We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still A Gem But Could Use Some Polish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hammock Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Palm Coast
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Still A Gem But Could Use Some Polish”
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Stayed at Hammock Beach from June 30-July 6 with my family to celebrate the 4th of July. This is now the 3rd year in a row that we have stayed here for the 4th and we were once again generally satisfied with our stay.

Stayed in Room 1005 for the first two nights (3br/3ba) and was very happy with the layout and furnishings. Moved to 1006 for the last 4 nights and enjoyed a better view but the layour really didn't work for the 4 small children. The common area (Living/Dining Area) was rather narrow and overcrowded with furniture.

We ate at the restaurants twice and were very satisfied with the service and food quality. Loggerhead's Lounge was relatively empty even over the Holiday Weekend. Suprising! However, the pool bar was hopping all week long. We cooked in the room most of our meals for the sake of the kids and the kitchens in both units were very easy to deal with and were both well stocked.

My Dad, Brother and I fished offshore with Captain Jason from Redline Charters. He was awesome! Great flats boat and he was on the fish. We took 4 Kingfish (about 50-60 pounds total) home and Captain Jason fileted them for us. JT's Seafood Shack in Hammock has an agreement with the fishing charters. Bring your fish in and they will cook it for you, plate it and give you sides for $5 per person. What a deal and they did a great job of blackening the fish.

The resort is beginning to show its age. There is water damage to the ceilings under the balconies in some units, near the beachside elevators on the tenth floor, the pool tiles are all cracked near the waterfall in the kids pool, many pavers are cracked, etc. There is lots of mildew in the pool areas. Not a big deal for Florida in the summer but not what I had noticed during previous stays.

There were no fireworks at the resort this year. We found this out at check-in and called friends who also were staying at the resort over the weekend and they brought their own. In fact, the beach was a pyro's dream during the evening of the 4th though I imagine the hotel wasn't pleased with guests shooting fireworks over other guests heads all night long.

We will definitely return next year and I hope the resort polishes the common areas a bit. We plan to stay over the 4th again and hope for fireworks as well. The staff are great and they always smile and I would return for the service alone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBlueiFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    445
    225
    125
    94
See reviews for
821
315
12
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights over the 4th of July weekend (only because most of the hotels in the area required a 4 night stay, which we could not do) The resort is very nice, very large, and our room was nice. It is a cashless resort, which means upon your arrival, your keycard is like your credit card basically, if you want to eat at one of their restaurants or lounge, got to their gift shop, or whatever you choose, everything is billed to the room, tips and all, and it is settled when you check out. We found the food to be quite expensive and nothing really on the menu we would have liked anyway, so we ended up eating out for the 2 days we were there. Also, if you plan on eating at the restaurants you have to make a reservation in advance. They will also tell you there is not dress code, but upon our check in, my husband was told if we were eating on the grounds he would need to wear a shirt with a collar. But going on, everytime you leave the resort and return you have to pay the $2.00 toll upon re-entering the grounds. The beach is not what you would expect, the sand is not like regular sand, it looked like crushed up seashells and maybe rocks, not sure, and it did have rocks toward the shoreline, so be careful if you step on them because they hurt. The only complaints really is one.. the parking, you can choose to have valet park your car, and pay their tips at the end, or use the self guest parking on the first floor. We chose to park our car ourselves and that parking area is not very big, during the day for whatever reason the garage was packed, and of course nowhere to park. All of the other parking areas were for bosses, reserved, or for visitors, or residents. We had to end up parking in the residents spot and were hoping we didnt get in trouble, which we didnt. And two... the biggest thing that bothered us the most were the attitudes of some of the people there, they acted like they were all high and mighty, and it did make us feel uncomfortable, so because of that reason alone, even as nice as it was, we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2009

We arrived on Friday around 2:30 p.m. Even though check-in is 4 p.m., we were able to check in early. The receptionist was very friendly and thorough. After arriving in the room, we were pleasantly surprised with the gorgeous condo - 3 bedroom! The balcony was huge! The decor was beautiful and the place very clean. We then went to Publix (just down the street) for groceries. We then checked out the pool area. First, we entered the pool complex to be greeted. We showed our key card and were issued as many towels as we requested. Easily found a lounge chair, placed our towels and other belongings down, then went to explore. The waterslide was a blast. The Lazy River was very relaxing with or without a tube. We were able to watch a raccoon in the top of one of the palm trees at the side of the Lazy River. The beach was a good walk away but found it nice that they had water, chairs, and umbrellas right there. If we needed more, there was an attendant ready to help. We did express checkout on Tuesday and weren't ready to leave. So, we hung out at the pool area for another couple of hours before changing in the bathrooms by the indoor pool! This place was expensive but Oh, so nice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blest2bmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

My wife and I went here vs. Ritz at Amelia Island to celebrate 40 years of bliss. Even though we requested an early check in we waited in the reception area that is without a lounge or resteraunt for 3 hours to get into our room, and then another hour for bags. There was a leak somewhere and the carpet continuosly had a wet spot. The small outdoor balcony on the 8th floor was overrun with swarms of dragon flys and wasps, and proved unusable. However, the suite was spacious, the bathroom was large, all were well appointed, and very comfortable. The resort area was immaculate and fabulous. Several heated pools, drinks and food served poolside, gorgeous beach, golf, great food and service at the Seaside restaraunt, and a nice lounge with live music at night, however the band only played until midnight. If you don't lke to do alot of walking, be aware that all of the attractions are quite spread out. Although the wait the first day was annoying, the resort did allow us to stay until five pm the next day so that we could enjoy the pool area for an extra fee. The restaurant was a bit pricey, but well worth it, the food was delicious and the staff was very attentive for our anniversary. Satisfying, but for the money we'll take the Ritz next time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaznBuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

This place is enormous. Looking at it from the outside, its hard to imagine that it is only 332 rooms. The rooms are exceptionally appointed and very large. The pool area is equally impressive and the beach is just over the dunes. We didn't play golf, but its clearly a draw for the facility. Our only complaint is that the food is mediocre at best and the service is spotty. It would be helpful if the staff was simply better trained. Still.... it was good enough to return. Might help if they had wifi as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sblumb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

My wife and three children stayed at Ginn Hammock on the way to Disney, and it was a nice place to rest and let the kids play. The pool complex is exactly what we were looking for after being in the car all day. There is a lazy river, two pools with a nice slide for the kids, and hot tub. We did not go on the beach due to a lack of time, but it looked nice. We had dinner beside the pool, and it was relaxing because the amosphere is family oriented, and you dont have to worry about bothering anyone. There were numerous other restaurants options, which all would have been nice. Our room was a standard room on the 2nd floor with a view of the ground. We had a double bed, and a pull out couch which the kids slept on, and they provided a pack and play for our 20 month old. Considering there were five of us, we had lots or room.

My complaints is that this is a cashless resort, which means you charge everything. They give you a key, and while you are there, you charge your drinks, meals, breakfast, everything to your room. When time comes to check out, they put all your charges on your credit card. I wanted to settle my charges with cash, but they told me they were a cashless resort. This is the first hotel I have seen do this, but I guess it helps with the employees not handling money, which can be good. The other complaint I went downstairs to the coffee bar for breakfast, and ordered three muffins and three cups of milk, and the bill came to $15.00 and a 20% service charge . The total for breakfast was $18.00. A $3.00 service charge for pouring three cups of milk, and putting three muffins in a bag, which took less than three minutes. Ginn is fleecing its customers.

That being said, I did enjoy this resort, and will visit again when I need a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcw7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

We actually stayed at the lodge which I reviewed seperately. There are certain aspects that the lodge and resort share. That is what I wanted to cover here.

The grounds and all buildings are immaculate. The sevice was excellent. The views were very nice. The pools were great. The hot-tub by the pool was the size of a small swimming pool. I think the sign said that it holds 30 something people. There is a lazy river ride as well as a water slide. And there is an indoor pool in case of inclement weather. We were promptly met upon arrival and our bags were brought to our room as we checked in. Anything that we needed was taken care of immediately. When we arrived on the beach, all of the umbrellas were taken. I informed the concierge and more umbrellas arrived within minutes. Chairs and towels were also provided. The beach was fairly empty and private (we were there mid week in June). The staff is on top of things. If you are a golfer or into working out in the gym, you will love this place. There are countless restaurants and shopping options within 10 minutes of the resort. Yes, it costs 2.00 each time you return via the main artery, but the parking is free (unlike Orlandos 15.00 per night at the resorts there)

The disappointing aspects are as follows:
The beach is not sandy, but more of a crushed seashell consistency. The beaches just North towards St. Augustine are much nicer, and of course much more crowded.

There are huge rocks (boulders?) just below the water surface along the shoreline. They are slippery and uneven. It was very hard to walk out to the "better" part of the surf without slipping and banging a knee or a shin.

All of the outdoor pools shut down at 8:00pm. Our teens wanted to swim after dinner and the only option was the Indoor pool which is far less kid friendly than the outdoor pools.

This resort is perfect for certain people, but since we were looking forward mainly to the beach during the day and the pools at night, this was not the right place for us.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Coast
8.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Coast
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Coast
#2 of 11 in Palm Coast
825 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Coast
4.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Palm Coast
Red Roof Inn Palm Coast
#1 of 11 in Palm Coast
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Coast I-95
17.6 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
846 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hammock Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammock Beach Resort

Property: Hammock Beach Resort
Address: 200 Ocean Crest Drive, Palm Coast, FL 32137-3272
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Coast
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hammock Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hammock Beach Resort is situated on over two miles of pristine unspoiled beaches just south of historic St. Augustine. With exceptional amenities, such as our recently updated suites and facilities, 36 holes of Signature Golf by legends Nicklaus and Watson, a rejuvenating spa, tennis, marine activities, multi-level water park including a three-story slide and lazy river, fire pits and activity lawns, we’re certain to have all the ingredients you need for success. The resort features 330 luxury accommodations that range from ocean view studios to multi-bedroom condominiums that overlook the Atlantic Ocean. Our ballrooms are beautiful, but we’re best known for our five ocean view event lawns that allow your group to some of the most spectacular views on the coast. Our service professionals aim to exceed your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you to our very special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hammock Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammock Beach Hotel Palm Coast
Hammock Beach Palm Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing