Fisheating Creek and our first time in our canoe. My husband has been coming here since he was a little boy and it is his favorite place on earth to get away from it all. As more people have discovered this jewel you will not be "alone" with Mother Nature, but it is still a magical place. Gators are around, we set out to canoe upstream but as the waters were rising we were unable to get past one of the narrow channels as the minute you lifted your paddles out of the water you were shot downstream and poling was too tiring for us this trip. We will be back!!! We hope to come camp there next year as they have excellent facilities. We spotted the endangered wood stork there along with ibis, herons, etc. What a complete treasure!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoogirl1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. We spent 2 nights creekside in a tent and loved every relaxing minute. We had our 5-year-old son with us and he spent most of his time fishing right outside our tent in the creek. We enjoyed the clean campsite, close bathrooms, campside games that we could check out for free, and beautiful surroundings. We were most impressed by the kind and courteous staff; all of our experiences with the camp staff were extremely positive- can't say enough about how great they were!
If you are looking for a relaxing, slow-paced, outdoorsy retreat that is ideal for families, try Fisheating Creek! It does get chilly in the Fall/Winter, so pack adequately!

Room Tip: creek side is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHELLE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Campground was beautiful, the only thing wrong was the bathrooms, they were trashed, no toilet paper, clogged toilets, nobody seemed to maintain them. They need to have another bathouse in tent camping

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Helga Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Out in the middle of no where. Just what we needed. Reminded me of a rustic Ft. Wilderness(Disney). Campsites are large and spacious. Live oaks are beautiful covering about half the camping area. Lots of wildlife to see and hear. The tent camping area is the best I've ever seen. Most the tent sites are along the creek. We did many bike rides with the dog. Swimming hole looked a little scary as we saw a small gator go drifting by. And the boar enjoy grazing by the restrooms late at night. But, no worries.
Train tracks are right next to the campground. We were a little concerned by this but, we never heard them at night. It was fun watching them pass during the day.
Bathroom tip: not all the shower heads work well. I had to try two before the water came out to my liking. And it takes about 5 min to get hot water. But, bathroom was clean and spacious.
Well, be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buggabooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We loved the campground. Staff was friendly and the grounds were very clean. We rented spot 13 right on the creek. (Note: You have to stay at least two nights to camp on the creek.) There were quite a variety of people camping there most of which were very nice and sociable. The store is tiny but they have just about anything you might need. The creek was beautiful!!!!
I would highly recommend this campground.
Cons: Bathroom floors stayed dirty...but it would be hard to keep them clean. They ran out of toilet paper the first night we were there.
PAY ATTENTION TO THE WATER LEVELS!
The water was sooooo extremely low we would walk 90% of the creek. We could not canoe far since most of the creek was dried up. Also we love fishing but the fish were almost non-existent. I hear that it is better when the water levels come up.
The only other thing was that the canoe rental was $40 a day with no discount for multiple rentals or consecutive day rentals. We spent a fortune renting canoes.
We do plan on going back when the water comes up!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1x2x3xLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmdale
13.8 mi away
port labelle inn
port labelle inn
#1 of 2 in LaBelle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
19.5 mi away
Ramada Lake Placid
Ramada Lake Placid
#3 of 8 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
24.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
North Lake Estates RV Resort
North Lake Estates RV Resort
#1 of 6 in Moore Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
20.7 mi away
Lake Grassy Inn & Suites
Lake Grassy Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
14.9 mi away
River's Edge Motel
River's Edge Motel
#1 of 1 in LaBelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisheating Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisheating Creek Campground

Property: Fisheating Creek Campground
Address: 7555 US Highway 27 North, Palmdale, FL 33944
Location: United States > Florida > Palmdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Palmdale
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Fisheating Creek Campground Hotel Palmdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing