We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problems from the get go...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Palm Harbor
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Booked my room online.
Pictures looked very nice, price was very reasonable.
Get to the front desk only to be told by Lisa, that I would have to wait four hours before I could be put into a room, which is not what my reservation said. Obviously not a concern to her. No kind of help. Very poor customer service. Have to push my entire day back so I can sit in their uncomfortable lobby chairs for the next several hours until I can get a shower and on with my business day. Sure hope the rooms are nicer and more accommodating than the women at the front desk. Will not repeat my stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank carol anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 182 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at the hotel last year for 2 weeks on vacation. It had a cool tiki bar and restaurant onsite. It was called Dockside. It had live entertainment every night. This year the breakfast was minimal at best . The property is getting more outdated each day and it has non restaurant anymore. A staff member said that the hotel had just changed ownership and that the old restaurant is coming back. If that is the case we come back and try it again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Devin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have been coming once a year to this area for 20 + years for an annual event we have in the area. This motel has been the nicest on US 19 and the most inexpensive . The view is not of a parking lot but a canal on Lake tarpon . You have a lovely large balcony on a canal, a sound proof room and a lovely king size bed. It is super clean. They have upgraded the bed linens and the room is large. Breakfast ,, well it isn't anything to write home about but really ,, you are on US 19 there are a zillion places to have breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for the middle , you will be able to see down the canal to the lake
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Booked through Expedia. Excellent price. Arrived March 25. Room was clean and comfortable third floor over pool. No highway noise. Most staff were friendly and accommodating. Disappointed in "breakfast" as was just prepackaged muffins and danish during week. Weekend...fruit and bagels were
added. I understand the resort is under new ownership and will be reopening their restaurant around June. Pool and hot tub very nice. Loved being on a canal that led to lake...very pretty. People fished and kayaked. Would defiantly go back.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank luvs2travel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Drove 22 hours to arrive a little early so called to see if we could check in early. Told our names etc. Said no check in till 3. We drove the rest of way and got there at 12 so thought we would just check. Took confederation from ORBITS and went in girl TOOK looked at it and said check in at three. Came back a little after three to hear manager explaining to someone they didn't have a pet room cuz someone was staying extra nights. Than I was helped by another staff. Gave my reservations.....no rooms under my name or reservations number. And sorry no room spring break. Next. There I stood what do I do. I asked and pointed out the two previous time we talked to them and gave our names why didn't they tell us than. No you didn't but it was the Danes girl both times. She responded not our problem call ORBITS. Took 4 hours to find another room at over 100 a night more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Found this 'Resort' on Groupon-getaways. Seeing we were already in Florida, thought we'd try the new area. The price was attractive enough that we thought we'd give it a try.One of the upsides is that it is on a waterway and there are lots of birds and turtles, so this made it interesting. The bed was comfortable for sleeping, other than that the rooms are tired with poor lighting. We made the mistake of picking up the bedspread and throwing it on the bed one morning and the maid came in and left it that way (guess she thought it was now 'made'). There is no breakfast to speak of, other than coffee (it wasn't very good and we aren't overly picky) and prepackaged sweet buns. There is a pool and a hot tub with a number of chairs and loungers, but the pool was very cold and you bring your own towel(luckily we had beach towels with us). It is located on a handy main road/hwy and not too far to get into Tarpon Springs, which was very interesting to see. Also a few restaurants are located within a mile or so. Nothing in walking distance. There is a fridge and microwave in the room, which is handy.
The young woman at the check-in counter was very friendly and helpful and gave us a first floor room when we asked.
Overall, not a resort, but the value seemed in line with the price.

Room Tip: If you want to be by the pool, make sure you request rooms on the correct side of the waterway.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rpaters53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I had booked this resort thru groupon 2 months ago for 3 days for my birthday weekend! I was so excited since it seemed like an awesome place. I drove 4.5 hours to get there and when I arrived I was told they didn't have my reservation, even though I had the reservation confirmation. To makes matters worse they had nothing available. Now it's spring break, and I'm sure when they booked my lower price didn't realize this, however, they never did anything to rectify it or to help me find another place to stay. 4 hours later I finally found a place to stay for $850 for the weekend.
Needless to say I will never go back there nor will I use Groupon!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Juicepluswendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Harbor
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Tarpon Springs
292 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tarpon Springs
6.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Holiday Tarpon Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
7.0 mi away
Beso Del Sol Resort
Beso Del Sol Resort
#4 of 8 in Dunedin
293 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Trinity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon

Address: 37611 US Highway 19 N, Palm Harbor, FL 34684-1003 (Formerly Lake Tarpon Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Palm Harbor
Price Range: $80 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a beautiful, waterfront, Mediterranean style hotel, nestled quaintly around our boat basin, which adjoins Lake Tarpon. Lake Tarpon is a 2500 acre (10 Km) sports & recreation lake. All of our spacious rooms have a beautiful waterfront view of our boat basin. Our rooms consist of standard rooms with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Relax around the pool after a fun filled day of fishing, boating, golfing, sunning or sight seeing. When the day is done you will sleep peacefully, in a bed so comfortable you will want to take it home with you. We are confident you will return again and again, to enjoy the pleasure and comfort of our hotel. We are located across from Innisbrook Golf Course & Spa, just minutes from the Historic Tarpon Springs Sponge Docks, Brighthouse Baseball Field & Gulf Beaches. Meeting Rooms, Banquet Rooms also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tarpon Hotel Palm Harbor
Palm Harbor Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing