We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and quiet for those who like to be away from crowds.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Beach Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Shores Resort
New Carrollton, MD
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet for those who like to be away from crowds.”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Sunshine Shores was our first choice after staying at the rather crowded and noisy Palm Beach Shores resort just a block or two away on Singer Island. If you prefer quiet over noisy and occasionally in-your-face large hotels, then you should consider this place. You get a kitchen with a stove, a full-size refrigerator and microwave oven, a living room, one bedroom and one bathroom for around $100/night, which is not a bad deal. The bedroom and living room have ceiling fans, for those who prefer a breeze. The courtyard is very nicely appointed with a couple of tables for four with umbrellas and a gas grill for those who like to cook out, as I do. Everything about the place is clean and it feels like a nice home away from home. The manager, Derek, is a great guy who was very helpful to us when we made the reservation and arrived at the hotel. Sunshine Shores is just one block off the beach, so you can walk just a short distance through one of the hotels or through the public access to get there.

The only issue I had is with the A/C in the bedroom. There is a window unit that does a fine job of cooling the entire suite, but I found that it was a bit loud and the cycling on and off during the night interrupted my sleep, so we got around the problem by cooling the room down just before bed, closing the door and setting the ceiling fan on a higher speed...problem solved and we slept like babies!

It was really nice to be able to save money by cooking our own meals and hanging out on the courtyard at night. My wife and I prefer this to spending loads of money at restaurants with high prices and questionable service, which is the norm for Memorial Day weekend. I would definitely recommend staying here if you like a more intimate setting over the large hotels.

Room Tip: We stayed in room B, which is on the bottom level (no stairs) and right next to the gas grill (I lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MD_scubanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
24
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Rockies
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed again since our last stay was great. Still same quiet place, clean, comfortable, beach type property. 3 minute walk to the beach. Clean, refreshing pool. Manager always helpful. Other reviews say similar things.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DineRight4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Vacation for me, work for my spouse. The unit we stayed in had a bedroom, bathroom, small kitchen and living room. TV in both living room and bedroom. The outdoor pool was clean and nice and there is a pleasant little courtyard with tables and chairs. There are coin operated laundry facilities. Very convenient for the beach. Includes free Wi Fi although sometimes need to sit outside to get the connection. Easy to contact the manager. We were allocated a parking space so no worries about struggling to find somewhere to park. If you want linen changes etc, you just put the old linen outside the door and you will be provided with fresh (no maid service). All in all, very nice and we would stay there again, either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jollyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatineau quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed for 10 days and it was great! Our unit had everything we needed. The kitchen was well equipped and the bed was comfy. Outside many nice places to sit and read in the shade or in the sun. The grill was great to use. The pool was really nice. Very quiet area and also very private. Beautiful public beach access well within walking distance with a coffee in the morning!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank la62marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Rockies
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Stayed 3 weeks, hubby working in the area, I worked via telecommute as usual. Clean, friendly place, mostly older East Coast couples spending a few weeks. Just across the street from beach hotels so a short walk to the beach. Some of Singer Island is dicey but this end felt perfectly safe. Wireless Internet connection available outside and pretty miserable connection, but otherwise a nice, reasonably priced place to stay. Full kitchen.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DineRight4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach Shores
0.1 mi away
Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas
Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vac...
#2 of 4 in Palm Beach Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
#1 of 4 in Palm Beach Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Oceana Palms
Marriott's Oceana Palms
#1 of 4 in Riviera Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
5.5 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Singer Island Oceanfront/Palm Beaches Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Shores Resort

Property: Sunshine Shores Resort
Address: 101 Blossom Ln, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404-5704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Beach Shores
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing