We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and great Restaurant”
Review of River House - CLOSED

River House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food and great Restaurant”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My Husband and I where guest of our friend Tom Beckmeyer who has a Boat docked at the Marina there. He really likes this Restaurant. and he took us to dinner there on the 2nd of Dec. 2013 I have to say it lived up to its reputation my husband TIm and our friend Tom each had the Pork Chops my husband loved them I had the Scallops they where very good. and yes you get a lot of food. we also had the salad bar. Like i said Great Food Great Drinks Great Place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    76
    37
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This place is just perfect in my estimation. Great attentive and informed service, a wonderful location and view. Nice menu and who can top that incredibly fresh salad bar with baked fresh bread and cheese selection? No one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Up scale dinning”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a great meal for a special night out it is hard to beat River House. This is a staple in North Palm Beach and it's classic menu of steak and seafood is pleasing to almost anyone's tastes. Most entrees cost about $35 to $45 and come with a loaded salad bar. I had a combo entree of New York strip with tender scallops. I had mine fried but you can have them blackened or grilled. The sides are rice, steak fries or baked potato. The loaded baked potato is delivered with a plate of goodies like chopped chives, chunky bacon bits, shredded cheeses and sour cream. I added cream of spinach which could serve several people and of course asparagus. Best of all is the view of the intercostal waterway. You have to drive thru a working boat yard to get to the restaurant and as you dine you have views of million dollar yachts float past. They have even added an outdoor bar that sits along side the intercostal that you can have cocktails while you wait for your table. They also have a full bar inside but if the weather is nice why not sit outside. There was a 25 ounce bone in porter house steak special for $55 if you are up to it it looked awesome. The atmosphere of the dining room is upscale and it is not a T-shirt and shorts attire kind of place. The staff is very attentive and friendly and the manager is top notch and runs a tight ship. If you are a local whom has never tried the River House or you are from out of town I highly recommend this classic eatery.

Helpful?
Thank DarkRift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Can't understand the hype!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We went for dinner last night with friends who LOVE the restaurant. We hadn't been back there for many years because we weren't thrilled with the food, but so many folks in our building rave about it, so we decided to give it another try. I haven't changed my mind. The food is just not that special. The portions are humongous, and if you want to take left-overs home to eat for the next few days, this is the place for you. I was considering ordering the prime rib special until I asked how many ounces of meat it was. The answer --- 25 ounces! I would rather have smaller portions and include a vegetable as a side dish. With your entree of ridiculous proportions you get either a baked potato (extra-large), steak fries, or rice. I don't think there is an entree that is less than $30, but I can't swear to that. I am sure that the prices are on the high end because of the size of the cut of meat or fish not because the food is so outstanding. It's very average. The salad bar is fine if you like salad bars. The service is very good and it is a beautiful setting, but I just can't recommend the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lhglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level Contributor
244 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“on the water”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

returned for another great visit....food is excellent in great setting...waiters are so frindly and give great advice...plenty of specials......enjoyed visit and continue to recommend....well worth the price

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River House also viewed

Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing