We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golf Course is Great, but ask first about....”

Ocean Hammock Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named a "Modern Classic" by Links Magazine, this oceanfront 18-hole championship golf course features indigenous forest and wetlands, coastal dune formations and the Atlantic Ocean itself as a panoramic backdrop.
Austin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Golf Course is Great, but ask first about....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just got back from Hammock Beach Ocean Golf course. The course was in great shape, the layout is very nice, and the facilities offer everything you need. UNFORTUNATELY, my group of seasoned golfers were placed behind 26 folks who should NOT have been allowed on the course or at best better managed. The 26 were all in their 20-30's and part of a bachelor's party. The round of golf took over 5 hours. For the price and reputation of this golf facility, they simply can't allow this. I travel all over the US playing golf. All of my friends will know of the challenge. In the clubs defense, they "tired" to fix the situation, but failed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hal-ThePlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast was just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had breakfast and the staff was fine and very quick but the food was just OK for the price. It does have amazing views of the ocean and the 18th. green on the ocean course.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Played to the sound of crashing waves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Loved it. No negatives. Just plain loved it. The staff was so helpful and wouldn't accept a tip. The beverage cart came around 4 times even offering lunch.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank quiltmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All around well run facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

The course is a well rounded layout and the conditioing was as good as I've seen this year. I've played a lot of courses from Pinehurst down to LPGA in Daytona and the customer service at this course was absolutely top notch.The staff does a great job personalizing your visit as I was called by name at the bag drop, in the proshop and at the first tee even though I had never been there before. It takes a large maint. staff to keep a course at this level of conditioning and I ran into to them on at least 8 holes. But, every time I ran into the crew, they would turn off their equipment and get out of my way. One of the guys who was pulling weeds even offered to tend the flag for me as I was playing solo.
Congratulations to the management of this facility, because they've done an awesome job of stressing the importance of customer service throughout their entire staff.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
212 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Course is in excellent condition, great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2008

I first played this course in 2007 and found the layout to be excellent, but condition a little lacking. This year (March 2008) the course condition is outstanding.

Two holes are along the ocean and another ends at it. The Ocean course is challenging, but fair for your average golfer. Staff is also excellent and the facilities first rate.

Ginn who runs with course also has the Conservatory Course which can also be played (around 9 miles away). That course is longer and tighter. It also is not in great condition -- it's only two years old and just needs to grow in more. Note that the Conservatory is pretty difficult from any tee with very large and quick greens.

Helpful?
Thank dave9956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Hammock Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Hammock Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing