We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation August 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Certificate of Excellence
Port Jefferson, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family Vacation August 2013”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Another of Marriots Vacation Clubs great locations. located directly on the beach on Singer Island. Traveled in late August 2013 so beaches and resort where less crowded. Our party was 15 people and had 3 2BR villas. Resort got all 3 rooms together as a special request. The staff at the resort where very helpful and the Bar staff was terrific. We stayed in the Kingfish building problem there is that there is another property(apt. building) seperating it from the rest of the resort and activities. If you prefer a little more quiet then the Kingfish would be fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolfan1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    439
    146
    62
    47
See reviews for
609
466
22
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the Kingfish building. Looks very old, 1 pool and 1 hot tub. 3 adult swings, bar. No place to eat dinner. Starbucks is only perked coffee. A few activies....nothing exciting. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just got back from a week at Ocean Pointe where we had a great time..This was our first time at a Marriott resort - we traded our time share week in Virginia Beach for this location and were very happy with our exchange. The room was very comfortable, quiet and updated. I enjoyed the daily pool exercise class. There were a number of other activities going on around the resort at various times so lots to do. The personnel were friendly and helpful. As mentioned, the beach was not the greatest. The waves were rough (could have been due to storms in the Atlantic), the sand was course (but a shell hunters jackpot) and the slope into the water steep. Consequently, we didn't spend much time on the beach. All in all, a great vacation. My only "complaint" would be that the water coming from the pipes, whether faucet or drinking fountain, had a brownish tint. What is that all about?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaLandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at Ocean Pointe from 13-20 September having exchanged through Interval International. Following tripadvisor advice I contacted reception to request a room on an upper floor to try to secure an ocean view. We also received an e-mail from Ocean Pointe asking for our room preferences. We already knew that renovation was being undertaken (although this proved to be far less problematic than might have been anticipated after the warnings of noise/restrictions at the time of booking) so we opted for the Cobia building - hopefully upper floor.
On arrival at 1.30 our room was not ready but Jane on reception was really pleasant helpful giving us loads of information obout Ocean Pointe and the amenities - so we headed for the bar/tiki hut! Diana and Jillian mixed some really wonderful cocktails which helped to pass the time ...!
Our accommodation on the 5th floor of Cobia was wonderful! Renovated in 2012 the "room" was really well equipped with loads of space for relaxing (handy during the 2 days of September rain storms). We had 2 problems with the room (dishwasher and iron) - both of these were reported and rectified very quickly. Everything else worked perfectly!
We were looking for relaxation and headed for the pool most days - plenty of loungers available. The shuffleboard and 9 hole "putting greens" provided a welcome alternative activity on a couple of days but the beach was not really to our liking - having just travelled from the white sands of Anna Maria Island! Also the lounger/parasol rental costs seemed high - but do as other contributors have suggested - buy from Walmart and sell on to others!
Catering on-site is limited although the ribs at the bar were fantastic! Relatively few off-site options but Sailfish Resort (8 minutes walk away) is to be thoroughly recommended - especially Thursday night when there was an outdoor market + singer/guitarist.
Other contributors have spoken about poor quality customer service but this was not our experience: EVERY member of staff treated us in the wasy we expect from Marriott. We felt safe, enjoyed our week and would happily return.
Adrian and Helen

Room Tip: Phone and ask for an Ocen View! Check which building is being renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edenfieldskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The vacation we had was very nice. The weather in September in Florida is unpredictable and we had only four days of nice sunny weather. The place itself is located at the end of Singer island. The channel where boats travel to and from port is enjoyable to view. The beach isn't the greatest. The sand isn't easy to walk on and is quite rough with alot of shells. The ocean there gets alot of rough currents and alot of jellyfish. in the vening quite relaxing. The pools are nice and when there are no kids enjoyable to be in. There is one building at the very end where they have their own pool and beach entrance. very nice and quiet. Service was excellent and the people try very hard to maintain the properties at a level of beauty and visitor friendly/enjoyable.

Room Tip: ask for the building at the very end of the marriotts facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannsluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Beautiful resort. Lots of activities for the whole family. The suite was very clean and updated. We have everything we needed for a great beach week. The location is great, with in walking distance to lots of shops . The beach is beautiful, a shell hunters paradise.

Room Tip: We had a corner unit overlooking the inlet. Great for ship watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROADRUNNERBluefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our unit, with a lock-off for our friends was typical Marriott - beautiful! The location was great - close to 2 (out of 4) very large pools, bar, restaurant and beach. We enjoyed the water aerobics, with a different instructor each day! The ocean was great (except for a few jellyfish).
To save on the $30/day chair/umbrella rental, we bought lounge chairs at Walmart ($13). We didn't go to the nearby restaurant "Longboat Johnny's" until the last two nights. Too bad - as it was very good, and within walking distance. We had a wonderful week and would love to get the same week next year!

Room Tip: we stayed in the "Cobia" building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regina0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach Shores
0.8 mi away
Marriott's Oceana Palms
Marriott's Oceana Palms
#1 of 4 in Riviera Beach
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas
Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vac...
#2 of 4 in Palm Beach Shores
1,136 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palm Beach Marriott Singer Island Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hilton Singer Island Oceanfront/Palm Beaches Resort
4.3 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Property: Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Address: 71 Ocean Ave, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404-6274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing