We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ribs”
Review of Ozona Pig

Ozona Pig
Ranked #2 of 200 Restaurants in Palm Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great ribs”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Ozona Pig, is a liitle place with big flavor if you like BBQ, their ribs are to die for, and everything else that is on the menu.

The service is great and the atmosphere very friendly!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AN34678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    94
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not run-of-the-mill Q”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The problem with 'barbecue' is that it seems to be turning into a 'fad' food. There are chain restaurants that sell 'q', and then there's the mom-n-pop joints, off the beaten path, some good; some not-so good. The Ozona Pig is worth the trip to the teeming metropolis of Ozona. The key to good barbecue is not to overwhelm the meat (chicken, bee, pork) with some sort of sauce/flavor and not to kill it with smoke. When I bite into a piece of meat, I should not taste smoke. When we stopped at The Pig, we ordered the sampler platter which came with a chicken (not a 1/2 or 1/4), ribs, brisket, pulled pork and a side of beans. Again, beans; I have reached a breaking point with beans that taste like sugar. These beans had a real BBQ flavor that didn't taste like something from a bottle and didn't taste sugary sweet. As for the meat, it was all tender and more - much more - than the two of us could finish. The chicken and ribs were 'fall off the bone' consistency, the brisket was moist, as was the pork. Neither tasted as though they had been cut and set aside for hours. Apparently, the nachos are very good, as almost everyone - except us - ordered them for a lunch. The nacho order is large enough for a meal. Next pass through, I'm going to try one of their tamales for an appetizer. A barbecue restaurant, with food this good, serving a tamale...can't pass that by.

The location is off the beaten path, down near the water. Parking is limited, but I'm not sure that's a problem. The restaurant itself is small, so I'd call ahead if I were thinking along the lines of more than six in a party. They do have outdoor dining, but remember, this is Florida. Outdoor dining is good in the winter, but not so much in summer, even with shade trees.

Well worth the visit, and we will be back. As I understand it, they've been in business about eight years, and they have definitely found the key to great BBQ.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deanrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Ribs”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Second visit to "The Pig." Good ribs, good beans, good mac and cheese. Prompt friendly service. Little place in a little town and looks like you might expect a place named the "Ozona Pig" to look, not fancy but clean and neat with good food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank fredric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Real Good Florida Barbecue”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I've been to this establishment more than once.The food has always been the same....GOOD!!
It's an old establishment with the atmosphere to go along with it's age. It's situated in the old part of Palm Harbor,Sutherland ,Thing is were everything is close, including the parking...Not much...But don't allow that to deter you from the best pulled pork and brisket sandwich you'll put to your lips.
The seating is close and family-like,which is a nice touch,and the wait staff,I found to be very attentive,but not buzzing around you.(not enough room to buzz)!!
If you're looking for really good barbecue and a friendly family atmosphere....This is the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We ordered the pulled pork sandwiches...very good and come with tasty homemade fries; adequate portion. Rustic, cramped, noisy, not overly pristine shall we say, but that's the vibe of the place.. pretty much what you expect from a local barbeque place.The nachos were okay.. seemed skimpy on the fixins's.
Service was prompt,, maybe a tad abrupt but again, part of the "no fussiness" vibe. Prices reasonable. Parking very limited.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angelajoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ozona Pig also viewed

 

Been to Ozona Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing