We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible management”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have stayed at the property before, as this is our little getaway-go-to-place from Miami. We have recommended it to our friends and collegues, untill now.
previously we were checked into a dirty room, no problem, they apologized and ofcourse upgraded us to a suite. This time, we booked a guest room, as we were only staying for one night. after checking in, we were dissapointed in the room and called to see if there was not a different room, even in a different location. this was located by the parking area. after talking to the frontdesk agent, she transfered me to the mangager, not sure why, we just asked about the move. The manager, Kamal, was quick to tell me that he assignes the rooms and that there was nothing else, and this was what we had booked. I agree. But then he said, and this to me is the dealbreaker, "if you dont like the room, you are more than welcome to find a room at another hotel in the erea". Well, Im in the industry myself, and yes, that was the room we booked, and I believe there was another location. nontheless, that response is unacceptable. I tried to give my son a bath and the tub was leaking, the stopper barely closing, after calling guest services the girl thanked me for letting them know, ok, but im still trying to give my son a bath. Im not sure if we will go back, which is sad as we really loved going there. That is not customer service, everything else there is wonderful, just not their attitudes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank h d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of Marriott's Ocean Pointe. While we appreciate your feedback, it is disappointing to hear that your experience from our staff was not up to the Marriott standard you expect and deserve. We have addressed your concerns with the resort general manager so corrective action can be taken. If there is anything else we can assist with, please contact our customer care team at 800 860 9384 or via email at customer.care@vacationclub.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    439
    146
    62
    47
See reviews for
609
466
22
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Ocean Point is one of our home resorts in the Marriott Vacation club system. Since becoming an owner in 2000 we have enjoyed many fun vacations at singer island. The staff always goes above and beyond to make your stay the best. Everyone greets you with good morning, good afternoon, good evening. Need anything, just ask, they will take care of you. The beach is right at your door step. Spent every morning watching the sun rise on the beach, met people from all over the world at this resort. Drinks and food at the tiki bar where fine. Standard resort pricing($$$)' but the drinks where strong and cold and multiple TVs for viewing. Love the rooms at this resort. Even if you are not ocean front every unit has an ocean view. One of the first things we always do is open the curtains in the living room and set a chair looking right out the corner window. It's always a race to see who gets the window seat after a day at the beach. Kitchen is stocked well and towels are plentiful, pool and beach towels are provided and they do offer a towel exchange at the pools. The only quirk in our stay was the requirement of using your room key to make the elevator work. Usually had to place the key multiple times to get it to register. Not really sure how this makes the system more secure as on our last visit you had to use your key just to get into the vestibule but now you can just walk in to the vestibule without a key. Many times we saw people waiting on the elevator and they would piggyback on us in the elevator without showing a key. I would feel safer having the vestibule as well as the elevator keyed. Another little note. Always check your in room messages when the light is blinking. They change the gate codes on Thursday ( it would be nice if they gave you that heads up upon checking in) I figured it was just a sales call and did not check the message. Went out to the beach on Thursday morning and could not get back in the Marriott gate. Had to wait to piggyback! Do not hesitate to go to Ocean Point. You will have a great stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Questor79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed from Sunday- Sunday and the staff was extremely friendly and the beach was amazing. There is so much to do within this area also. I highly recommend going snorkeling at the local park it is free and within just a few miles of the condo. Also on Thurs. nights at Starfish Marina there is a crafts fair you dont want to miss! There is reasonable priced jewlery and other unique items. This island is truly paradise! The Marriott's staff is very friendly and helpful. The Marriott also offers lots of free activities for its guests such as black jack, texas hold'em, dance, water arobics just to name a few. The only problem staying here is that you wont want to leave.

Room Tip: The higher floors will have a better view of the ocean. If you stay in the last building (the Kingfi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driver603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiscasset, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great location, right on the beach and a short drive from West Palm Beach airport. We checked in on a Sunday, with a reservation for a 2 bedroom suite. We were given a handicap room, which we didn't want. Phoned the front desk, and they sent up a trainee, very nice young lady, who told us they had no way of knowing at the front desk that the room was handicap equipped. Seriously?

She showed us another room which had a number of water stains on the ceiling. Surprising, since the building was renovated two years ago. So we returned to the front desk and the front desk manager was able to find us another room, just one floor away from our original room. Speaking with the manager, we questioned why we would be given a handicap room when other were available, and then be told that they had no way of knowing which rooms were handicap equipped. While we were having this conversation, the couple checking in right next to us asked the desk clerk (the same one, by the way, who checked us in) if their room was handicap equipped. He quietly assured them it was not. Interesting.

Other than the initial poor impression, the rest of the stay was great. The property is immaculate, the rooms comfortable and well-equipped... typical of Marriott's high standards. Important take-away from this is: don't be afraid to ask for what you want. You shouldn't have to ask, but sometimes it's the only way.

Room Tip: All rooms have at least a water view. Buildings are renovated on a rotating basis, one a year and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fish4Stripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monongahela
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great stay. Leave the beach towels at home, they have a towel exchange. The kitchen has everything you need, if you are going to have some meals in. The condo was very spacious and rooms were clean, the beds were nice, could have better pillows. All in all it was a wonderful week

Room Tip: Great stay, everything you need for the week, leave the beach towels at home, you can change towels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Ocean Point is a sprawling beachfront resort on Singer Island in Palm Beach Shores. While the area across the bay is a ghetto, the island is a much safer location. You can walk to several restaurants and bars in the area. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The grounds are lovely. There are several pools and spas, 2 gyms, play areas for kids, several BBQ areas, volleyball court, mini golf, and a nice tiki bar. The beach is clean and readily accessible. Everything we wanted was there. I loved the morning water aerobics classes. I can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelonNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I had a very pleasant stay here recently. The property is right on the beach, just a short 20 minute drive to Palm Beach. The condo was spacious and well equipped. I shopped at a local Whole Foods for groceries which was 15 minutes away. The staff at the resort were friendly and accommodating. Several pools on the property ensures something for everyone. Definitely would return!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach Shores
0.8 mi away
Marriott's Oceana Palms
Marriott's Oceana Palms
#1 of 4 in Riviera Beach
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas
Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vac...
#2 of 4 in Palm Beach Shores
1,139 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palm Beach Marriott Singer Island Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hilton Singer Island Oceanfront/Palm Beaches Resort
4.3 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Property: Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Address: 71 Ocean Ave, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404-6274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing