We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Share Pitch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was one of the family members that attended the Krista Beckwith/Jim Jeup wedding and stayed at the resort for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday). True, you have to go to the front desk to get your parking pass after you've checked in, which is totally stuid and also true, we had several calls to our room asking us if we wanted to participate in a tour of the property, which having 4 timeshares already, you know what that means. Nonetheless, we still had a couple of calls on day 2 of our stay. It was annoying to say the least. No means no.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for your review. The warm weather and beautiful beaches makes Florida a vacationer’s paradise. Along with this locale, the various resort amenities are the reason Vacation Village Resorts has chosen Palm Beach Shores Resort as a prime location to showcase the benefits of Vacation Ownership. Yet if sometimes our marketing may disrupt relaxation, we apologize because that is not the staff’s intent. Many who come as guests leave as a member of our family of timeshare owners. We hope that you will reconsider and stay with us again to allow us a second chance to show why so many people consider us a great place to stay while in Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
There are newer reviews for Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Resort was nice. Found the staff at the restaurant to be very unattentive to us , while being very attentive to other patrons. The only time we received prompt attention was when we visited the restaurant with one of the resort sales representatives. Unless you have time to waste, AVOID THEIR SALES PITCH. After check-in, you have to visit the resort's sales desk to obtain your parking plaque (something you should be given at front desk when you check-in). After being assured that we would not have to sit through a 90 minutes sales pitch, just visit a unit and complete a survey, we accepted the offer of a complementary lunch and $80 visa card. WHAT A LIE. After having lunch with one of the resort's sales representative, we were given an offer to purchase a unit with the resort. We declined this offer, as we were not interested in purchasing an additional time share unit, we already own to separate time share properties. At this point, Sonjay ( manager) joined the conversation and was very rude and condescending as well as confrontational. If there was any chance that we would change our mind and make a purchase, his attitude made it very clear that we wanted no part of this company. I have no intentions of visiting this resort in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EDS712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We are locals who used the resort as a "home base" for our wedding and for guests to stay in the same hotel. We worked with someone from the back office for our own reservations and for coordinating group room needs. The office staff was easy and simple to deal with, and contracts and communications were quick, easy and left a positive impression right up to the wedding weekend.
For the weekend/stay itself:
Restaurant/Bar: We visited several times prior to the wedding weekend to checkout the restaurant, general facilities, and bar.
The restaurant/bar (The Islander Grill and Tiki Bar, formally) were very satisfactory and enjoyable. For "hotel" food, it was good, plentiful, and the service was good. Certainly, the food is not 5 star, but definitely good enough to warrant us to plan to go back as a general area favorite overall.
Tiki Bar: Being a local, I can say the bar is definitely a bit of a hidden gem in the area....drinks and prices were compatible with other area bars with a similar vibe, and the bartenders are fun and likeable.
Rooms: They are overall attractive, well put together, clean and enjoyable. As others have noted, the bathrooms are massive, yet the shower stalls are tiny. Certainly odd, but not enough to warrant complaint. Compared to other hotels on the island (Hilton and Marriott....we checked them all out in choosing the best location for us and our guests for the weekend), they are the roomiest and best for the price.
The negative experiences, unfortunately, are truly what completely jaded our entire experience with the resort.
Front Desk/Reservations: We had several family member who are long time RCI members (25+ years) who had booked weeks (both before and after the wedding), with miserably similar experiences. Of the three "booked" weeks, all family members agreed that the incessant calls/etc. to sell timeshares were above and beyond any experience they've ever dealt with. Not the impression I wanted to leave with my loved ones at my wedding.
However, the worst of the worst that tainted our opinion forever was our final morning at the resort.
On Sunday morning after the wedding, exhausted, we were alerted that we needed to check out......NOW. We had made reservations until Monday. No amount of documentation, discussion, or other logic worked. I spoke with the Front Desk Manager Maria, who was one of the rudest service worker I've ever dealt with in my life. She not only did not simply apologize for any misunderstanding, she made it exceptionally clear that we were to be out of the room asap, because they had other people they needed to check in asap. Even with repeated proof and explanation, she continued her rude behavior. Next, the Manager on Duty (Patty Pinnacle) noted there was something awry, and came over. She looked over the shoulder of the front desk associate checking us out, and stated (and I quote) "Oh, you're checking out early?". At this point EVERYTHING had been moved out of the room and loaded into our car to depart. After again explaining the issue, the response received was that the front desk staff was NOT responsible for the errors made by the reservations staff. And she walked away.
Never during the course of all of that morning did the front desk: 1. Apologize, 2. Take any company responsibility for whatever misundertanding/mistake may have occurred. 3. Offered to attempt to find lodging at a nearby location to help us out 4. Offer any form of restitution.

We're a pretty laid back couple, but I have never been so disgusted. For one department of a large, mostly well run resort to create such a nasty, long lasting impression says a great deal. We guarantee we will not be recommending the resort to visiting friends unless we know that the front desk department has been overhauled.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank KBScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here through an RCI Exchange. We tried to exchange to the Marriott Ocean Point a few blocks on the same street as this resort but we couldn't get a unit. This was the only other option for the time we wanted to travel. The resort is a bit dated. The young lady at the reception desk was extremely nice. Instead of checking us in the room assigned to us on the first floor, she moved us to the second floor in a room with a balcony and view of the pool and the ocean. She did this on her own becuase she said she wanted us to have a better room. Needless to say, we were very suprised and pleased. This is a also a timeshare resort but once we told them we were not interested in purchasing another timeshare, they gave us a small gift and did not pressure us at all. There is a bar by the pool and a restaurant (Islander Restaurant and Tiki Bar - did a review on this). One thing I have to mention is the pillows were terrible!! The beds were being changed to new ones in the middle of our week's stay. This really should not be rated as a gold crown resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emeralddancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Director of Sales at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for sharing the highlights of your Florida vacation with us. We appreciate your recommendation but are sorry that we were unable to meet all of your expectations. We would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back so that we may have another opportunity to prove that we’re always the best choice on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

They say they are smoke free, but when I tried to sit outside on my balcony, the air was full of smoke from people below me. Otherwise, I found the rooms to be nice, the bed very comfortable,
the restaurant to be very good, and all the people very pleasant and helpful. The musical entertainment at the pool was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for the North Tower (better view) and above the fourth floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We have a non-smoking policy for our guest rooms. Guests are allowed to smoke outdoors, which includes the balconies and the tiki bar. We’re sorry that we didn’t meet all of your expectations but we hope our comfortable beds and spectacular reviews of the Atlantic Ocean will entice you to return and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Okay, just coming from the Hampton Inn in Wellington, I am slightly jaded, but I'll try to be as fair as possible. The resort it's self is a bit dated it has that seventies Florida style of decorating. It's clean and the mattresses were brand new (the old ones were piled up in the parking lot...umm? I freaked a bit at the one.) the rooms are clean (seriously I checked the fold out bed, air vents, microwaves fan - shower for mold, hair, etc... we're good.) So if you are looking for a clean place to rest our head, it's nice. Beach is beautiful, didn't look to rent anything so I can't comment.

Rooms are automatically set to super cold - had call someone up to reset thermostat he also brought up a space heater (just in case). Immediately remedied good on you - Palm Beach Shores - give James your maintenance guy a raise he's awesome.


Restaurant -
The Islander Restaurant and Tiki Bar - Don't go. Overpriced. Live Music was LOUD. Food was good, not great - Calamari was tender (so points there).

Views - for our room partial view of ocean. Nice.

Smoking - there is smoking allowed... yuck!... coming from New York this is something I'm not use to and annoys me now.

Room for Improvement -
1. No Smoking Enforced Policy
2. Hallways - Get some pictures up in the Hallways and better Lighting - feels like a hallway in a New York rent controlled apartment building. Change the Carpeting looks dated.
3. Pillows are crap - lumpy and hard, get new ones.
4. Better lighting in rooms.

Room Tip: higher floors, left side of the hotel is better. corner suites .
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlk-922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience. We’re happy that overall you enjoyed your vacation and are receptive to all critiques on how to make our resort and service the best it can be. We appreciate the opportunity to improve. We hope you choose Palm Beach Shores Resort again the next time you want to getaway to the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went on this holiday on RCI points. We weren't expecting much in the way of luxury and got just that. They are constantly trying to get you to go for a meal with one of their sales people to sell you a time share. We avoided this but it was not easy. The rooms are very dated. The pillows on the bed are TERRIBLE. There is a small kitchenette which was good but after one day of cooking we had ants all around our sink. The first night we arrived, I went to put my 2 year old daughter in her crib and the bottom fell out. They were very apologetic about this. The restaurant at the resort reminded me of a 1980's lounge, complete with the singer. Staff were friendly. Things seemed clean but old. The pool was nice and the beach was lovely but if you wanted a chair and umbrella on the beach, you had to pay big bucks. Was not the worst place but we will not be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool. Otherwise, you get a view of a fence.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ejaclobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

We regret that our resort didn’t meet your expectations and we’re very sorry for the issues you had during your stay. We work hard in providing an excellent vacation experience for our travelers and most of the time we are successful. Thank you for your comments and we hope our nice beach and pool may entice you to reconsider and return to our resort. We would love to have another opportunity to exceed all of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach Shores
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
#1 of 5 in Palm Beach Shores
1,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott's Oceana Palms
Marriott's Oceana Palms
#1 of 5 in Riviera Beach
596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Singer Island Oceanfront/Palm Beaches Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palm Beach Marriott Singer Island Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
SeaSpray Inn Beach Resort
SeaSpray Inn Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in Palm Beach Shores
124 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas

Address: 181 S Ocean Ave, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404-5761
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range: $175 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Florida's exclusive Singer Island Palm Beach Shores Resort & Vacation Villas provides the ultimate vacationer's paradise. A favorite destination for those visiting the Palm Beach area, the island is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean on the east and the Florida Intracoastal Waterway on the west. Awake each morning to scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean, Singer Island or the courtyard pool area then relax in the sun on the resort's picture postcard beach. Explore full-service resort amenities including a swimming pool, spa, fitness room, whirlpool, kid's club and poolside tiki bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Shores Resort And Vacation Villas Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Resort Vacation Villas Palm Beach Shores
Palm Beach Shores Resort Vacation Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing