We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, unique get-away spot!”

Washington Oaks Gardens State Park
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Palm Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous, unique get-away spot!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The first place we checked out was the beach... which did not disappoint! My family has been so captivated by the natural beauty of the coquina, which is carved into unusual holes and caves big enough to crawl through, we visit it multiple times each year. As you walk further down the beach, to the left, the rocks become larger and more abundant, so it is definitely worth going the distance. We have not really explored the other side of the park yet, except to visit the little gift shop, but even that was a memorable experience due to the sweet ladies who work there. If you want a cheap ( admission was only 5$ or 10$) and AMAZING mini-vacation, check this place out!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Godsgirl4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    141
    22
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We saw the signs for this state park and decided to check it out. It's a beautiful little garden with a good variety of plants and flowers. They have several plants that attract butterflies and we saw quite a few. It was a nice break from driving and I'm really glad we stopped.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando,fl
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful and unique beach”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Coquina beach was absolutely unique and gorgeous. Definitely did not feel like u were in Florida. Admission is $5 for the gardens and the beach, very affordable and a great way to spend a few hours with the family. At high tide there are pools of water left behind within the holes of coquina and u can find some critters still lingering. Make sure to wear comfortable shoes/sandles as some of the rocks are very sharp. Not really a swimming beach, but worth the drive!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tellinitlikeitis_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful state park off the beaten path”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a really beautiful state park off the beaten path. It is truly refreshing after passing through the intense commercial establishments in St. Augustine.

The beach area in front of the entrance is a great place to visit, fish and swim.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Logistiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Daytona
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Natures Best”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Washington Oaks is a beautiful State Park on the Intercostal Water Way in Palm Coast FL.
It has many places to sit and look at the moss covered oaks and also sit by the water to view the boats and birds of the area.
The Rose garden is well designed and marked for you.
We have seen Weddings and family outings that were just terrific.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank comishfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Oaks Gardens State Park also viewed

 

Been to Washington Oaks Gardens State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing