We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but not a lot to do in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Overall the Marriott Ocean Point is a very nice location with beautiful grounds and a great view of the ocean but not a lot to do in the area outside of the hotel. Our two bedroom suite had plenty of space with two balconies off of each bedroom and living room. It had a full kitchen which was nice but limited cooking utensils (one fry pan and a couple pots) Still we were able to make some nice meals with what it had. There are three large pools and a water area for small kids like a water fun zone. Five brand new gas BBQ’s are located at one end of the property by the fully equipped gym. The bar poured some good drinks; however, they were not cheap. About $10 per mixed drink but they got your mind right after a few. There is a small shopping store but it is much better to drive across the bridge to the Publix Market with a great selection. You can also walk to a couple of bars (Longboard) which has good drinks and food at a reduced price.

Another thing to note is when you exit the freeway the area you have to drive through is not the best (keep doors locked) but gets better when you get to the bridge. The vendor on the beach wants $30 a day for chairs and umbrellas so it was easier to go to Wall Mart and buy two chairs for $21 and we left them in the room upon checkout. I did hear that the vendor will bargain with you if he is not busy which was the case when we were here.

Again, tons of kids on the week we were here (over Labor Day) so if you want to get away from small kids, this probably is not the place for you. They had an adult pool, but the kids were in that also and it did not appear staff was doing anything about it. Speaking of staff, they all seemed friendly but just make sure you don’t answer your phone or they will try to rope you into a presentation.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room on the 3rd floor or higher. Any lower and you will not have an ocean view. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

966 - 972 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

The 2 bedroom unit we stayed at with friends was Great! Rooms had great views, each had it's own balcony. The kitchen was loaded and you didn't need to bring anything but food. Plenty of storage and room to unpack so you didn't have to dress from the suitcase. The room had a couple problems, the fridge leaked, the sink leaked and the bar fridge in our room didn't work, but they replaced it right away! When you called with a problem, they sent someone to fix it right away!

The Hotel itself ALWAYS had some sort of entertainment of some kind going on. There was something for everyone almost every hour of the day! The pools & jaccuzzi's were nicely kept. Salt generated, so no harsh chemicals. The workout facilities were top notch!

Security was good. Everything was key coded. Not just ANYone could get in unless you belonged there.

The Few days we stayed, were great! Would definitely go back again at just about anyone of them if they're all kept the same way!

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom efficiency! All 4 buildings are well located. You never hear the person next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chikimba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed last week in August, 2 adults 2 children in 2 bedroom unit.
Arrived on a beautiful summer day, which was most welcomed, as we had travelled from a cloudy/rainy Orlando, and as we are from the UK, the sun shining is always a bonus, we don't see it much!
Initially we were put in Pompano building, but we asked did it have any view, which it didn't, so the guy on reception, who was really helpful, changed our room to the Dolphin building. In my opinion, if you are staying there try and get in Dolphin or Sailfish as they are the two buildings around the main pool, tiki bar and marketplace.
Our room was perfect, just as the photos on the website and everything you expect from Marriott, with hottub bath, large shower, kitchen, washer/dryer, etc. The only gripe would be the shower. The head was big, but only a light shower came out no matter what setting, but no problem.
Our 2 children, age 5 and 9, loved having there own little apartment attached to our unit!
There are 4 pools with luscious landscaping, we only used the two main pools, with entry points down to the beach. The first day we arrived, we went to the beach and the ocean was like getting into the bath, water was so warm and we did a litlle snorkelling and saw some fish. Days after it all changed cause of TS Isaac, wind and rain caused swell and the waves came crashing in, but that was fun and relaxing to watch.
The storm ruined the weather for about 4 days, but we still went to the pool and kids enjoyed themselves, temperatures were still 85f+. Other days we filled with shopping at the Gardens Mall about 20 mins away on PGA blvd. They have Macys, A&F, Polo, etc, so spent a bit to cheer ourselves up. We also went to John D. MacArthur Beach State Park and Loggerheads Marine Life Center, which are 15-20 mins drive away. Worth a visit to see rescued turtles and had some pleasant walks, were we encountered banana spiders, which were everywhere. Good job they are harmless!
The food at Ocean Pointe is from the Tiki bar and is great and we had lunch there a couple of times. There is a Pizza Hut to takeout also. There are many Publix supermarkets around nearest being just over the bridge.
There are many places to eat out around the property. We had planned to to walk out each night and tried eating at the Sailfish Marina (10 mins walk), and Johnny Longboats (10 mins), but kind of got sick of the types of food and style that they offered. With your main meal you always have a choice of sides, it might suit some but we got a bit fed up with it, plus we like to try all kinds of restaurants when we our on vacation. So we ventured further and found some fantastic restaurants that I would recommend trying, The Cheesecake Factory(not just cheesecake have a great menu, try the tuna!), Saito (Japanese Hibachi style, kids loved this one), RA Sushi (amazing sushi and japanese food). These restaurants are all in and around Palm Beach Gardens either Downtown or just further on, well worth trying in my opinion.
There was one restaurant which was ok on US1 called Sushi Masa, it was more of a laugh than good food, as we were finishing our mains, the owner took to the microphone and starting singing. On one of the songs, Soul Man, he was singing "I'm the sushi man", my kids have never forgotten it and still sing it now, hilarious!!
We took a narrated sightseeing trip from Sailfish Marina on the palm beach water taxi, which took us down around Lake Worth looking at all the million dollar houses which was interesting.

Overall the location, the room, the pool, the beach, the staff, nearly everything made this a perfect vacation for us. Just one thing missing the weather. Never mind won't travel to Florida again in late August, but I'd definitely go back to Ocean Pointe.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nigsynegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We winded up going the same weekend that tropical storm Isaac decided to make its debut. The excessive down pour didn't stop us from enjoying ourselves. My husband and I had the chance to do more shopping and eating out than relaxing on the beach the first few days. The area is a small island that is filled with resorts and unique little reaturants and bars along the beach. When we first arrived at the resort the line was long to check in but it moved quickly and we were on our way to the room. The room was clean, and very spacious. Our king size bed was very comfy, the hot tub was awesome and huge. My only complain for the room was the terrible shower pressure. We spent very little time in our room. The resort has something to offer for the whole family. The pools were fantastic and great for a nightly swim which was less crowded then. If anyone likes the outdoors I highly suggest John D MacArthur Park which is 7 to 10 minutes from ocean pointe. They have kayaks to rent, nature walk and for 5 dollars a car something fun to do with the family. Also has a beach there. Check out Gyro if you like Greek food off of us1, it has fantastic food. Overall we had a great time and will be coming back again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank great2bkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

A remodeled room and a location in the main buildings would make this resort excellent. Very Good is still great in my book and we plan on returning next year with our whole extended family.
All of the staff we encountered were nice and always warm. The resort has great amenities. Four pools with beautiful landscaping and plenty of lounges and chairs. They also have three hot tubs, kiddie pool, splash area, mini golf, shuffleboard, a pool table and a great beach front location.
The beach was wonderful and the third party vendor was excellent. Yes, they have a daily charge but we thought it was worth it as they setup and take down for you.
The kids club was a little light on free activities. The parent's night out is cancelled often we learned. They called us at 4:10 pm for a 5pm - 9pm the night of. Had to cancel our night out without much lead time. They rent out DVD's which came in handy, have a two Wii stations and some board games.
Your location/building matters as the resort is made up of 4 central buildings and 1 past a apartment complex not directly connected. You will also want to ask for a recently renovated building. We were in Cobia, which is scheduled for a upcoming (and needed) renovation. The entry door glass is broken, the elevator landing is tired and beat up.The room was slightly outdated with a heavy tropical theme. It was in much better condition than the public areas and we really liked it. I don't want to over blow the condition of the room. We enjoyed the resort, the room fit our needs, it is good condition and clean. The staff and amenities had us overlook any shortcomings in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and any building except Kingfish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirginiaFreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Rooms were clean and updated. Great pool (more than one), activities to do in the resort, easy access to the beach. We've been to a number of these Marriott's (timeshares) and this one did not disappoint relative to any of the others.

Snorkeling tip - we were looking for snorkeling here and there's not much to see in the water immediately in front of the property. For best results, walk on the beach south of the property to the jetty (by the big tank), where you'll be able to see a much larger selection of undersea life. Alternatively, Peanut Island was a good spot for younger and/or beginner snorkelers also that had some decent snorkeling.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank TravelerFromOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent a week there in late July and we loved the place. The beach is excellent and resort is fantastic. Our 3 bedroom condo had lots of room was in great shape. The staff was top notch and very helpful. We are already looking at when we could return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaca_guy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach Shores
0.3 mi away
Palm Beach Shores Resort & Vacation Villas
Palm Beach Shores Resort & Vacat...
#2 of 5 in Palm Beach Shores
1,156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott's Oceana Palms
Marriott's Oceana Palms
#1 of 5 in Riviera Beach
599 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palm Beach Marriott Singer Island Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hilton Singer Island Oceanfront/Palm Beaches Resort
4.3 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Address: 71 Ocean Ave, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404-6274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range: $131 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing