We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Week!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Great Week!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a wonderful week in a very nice facility in a terrific location. If the time share sales sharks could have been escorted off the property, I would have rated our stay excellent. That bunch could ruin a beautiful sunny South Florida day.

The pool and tiki bar are the cornerstone of this resort, the on site restaurant is average to above on quality and price. The beach was outstanding and the ocean is clear and calm during our stay.

Richard the Bellman begins and ends your stay with the most pleasant welcome and goodbye. His hospitality is mirrored through the entire staff.

We enjoyed all the amenities of the area and would recommend staying here to everyone.

Note: if you do decide to stay you will need to pack earplugs, Kevlar underwear and a ball bat to fend off the time share sharks. DO NOT ACCEPT ANYTHING ADVERTISED AS COMPLEMENTARY, because it isn't, the cost of the painful sales pitch far exceeds the cost of a meal off the property.

I will pack better IE: a ball bat and hope to return soon. Thanks for a wonderful week.

Room Tip: North side or pool facing rooms, the South facing rooms over look dumpsters and a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for writing and for giving us the opportunity to provide you with a memorable vacation! The warm weather and beautiful beaches makes Florida a vacationer’s paradise. Along with this locale, our various resort amenities are the reason Vacation Village Resorts has chosen Palm Beach Shores Resort as a prime location to showcase the benefits of Vacation Ownership. Yet if sometimes their presence may disrupt relaxation, we do apologize because that’s not the staff’s intent. We’re happy that you enjoyed your time with us and you appreciated the value that we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Singer Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    368
    204
    86
    80
See reviews for
408
427
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just returned from our week long stay at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, and we had a GREAT vacation at this resort! First, let me address the gripes others have made about this place...Yes, they are a timeshare resort, so the attempts to convince you to attend their promotional breakfasts etc. are a bit aggressive at first, but they taper off by mid-week. It's the nature of the beast, but the staff is SO friendly and professional, it's not annoying to a fault! Yes, you pay for parking and the safe, ($6/$1 respectively per day) but these are not costs you can't live with. Those complaining about fees at a "resort" need to get over themselves—it’s a resort! No, this isn't a 5 star hotel, but the service is absolutely top notch, and it starts from the moment you drive into the parking lot!

We checked in on Sunday, which is probably a less busy check-in day, and from the parking attendants, to the individual who actually checked us in, and even those at the desk where you have to get your parking pass, who try to convince you to attend the timeshare breakfast, cheerful attitudes and professionalism abounded, which get a gold star in my book. We booked through RCI, and there is a $50 cleaning fee. You get fresh towels and garbage removal daily, and they do a thorough cleaning once during the week as well. There's also a $150 deposit that's refunded upon checkout.

Others have mentioned that the area across the bridge from Singer Island is "dodgy" but that's an understatement. The area adjacent to the resort is the "HOOD" and there's no other way to state that fact. But, we went to the Publix there and frequented some eating establishments on that side of town and weren't bothered. I would NOT, however, venture there after a certain time of night! The beach that the resort is situated on was beautiful and uncrowded this time of year, and after 5 you practically have the place to yourself. You can lay out a towel and watch the sky turn colors as the sun sets, or go rent a chair or cabana and during prime time and enjoy! The pool was also sparsely occupied. You do have to request an oceanview/front room in advance, but this does NOT guarantee you will be accommodated : (.

We were given a NE facing room which had a lovely ocean view. Unfortunately, our room had only one balcony in the front room and NOT in the bedroom, which was one of our very few disappointments about this place. The suite was super clean, with a HUGE bathroom and kitchenette w/full fridge and cooktop, but the furniture could use some updating. And the bed was too too too SOFT for a couple whose mattress at home is ULTRA FIRM! There is a significant lack of television channels, and I suggest they add more to their line up, but the whole point of vacay is to be out of doors right???

My gripes about the resort was the lack of a second balcony in the bedroom, borderline outdated living room furniture, very few cable channels, and super SLOW internet! Other than those few concerns, if you want to a reasonable oceanfront accommodation that won't break the bank and has magnificent views, Palm Beach Shores Resort will NOT disappoint. The hubby and I will definitely return, hopefully sooner than later!!!

Room Tip: Call about a week or so ahead to request ocean view and higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nasihah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your detailed recommendation of Palm Beach Shores Resort.
We’re thrilled that our staff’s service and sunny disposition exceeded your expectations. Although amenity fees may be inconvenient, they allow us to supply the very best service for guests. It’s also important to note that our parking fee includes complimentary valet service. While there may be some questionable areas in Palm Beach County, Palm Beach Shores Resort is located on Singer Island, well-known for it’s beautiful beaches and up-scale homes and hotels. Also, all of the accommodations at Palm Beach Shores Resort have furnishings less than four years old and items are replaced as needed. We take great pride in knowing that we succeeded in making your visit a memorable one and we can’t wait to share our hospitality with you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you like paying a $6.00 daily fee to park in a lot that may or may not have available parking, taking the chance of getting a terrible view, paying a $1.00 a day fee for the safe whether you use it or not, going out to eat all the time because the kitchen accommodations are worse than any apartment, and the sound of your neighbors seeping through the 1/4 open space surrounding that adjoining door, then don't hesitate to vacation at this place. It looks nice but all the fluff in the world can't make up for lack of function and profit mongering. We had to point out to the front desk that the tropic birds in the cages near the pool were all missing food AND WATER! The service company showed up after 7pm to take care of those animals. We couldn't help but wonder if the empty cages were due to birds losing their life to poor care. The restaurant is owned by a different company and is wonderful.

Room Tip: Make sure it faces the pool and if you want to see the beach, ask for the 5th or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We’re disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your vacation. Palm Beach Resort is nestled directly on the beach in Singer Island where parking is at a premium. Our fees are quite competitive for this area and it’s important to also note that our parking charge includes complimentary valet service. We do everything possible to fulfill special requests for guest but we can’t guarantee them. Like most hotels, travelers can choose to pay the full rack rate for a specific view if they find it necessary. Our kitchens contain most appliances including dishwasher, refrigerator and a 2-burner stovetop. Cookware is also included along with dinnerware for six. We assure you the woman that owns the birds featured in the resort’s pool area loves them like her own children and would never do anything that would harm them. All of the birds have been with us at the resort for almost 12 years and have never been sick. The animals are all fed and watered and cages cleaned between the hours of 5 am and 6am. Sometimes guest may think they don’t have water or food, but at times the owner of the animals will make the decision not to refill the bowls as they sometimes “play with full bowls” and knock them over. The water bowls are refilled sometime in the evening if a water bowl has been knocked over many times during the day. The birds receive plenty of fluid regardless due to the fruit cocktail they also eat. The one empty cage belonged to a Toucan and due to his age, he has become arthritic and his owner decided to take him home with her where he can relax and not have to jump on a perch. We are sorry that we couldn't provide you with the vacation you expected but we hope your experience doesn’t deter you from visiting Singer Island again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the resort. Front desk staff was friendly the entire time. We acutally arrived very early on check in day, and were told they would call us when we could check in. Took about 20 minutes and we were good to go! Tiki bar staff was great, poolside staff fun and attentive. Beach side staff fun and loved the green flags to let staff know we wanted to order something to eat or drink. We did not find the voicemails and literature left under the door, wanting us to come to see the timeshare presentation intrustive at all, as #2 deletes voicemail, and the trash can takes care of the paper. :-) This time of year there are many adults, and a few small children, so the pool area was not crowded at all.
The only thing I can recommend is using a larger towel pool/beach side. They seem to be the same towels that are used in the rooms, although we had no problems when asking for two towels for the pool/beach use.
We did not eat at the restaurant.
Overall, we had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Request ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leelee5876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting such a positive review about your experience at Palm Beach Shores Resort. We are pleased that the accommodations were to your liking and that our staff was welcoming. The next time that you want your front row seat to the beautiful Atlantic Ocean, we hope that you will once again choose Palm Beach Shores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I purchased a unit during our honeymoon back in 2009 and this is the first time we had the chance to stay here for a week. After reading numerous reviews on here, I was not sure what to expect. Upon arrival, the wait was very short. We arrived around 3 and there were no issues with checking-in early. I did call a month before we arrived to request an ocean view and we did get one. We also overlooked the pool, but no issues with that. In order to receive a parking pass, we had to go over to the Public Relations desk and they tried to offer some deal in exchange for just looking at a new room and completing a survey. From the other reviews I read, I knew this was a timeshare sales pitch, so I said no. The lady looked very confused and said there is no obligation and I once again said no. I got my parking pass and was all set. We were on the 5th floor and at most we had to wait maybe 30 seconds for an elevator at any given time. There are 4 elevators in the resort and there are also stairs (but I am not sure how to access them from the ground floor, we never needed to use them). Our room was very clean, but the sliding glass door in the bedroom was broken and we could not use it throughout our stay. It was not a big deal since we could use the other one, but it would have been nice to sit outside when our baby was sleeping in the living room. For a family of 3, there was enough room. If you have more people, it might be a little tight. The sound-proofing was pretty good and we could not hear people in either room next to ours. We could hear some water running and a little pipe rattling the one evening, but nothing major. The bathroom is pretty big with a separate tub and shower. There are two sinks and some storage. The bedroom had an older tv, while there was a new HDTV in the living room. The channels are very limited and there are quite a few Spanish channels. For people spending a lot of time outside, this may not be an issue. We ended up going to the pool/beach in the morning so we could keep our baby out of the strong afternoon sun. There was an inventory sheet in the room when we entered, but it is to point out how much you would be charged if you removed any items from the room. The cleaning staff came every day to empty trash and change towels, and they came in mid-week to clean the unit. If you want extra days of cleaning, it is $15/day.

As for people stating they charge you for towels for the pool/beach, this is not the case unless you do not return them. They asked me for my room number/name and then said to let them know when you return them. There were no issues with being charged for towels. We were charged $6/day for parking and $1/day for the safe. I have been to other resorts that charge a “resort fee” of $15-$20/day, so I did not feel too bad about paying for this. The parking lot is on the small side, but we never had an issue finding a space after the Labor Day weekend was over. It was pretty close to being 100% filled over that weekend. We did not use any of the beach chairs, so I am not sure what they charged. The restaurant was pretty good and they have some good specials. They do automatically add 18% for a tip, but I am sure this is because people were not doing it. A lot of the same people work every day of the week, so they deserve 18% tip in my opinion. We did not purchase any alcoholic beverages, but they seemed to have several specials throughout the week. There were also quite a few activities that were available during the week, but we ended up driving to where we wanted to go. The area approaching Singer Island is a little questionable, but that seems to be the case with most of the beach areas in south Florida. The island itself is very nice and quiet. There is a marina on the island (Sailfish Marina) and there are a lot of beautiful fish in the water. There is no fishing allowed at the marina, but it is nice to see the fish and nice boats. The gift shop is on the small side, but the prices are pretty good depending on what you are looking for. The spa looked VERY small, but the gym was not too bad. The only real complaint we had was the daily phone calls offering a different deal for going through a timeshare presentation. I just said we were not interested if I answered the phone and the offers stopped after Wednesday. We did notice quite a few families going through the presentations before getting their cruise tickets, but it did not bother us. It did bring back some memories of going through it back in 2009. Overall, it is not a 5-star resort, but a solid 4. We were very happy with our stay and cannot wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Call ahead to request an oceanview room (if desired).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iuptubaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
TripAdvisor reviews are vital to the reader’s decision-making when choosing a vacation destination and we truly appreciate it when an owner of ours takes the time to share their experience with us in such detail. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us at Palm Beach Shores Resort and we know your timeshare purchase will provide you with many wonderful memories to take home from vacation year after year. Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home on the Atlantic Ocean and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice facility including actual fully equipped kitchen and separate bedroom. We went with friends and booked 2 rooms next to each other, they were connected by doors so we had a sort of duplex apartment for the 7 of us, very convenient for family with young children.
Beach access including possibility to rent tent or sunbrella etc... or order refreshment while on the beach.
Nice pool + small kids pool (perfect for <2years kids!) + spa.
Quiet, perfect location for a walk up to the south point and view on Palm Beach, very close to diving center and diving gear rental location, close to Publix and several nice and cosy restaurants.
Special rate for FL residents.

Room Tip: We asked to book 2 rooms next to each other because of kids, do not hesitate to call the same day ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manue_and_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We’re so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Palm Beach Shores Resort. Our resort amenities and beautiful beachfront location make us a sought-after vacation spot. Thank you for taking the time to share and we can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The resort is average overall, we stayed in a 1 bedroom which had nice granite countertops in kitchen and nice furniture but a bit on the small side. The bathroom seemed larger than the living space and kitchen combined. Bathroom does have a seperate tub and shower, and a double vanity which was nice. The restaurant was average food, would recomend City Diner that is located downtown. Resort did have a lot of activities planned for guests if you were interested. They do try talking you into a timeshare presentation when you are signing up to get your parking pass. Cleaning staff was very friendly and door greeters, pool workers and employees in charge of setting and renting items on the beach could use a lesson in manners and common courtesy. Those employees seemed burnt out on customer service. Location was wonderful, beautiful golden beaches and they were clean. Took many relaxing strolls on the beach. THINGS I DID NOT LIKE: Resort demands a $300 security deposit on credit card for room if you don't want the credit card charge they will let you put a $150 in cash as the security deposit, also $1.00 a day for use or even non use of safe in the room. Usually I go through my timeshare and that is it no extra charges, this is the only resort that had to have a security deposit and upfront charges on our credit card. There is only 1 set of washer and dryer on each floor by the elevators not in each room. Only Half kitchen, no oven and 2 burners.

Room Tip: Only Owners of that resort will get the large corner rooms facing the beach, I would reccomend askin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandM317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Even though we were not able to meet all your expectations, we’re happy that you enjoyed your vacation and our locale. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Singer Island again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach Shores
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
#1 of 4 in Palm Beach Shores
1,361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott's Oceana Palms
Marriott's Oceana Palms
#1 of 4 in Riviera Beach
569 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#2 of 34 in West Palm Beach
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Singer Island Oceanfront/Palm Beaches Resort
0.8 mi away
Palm Beach Marriott Singer Island Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
SeaSpray Inn Beach Resort
SeaSpray Inn Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Palm Beach Shores
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas

Property: Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas
Address: 181 S Ocean Ave, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404-5761
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Florida's exclusive Singer Island Palm Beach Shores Resort & Vacation Villas provides the ultimate vacationer's paradise. A favorite destination for those visiting the Palm Beach area, the island is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean on the east and the Florida Intracoastal Waterway on the west. Awake each morning to scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean, Singer Island or the courtyard pool area then relax in the sun on the resort's picture postcard beach. Explore full-service resort amenities including a swimming pool, spa, fitness room, whirlpool, kid's club and poolside tiki bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Shores Resort And Vacation Villas Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Resort Vacation Villas Palm Beach Shores
Palm Beach Shores Resort Vacation Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing