We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Capt of the Ribs”
Review of Captain's BBQ

Captain's BBQ
Ranked #2 of 154 Restaurants in Palm Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Capt of the Ribs”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great barbeque ribs,done perfect,great sauce selection and amazing sides. Friendly people and great location and ambiance
Very clean

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeoneHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    877
    264
    66
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Meat !”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Pork, brisket, and turkey are all very good. It is in a tackle shop, but is very clean and no fish smell. Good kids meals. We had to go twice in one week while on vacation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darrin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Saw the sign for Captains and decided to go for lunch after a motorcycle ride to Daytona. Have ridden by many times and don't remember seeing it before. Large sign heading north about 4.5 miles before but nothing closer and drove by it at first. Glad we went back, it was excellent BBQ. Tables inside and out. Order at a counter and pick up at window. Sides were good, esp the mashed yams and slaw. Sauces were ok but not really needed as meat was very tastey. Tried the pulled pork, brisket and turkey sliders and all were great. Staff was very friendly. In fact, my wife dropped her sun glasses and the owners wife gave her a pair of her own so she would have a pair while riding. Will definitely go back (and give the sunglasses back).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
2 reviews
“A great find”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Really enjoyed this restaurant - great BBQ and great service. It is always a highlight of the trip when we visit Captains BBQ.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavesCap1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The main star of the show, the BBQ, is great. Good flavor, perfect texture, just "greasy" enough. On two different visits, I had the sampler (choice of two) trying out the chicken, ribs, brisket, and pulled pork. My wife had a pulled pork sandwich on the first visit and a brisket Reuben on the second. All of the meats were cooked quite well and had a great flavor with the smoke flavor not getting in the way of the meat. The sauces (4 to choose from) were good, with the vinegar-based one as my favorite. They have a surprisingly wide beer selection, which was quite a pleasant surprise. On the down side, most everything else lacked flavor. From the sides of potato salad, cucumber salad, collard greens, and cole slaw, to the ketchup-based sauces, to their famous cheesecake, there was little, if any, taste of the main ingredients and very little of the dressings. Well, the cole slaw was the exception, but in a bad way - it seemed to be little more than dry shredded cabbage. One part of the meal I was looking forward to was the dessert. I rarely treat myself to dessert and cheesecake is one of my favorites. The couple that runs the restaurant made their reputation on desserts (and they display their trophys and ribbons at the cash register to reinforce that), but the cheesecake I had was dry and had no discernible flavor. The crust was awesome (a feat in itself) but the cake itself was a disappointment. I will try a different dessert next time to see if it was a fluke.

Yes, I said when we return. Despite the lack of flavor in the sides and dessert, the meat is really what it's all about at a BBQ joint and Captain's does not disappoint. The setting on the ICW at a boat launch and public park makes for a wonderful afternoon lunch on the screened patio.

It is certainly worth the drive from St. Augustine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Captain's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing