We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I ever stayed in my life!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Knights Inn Palm Harbor
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Palm Harbor
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Traveled 14 hours, upon getting to hotel they had give my room away, had to stand there for 30 minutes while receptionist called her manager and tried to straighten the situation out...Got to room there was an awful stink as soon as you opened the door....Sleeping on the bed was like sleeping on concrete, no clean towels or linens for the bed....Will never stay at Red Roof Inn again, and wouldn't recommend to anyone.....

Room Tip: Don't stay there.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mag1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofpalmharbor, Owner at Knights Inn Palm Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Clearwater (Tarpon Springs) Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 118 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for three weeks while visiting family in nearby Dunedin. It's close to Clearwater, Honeymoon Island and Caladesi Island. It's no four star hotel, but it's clean, spacious and the pool is very nice. We had someone clean our room everyday, without asking, and there would be fresh sheets and towels. I'd say that's pretty good for a $50 a night hotel in which we stayed for 21 nights. The staff was friendly and the grounds were quiet and secluded. I'm not sure why people have so many complaints. Some people just like to complain, I suppose. We travel often and stay at some high end places and this by far is not a bad place for the price. Sure, the tv and decor is a little dated, but by no means bad. We are returning to the area this winter and plan to have yet again another extended stay at this location. Don't trust the bad reviews. It's a great place to stay in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

I admit i was worried when i read the reviews about this place. I had to stay here when i went to a seminar in Palm Harbor. Yes, it needed some cleaning but the bed and room were pretty clean. The shower could use some bleaching. The service was nice and friendly.. The location was good for where i had to be. The Outback steakhouse next door was a plus.. So all in all in wasnt bad for the money. It is an older property and could use some remodeling. Id stay here again if i had too but probably not for any kind of vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofpalmharbor, General Manager at Knights Inn Palm Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to reveiw the hotel. We have made many improvements to the property and have re-trained our staff to better serve our guests. Over a short period of time you will see even more improvements to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Dirty room, dirty walk ways, uncomfortable bed, pool is disgusting. The front desk clerk was great so at least they have her to sell you on the place. We came in for a funeral and needed a place to sleep close to the services. Not a good choice. Will never be back.

Room Tip: Pick another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlottesparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofpalmharbor, General Manager at Knights Inn Palm Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

i apologize that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We are in the midst of hotel wide changes to better serve our customers and make our rooms even cleaner. Should you be back in the area i would ask you come back and see the changes we will have made so that we may change your initial impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

location is fairly good but the hotel is quite dated and noisy. Do not expect but one towel per person and clerk at front desk ask why do you need another if you request.
NO breakfast, old TV no fridge or security box.
It would be an excellent middle of nowhere motel but its in a very affluent area of Clearwater so its disappointing...the only good thing is the price but i guess you get what you pay for

Room Tip: do not get the rooms at the end of the line !! very noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofpalmharbor, General Manager at Knights Inn Palm Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love it when our customers are able to see the hard work and determination that our employees put in everyday to give you the best stay possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I had stayed for two nights in this RRI back in Nov 2010. It was newly renovated and I was impressed with the perfect room at a good value. So I booked two nights in Apr 2012 for a visit to the area with my wife. I bragged on the motel. Sadly, the motel had gone downhill.

The vending machine was almost empty of choices, and the coin return scoop was smashed so our change fell to the floor inside the machine. The top of the business outlet would not accept a plug, so I could not charge my iPhone and computer there at the same time. The combination light/fan in the bathroom had a very loud rattle from worn bearings. The toilet seat was loose on the bowl, and slid off to one side. The nuts holding the seat could not be tightened because the bolts were rusted to nubs. The sink spigot was loose and could be moved from side to side. The drain pipe under the sink entered the trap crooked, and I was surprised that the joint was watertight. There was sticky soft drink residue on a side table. The back of the entrance door was grimy from dirty hands. The wood-trimmed edge of the computer counter was dark and sticky with forearm residue. I blackened a soapy washcloth scrubbing the counter edge. Wife said we had to get a better place, so we checked out after the first night.

Room Tip: Wait for the next renovation?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank vintage42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We have stayed here 3 years when we come for the Highland Games. We will never stay again. They charged me more for 2 nights than their 3 night rate is. They said we had an upgraded room. ha ha NO hair dryer, NO iron, No coffee maker. The alarm clock was tied down but NO electrical outlet. TV was red tinted. Had to buy an iron. Noisy. I did not feel safe. We had stayed in the past with no problem, now they cater to the extended stay crowd.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuLuThelema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofpalmharbor, Manager at Knights Inn Palm Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

The room which you tsayed in was a standard room based upon your description. Those ameneties are avaliable in our deluxe rooms. The standard rooms have ameneties in accordance with Red Roof Inn standards. As for you rate, we have specials set up for three nights and 4 nights for those who need a longer stay. You only needed two nights therefore you paid the two night rate. We cated to anyone regardless if their needs are for one night or for one month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Harbor
3.6 mi away
VISTA Inn on Lake Tarpon
VISTA Inn on Lake Tarpon
#2 of 3 in Palm Harbor
184 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Tarpon Springs
295 reviews
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,457 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tarpon Springs
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Northwest Oldsmar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Palm Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Palm Harbor

Address: 32000 US Highway 19 N, Palm Harbor, FL 34684-3711 (Formerly Palm Harbor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Palm Harbor
Price Range: $56 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Palm Harbor 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Knights Inn Palm Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Clearwater -Tarpon Springs Hotel Palm Harbor
Palm Harbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Palm Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing