We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Little Side Trip”

Washington Oaks Gardens State Park
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Palm Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Goleta, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun Little Side Trip”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Interesting place to visit for a change of scenery. I enjoyed the gardens, but watch out for the mosquitoes and red ants. Probably more of a place for adults - the children in our party weren't as interested as the grown-ups.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank joyride64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    141
    22
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A Really Nice and Scenic Place - Understated, but Worth a Visit”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This is a lovely park on the intracostal waterway that was formerly an estate owned by, as I recall, the president of GE. It is a lovely piece of land, with a nice "cabin", but some very interesting trails and views. I would highly recommend spending an hour here if you are anywhere near the area.

A local supplier often runs kayak trips from this place, which are great (I have done it.). At Christmas, there is a beautiful luminary weekend where the entire place is lighted with candles.

If you're in the area, check it out.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank chris32137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“serenity”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

beautiful gardens, huge granddaddy oak trees, nice selection of plants for sale

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank WorldClassBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We enjoyed the gardens and while viewing the river two beautiful boats went by on the ICW

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Bomac114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely but careful of the the summer mosquitoes!”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Park itself is gorgeous with beautiful trails and a variety of areas. The koi pond surrounding the gazebo and footbridges are very scenic and right next to the rose garden. The only problem other than the normal Florida summer heat was the mosquitoes. In July, they were awful and within moments, all 3 of us were covered in bites. However, the park overall was wonderful and I'm now planning an October wedding in the gazebo. I can't wait to go back when the weather is a little cooler and the bugs have taken a hiatus!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank luajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Oaks Gardens State Park also viewed

 

Been to Washington Oaks Gardens State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing