We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Last Minute Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Palm Harbor
Edgewood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Last Minute Getaway”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

A few weeks ago, my boyfriend surprised me with a last minute getaway, as we had both been working very hard and needed a break. The Innisbrook was running a special promotion, so off we went.
The location falls somewhere between Tampa and Tarpon Springs, right off a main road. It was late when we arrived. When were entered, the security guard at the entrance was extremely helpful in giving us very precise directions to the Club House so we could check in. The process was quick and we got out keys and a map to our building.
The architecture of the buildings is a bit dated and looks a little institutional but the grounds and lobby were clean. One thing that made it tough was the lack of elevators. If you have "stuff" with you, like we did, it's hard climbing up the steps. When we called to desk to see if there as a room available on the first floor, we were told that there weren't any in the "rental pool". In any event, we got upstairs to our suite.
It was clean and inviting, the furniture and decor was current and it had everything we needed to get comfy. The living room has a large flat screen TV and great couches. The kitchen was functional and clean. The bedroom was fine, except that they didn't have a flat screen TV -- just one of the older ones that worked, but looked terrible. The bed was comfortable, the linens clean and soft with plenty of pillows. The bath was similarly good, with plenty of towels.
The next morning we got to see the grounds which were lovely and well kept. In the daylight, the buildings look a bit depressing and there is no hint from the outside about how nice the suites are inside.
There was plenty to do in the area and we got to enjoy the beach and had meals at local restaurants.
A heads up however: We had already paid for the room when we arrived and we didn't really have plans to incur any additional expenses on site, but they put a hold of $250 on our credit card (which is customary in these cases) that I thought was excessive. After we checked out, it took almost a week for this "hold" to be released. So, if you have a hold placed on your card, be prepared to wait many days after checkout for this to clear your account.
Overall, this was a pleasant experience, the staff at the desk were nice (never really saw anyone else), we got housekeeping services daily and the place was quiet and restful.
Perfect? No. Worth going back? Probably, if we can get a similar deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with others on your recent trip here. We appreciate the time you took to be so detailed and tell others about your visit. We are so happy you decided to take advantage of one of our many specials we offer and stay with us. We pride ourselves on being a little unique from your average “Resort/Hotel” but still offer all the same amenities. All of our units are individually owned so there are no two that are exactly alike; in addition we have owners that live here year round as well. We take special pride in our grounds and landscape and are glad you enjoyed them as well. We also are very proud of our service professionals and believe they are some of the best in the hospitality industry. We hope that when you and your boyfriend decide it is time for another getaway you come back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    305
    141
    89
    44
See reviews for
319
246
30
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Traveled there for a wedding, the Loch Ness pool was fantastic, excellent for little children. The residences were old, but the accommodations were well appointed, hotel quality sheets and towels. Some residences are better equipped than others as they have owners. The food is great and lots of options, at the pool or bar. My husband and father golfed on the South course and thought is was great. Service was exceptional at the main bar at the Osprey and the staff was very attentive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with others on your recent visit. We are delighted you had such a good time while attending the wedding. We do hold a lot of special events on property but also offer an atmosphere where guests can relax and enjoy the pool, golf, spa and our many restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked the Innisbrook because we had friends getting married in Palm Harbor and this hotel was the best rated. These ratings are extremely misleading and I will never go back here again, nor will we ever recommend the Innisbrook to anyone. My experience began when entering the Innisbrook and found old dorm-like buildings. Our check in process took forever as first, they couldn't find our reservation and second, our room wasn't ready. Finally, after waiting for a while, they gave us a room - but not one we had reserved. These old buildings don't have elevators so we walked up two flights of stairs. This room was old, dirty, had dead cockaroaches in the room and scuff marks on the bed. The TV also didn't work. After complaining about the cleanliness about the room, they said they'll try to find us another one. After waiting some more - this is around 6pm now - I was brought to another building, walked up more stairs, and the bell boy showed us the way - except that someone else was already in that room. So more waiting, the bell boy spoke back and forth to the front desk to find us another room while I just waited in the hallway for 45 minutes. I was again taken to another building, walked up more stairs, and finally got our room. It was a standard room - like what I'd find at a Motel 6, but a little smaller.

Getting the room was a battle, our next battle was housekeeping. We never got any. We called and complained when we wanted new towels. They told us that we just simply were not getting any. I never booked this hotel with anything stating I won't be getting housekeeping services, so I don't even know where this came from. I've never been to any hotel where housekeeping services were not offered. So finally, I spoke to one of the manager, and he said he'd have someone come up and make the bed. But still, no one came up. Also missed some basic items in the room, such as hair dryer and when we asked for that, it took us hours to get. To make things worse, the walls were very thin and you can always hear when people are leaving their room or when someone is walking around the hallway.

This was an awful experience for us and we will never go back and would advise that others don't as well. Absolutely not worth the price. I really wouldn't even go back even if I got a free trip back. Since I was part of a wedding party, all I needed was a place to sleep peacefully and get dressed with basic amenities. These basics were not fulfilled at the Innisbrook. I am very disappointed by this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ninac4116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We sincerely apologize for all that you experienced on your recent trip. We pride ourselves on the fact that we are so unique and different from your typical resorts with our type of accommodations and the layout of our resort. We strive to ensure that our guests understand the type of resort we are before they arrive so there are not the unexpected surprises of the different room types, and lack of elevators. We fell short of that on your trip and wish we had done better at informing you prior to your arrival. We also strive to provide the best Guest Service while you are here, although we do offer some packages and reservation specials that don’t include our normal housekeeping services any request that is made for service we honor. Your experience is not the one we hope any of our guests have and again apologize that you couldn’t enjoy your special weekend to attend the wedding you were in the area for. We hope that should your plans bring you back to this area, you do consider giving us another chance to show you type of experience we are known for. We thank you for sharing your comments and again truly wish it was a different experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polmont Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A week` s golf playing the 4 courses all of which were in good condition despite there having
been a lot of rain recently. Copperhead was a delight but difficult.The accomodation[2 bedroom] was excellent and well looked after
by housekeeping.After a 10 hour trip from UK we received a friendly welcome from reception and during the week all staff
were pleasant and efficient. We had one problem which was dealt with promptly and sympathetically. We had the Copperhead pool to ourselves on two separate occasions.
Breakfast in Osprey was good and reasonably priced.A very enjoyable week. One suggestion is that Brits like a kettle in the room for instant coffee or tea!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our family travels quite often, and I never have written any reviews,but I was so pleased with this property, that I feel I must share my experience. I stayed with my wife and kids (3,6) and we all loved it. The lochness pool will provide HOURS of entertainment for your little ones, it starts at zero depth and its 4 ft at its deepest, the water slides are fun ( the 3 year old was not allowed, which I was a little displeased, since the slides are not fast, but Im sure a lawyer got a hold of that one), and there is a little area with sand where kids can play, tennis and basketball court, and a playground.Our room, though a bit dated, was very clean, and everything worked.The staff was very attentive and friendly, overall I don't have any negative comments. I do believe they close some of the areas for private events, so before you book, just call with your dates and ask them if they plan on closing any areas. Other than that, the only negative thing is that you are about 45 min to 1 hour from the beach....that is it...enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jettech79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with others. We are thrilled that you and your family had such a great time and wanted to share that with others. the Lochness Pool area is by far one of the most popular spots for families to enjoy the afternoon. We look forward to having you and your family back, and Lochness is the perfect place to celebrate birthdays or any special occasion and can be reserved for parties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I attended the Republican National Committee Convention in Tampa. The Florida hotel was the Innisbrook Resort. My comments are not on the location, so far away from Tampa or the horrible bus transporatation issues - that was the RNC and host committee's fault. The resort was very nice, unfortunately we did not get to utilize the many aspects of this property. I had a Jr. Suite which was very clean and comfortable.
On thing was super: our daily breakfasts, themed for each day. The kitchen does a superb job with it's convention service. Food was outstanding as was the service and personnel. I did do a little late night dining after the convention, again the food and service was great.
Too bad I don't golf as the courses look great. Over all a pleasent surprise!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calfloridia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are glad you had such a great time here while attending the convention. While we pride ourselves in being a place for conventions, families, and many other special get a ways, our banquet staff does an exceptional job preparing memorable experiences for all of our convention functions. We look forward to having you back when you can enjoy a little more of all we have to offer. Thank you again for sharing your comments with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My first impression was absolute beauty when driving up. The grounds are quite large and well kept. Beautiful golf courses including the famous Copperhead golf course!

The rooms are just a bit on the small side and a little outdated. They would be GREAT for two people, but we had five. The kitchen is a nice size and everything you need is there. Laundry is just down the hall.

The service at this facility is exceptional. Staff is extremely helpful, and will go above and beyond to make your stay perfect.

The value was good, but they charge extra for parking. $25 parking per day! That kind of killed the deal for us. WIFI is not available in the room. You can "Plug In" to their internet, but it does not work well. This was a huge problem for us.

There are no elevators, but the staff will help you get your luggage in and out if needed.

The Lochness pool was the highlight of our trip. It is simply gorgeous and our kids loved the water slides, pool and waterfall. It was just a short walk from our room. The pool closes at dusk, which made it difficult for us. We were visiting family during the day and would have liked to swim in the evenings.

Overall, we loved the place, would highly recommend it and will plan to go back someday.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor near the Lochness Pool if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do offer a few different room types to accommodate a single business traveler or a family. We are glad you found our staff so helpful and friendly we pride ourselves on that. We do offer wireless in a few of our club houses. We do want to address the comment about the fee for parking as we don’t have a charge to park anywhere on property. We do have a resort fee that covers a variety of different amenities but parking is complementary. We do hope you return to stay with us again in the future and thank you for sharing your comments with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Harbor
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tarpon Springs
0.9 mi away
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
#2 of 3 in Palm Harbor
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Tarpon Springs
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,390 reviews
5.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Holiday Tarpon Springs
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort
Address: 36750 US Highway 19 N, Palm Harbor, FL 34684-1239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Palm Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers everything from golf courses to water slides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innisbrook, a Salamander Golf Hotel Palm Harbor
Innisbrook, a Salamander Golf And Spa Resort
Innisbrook Resort Palm Harbor
Innisbrook Hotel Palm Harbor
The Westin Innisbrook Golf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing