We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tasteless with a hint of rancid aftertaste” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #51 of 196 Restaurants in Palm Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
tampa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“tasteless with a hint of rancid aftertaste”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Yukkie.
Meat was cold and was dry and tasteless except for the slight rancid aftertaste on the way home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wearytravelerTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, WearytravelerTampa. We're sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Allow us to help! Please email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with further details, including the store location, so that we can address the issues. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you can give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    25
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yum yum yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Service was awesome. Food was awesome. Place is easy to access, prices are reasonable, fast service, and nice choice of bbq sauces served with the food. will go back again. :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank czort78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words Czort78! We're glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
315 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good BBQ for a chain restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The corn bread is awesome, the pulled pork delicious and the wait staff great. The prices are very inexpensive, as well. No complaints!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasoporaqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't go here! Restaurant of Yuck!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Its not about the portions, but about the taste. The portions were minuscule. Even though we had All you can eat, the taste and quality was poor. We had Baby Back ribs, which were overcooked, with no meat on them. The broccoli was cold. The hot brownie sundae was a cold tasteless brownie. Even the ice cream was bland. Would never go back. My husband and I always debated about taste versus portion. He said I won. This place, although the service was good, and the restaurant was clean, the food was of very low quality. Would not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodAdvocate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Sorry to hear about your experience, @FoodAdvocate123. Please email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com so that we can better address the issues you encountered. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you do give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Ribs!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fantasic ribs great value love this place make, the burgers are awesome as well.
the prices are great. good value for the amount of food you get!!
The sweet tea is great and the corn bread is outstanding. If you are in Florida don't miss your chance to have a great meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghostrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Palm Harbor, FL
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing