We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistent”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #43 of 198 Restaurants in Palm Harbor
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“consistent”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Seems like they always get it right. Some items different at different locations, but you always get what you expect. Very consistent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crawdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good food love the drive through”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Didnt know this place had a drive through until this weekend. Its a great quick pickup for fast food right next to starbucks.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mybrokersteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Baby back rib”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great baby back ribs and salad bar!! BEST DEAL IN TOWN!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank bearcatbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basic BBQ, don't expect too much”
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Was an alright meal for a chain. Reasonably priced. The baby back ribs were fatty but the sweet ribs were pretty good. Try the corn nuggets for a sweet treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandflei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Smokey and Tasty”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

In town visiting family and needed to find a place to feed a dozen hungry people and Sonny’s worked out perfectly for it. They offer BBQ pork, chicken, and ribs with all the traditional sides. Plus you can choose from sandwiches, various platter combos, and all you can eat options as well. We ordered a lot of everything and it was all pretty good. Those of us from NC prefer a different style of sauce for our pulled pork, so it was not traditional from our point of view, BUT, it was still tender and moist and had a nice smoky flavor. The ribs and chicken were good and flavorful. They were not spectacular, but tasty and Sonny’s does provide a variety of BBQ sauce options that you can put on yourself – which is always a nice option. The atmosphere was fine and the prices are reasonable. Overall a very satisfying meal. We had a lot of BIG eaters and no one left hungry.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Palm Harbor, FL
Palm Harbor, FL
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing