We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food! Amazing atmosphere. Great service”
Review of La Piazza Cafe

La Piazza Cafe
Ranked #1 of 158 Restaurants in Palm Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food! Amazing atmosphere. Great service”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our server Bryan was super knowledgeable and a lot of fun. The food was top notch! Definitely will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trav0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    145
    50
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Do not go anywhere else”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Visited La Piazza Cafe twice this week. The first time was with another couple who go there on a regular basis ans invited us to attend a Wine Dinner event. The food and wine were wonderful so we decided to return two days later with our mid-twenties daughter and son. We sampled quite a bit of the menu. Our entire family have been to Italy on numerous occassions and I can tell you that the food at La Piazza is the closest we have experienced to Italy here at home. The soups were homemade and flavorful. My son's Carbonara was eggy and full of panchetta. My daughter had Veal Saltinboca was was salty and excellent as expected. The desserts are mostly homemade and almost calorie-free (just kidding). The service was excellent, not too fast and not too slow. We like a european type service that allows you to relax between courses, drink some wine and have good conversation. Not service that trys to rush you out the door to turn over the table. The pace for both dinners was just right. Excellent wine selection in all price ranges. Do not hesitate to come here. Make the effort and the trip. I know that we can't wait to return to try other dishes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Russiancrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is a greate place to dine.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife and I are frequent visitors to LaPiazza. It is our favorite restaurant anyplace. This is a cozy and well appointed restaurant.The food is ALWAYS EXCELLENT, the wait staff is very pleasant and professional, prices are fair and the menu is varied and there are always a number of specials. Larry, the owner is very friendly and cordial, and he makes it a point to visit every diner just to make certain that everything is OK. This man really knows how to run a restaurant.

Dinner here is truly a wonderful experience

Gene Holland, Palm Coast, Fl

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GENEHOLLAND2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Slow Service”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is not the first time we have been to the restaurant. BUT if you are not there with a large group, friend of the chef, or known special occasion, beware of slow service. It was my wife's birthday, we did not announce this fact and there was a large party so we expected some slower service. Then a group who came in and know the chef. So when they got their main course before us, even though we had finished our salads well before them we raised the issue with the "owner". He did not directly apologize nor did he offer to take anything off the bill (he did offer desert but as you get older more calories is not a good thing). The excuse he made really pointed to the fact that the chef knew these people and took care of them even though we had been very patient.

If you want a quick italian meal and sit outside maybe, but if you are looking for a good quality and good service try somewhere else.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3CatswillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPiazzaCafe, Manager at La Piazza Cafe, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We would first like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We take pride in our service, food and ambiance. While what you are describing is a somewhat accurate portrayal of last night's events, there are some discrepancies.
Yes, the group you are referring to as "friend of the chef" did get their food before you, but what you fail to mention is that your two tables sat down within ten minutes of each other, you and your wife ordered an appetizer, while the other table did not. Furthermore, your table ordered Lamb- which takes time to prepare- while the other table ordered rare Tuna and pasta- both very quickly prepared dishes. Your food arrived at the table less than ten minutes after theirs. Also, Chef Josh is very friendly and outspoken, so simply requesting his presence at your table will bring him out of the kitchen and make you "friend of the chef" as well. He is always willing to accommodate any special request. Had you let anyone know that you were in a rush to finish your wife's birthday meal, both Chef Josh and your server would have done their best to comply with your request.
Secondly, the owner did apologize to you, and aside from offering you dessert, also offered you complimentary glasses of wine, both of which you refused.
We do take care of our regulars, and we do accommodate large groups, but never at the expense of our other guests. Impatience like yours is certainly suitable for quick meals, but at La Piazza Café, we rush no one, and respect diners who are looking for an upscale, well-timed dining experience. There is a reason that we are consistently considered a top restaurant in Palm Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best in Palm Coast/Flagler.”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

While vacationing in Cinnamon Beach for the month of November we visited this restaurant three times and that was not enough. Each time we had different meals, ordering the special of the day, numerous choices, or from the menu and each time we were impressed. Not only was the food excellent but the service was very professional, attentive and friendly. They also have a very good wine selection. Dining on the outside terrace makes for a great ambiance, you feel you are in the center of a small Italian village. After the meal as you walk around the courtyard you can hear live music which contributes to this unique place. For a special occasion or just an evening out with your mate this is the place to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piazza Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Piazza Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing