We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Sushi place”

Hayashi Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Korean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
PA
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Good Sushi place”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We visited Hayashi on a Sat night in April and there was no wait. The place is clean with decent atmosphere inside for a strip mall location. It has a long Sushi Bar on one side, plus regular tables and special tables with gas grills for cooking at the table. Hayashi serves a variety of Sushi but not too exotic - the typical choices. Also Japanese and Korean entrees. We found the Sushi Boat (with three good sized rolls of 8 pieces each including shrimp, tuna and Calif) to be a very good value including Miso soup and salad for about $20. Presentation was excellent and sushi was fresh and delicious. If you just want good Sushi but don't care much about an exotic or romantic setting - just go here. A very good choice overall. Good for Take Out as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MangiaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great find in Palm Beach Gardens”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I am a sushi newbie, so was went to this place with my boss who is a Sushi fiend.

There was plenty of interesting and differently presented items from what I have seen on other menu's.

Appearance and freshness was top notch. As I mentioned, I am still venturing into the sushi world and it doesn't take much to put me off.

The quality and freshness of the ingredients had me trying things with confidence I wouldn't normally. For example the conch roll.

Recommendation is the Hawaiian. Beautiful citrusy flavour from the roe.

If in West Palm, its worth checking out.

It was lacking in atmosphere a little, but I put this down to us eating earlier than the usual dinner crowd. Interior is nothing to write home about, but the sushi makes it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank quiglm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Just OK......”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The staff was very friendly. The food was adequate but over-priced for the quality. This restaurant probably does deserve it's high ranking when compared to the other restaurants in the area. Move along folks, there is nothing to see here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JukeJointJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nothing special.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

After reading so many great reviews I wanted to give this place a try. Not impressed.
Classic music playing (not very Japanese) with large bright Tv's killing any chance of atmosphere yet with cloth napkins they are trying to be a more upscale place in a strip mall.
Food was mediocre. Salmon was stringy and tough. Price was high for quality.
Website for the restaurant is bogus, nothing pictured is available on the menu.
Is all of Florida nothing but crappy food for old people who lack tastebuds?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A group of us stumbled upon this restaurant and went in for lunch. What a surprise. The food was incredible. The sushi was great and the presentation creative. We all said that the next time we were in palm gardens for work we would return. Wish they were in Michigan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Francine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hayashi Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar also viewed

 
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
 

Been to Hayashi Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing