We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great”
Review of Saito's at PBG

Saito's at PBG
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
145 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Dined here with a large family group. The chef put on a good show. The service was quick and polite and they were good about splitting up the dinner checks. And the food was fine. Still...it pretty much seemed like every other Japanese steak house I have visited. Same show, same food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeFormaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    17
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The wait staff is rude. I have been several times and they're all rude. The restaurant can use some cleaning. Brown lettuce with salad. Sushi rolls beyond small. Food is good, depending on chef. Most of the chefs are entertaining although some are lackluster. Too many chairs seated at one table. My friend and I were forced into a knee lock for the duration of dinner. This chain restaurant behaves like a chain. Pack them in and ship them out. And quite honestly, they really don't care how your experience was... It's all about your credit card.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach County, FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun place with good food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My niece loves going here because of the theatrical chefs, who aren't obnoxious like some of the other hibachi places we've visited. Plus, the servers are very efficient and don't keep you waiting for anything. The seafood is fresh and the veggies are cooked perfectly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidgieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Under the yum yum tree!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Everything was definitely yum yum. We have been to other Japanese restaurants and I feel the chef had too many people to cook for at one time. There were about 18 in our party and all fit around the same cooking center which had two grills and one chef. The chef was switching back and forth from one grill to the other, didn't have the time to be very entertaining and while things were grilling he had to fill the dishes with the sauces and then turn around and check something else - the food was delicious but there wasn't as much pizazz in the presentation as I have seen elsewhere (and there on previous visits) Just for the record, my husband is a blind guide dog user and upon entering the hostess asked to see his "license." It is not required to carry a license and his harness issued by his guide dog school is his proof of service. It becomes a little tiring being asked improper questions with a legitimate service animal. Please read up on the rules for a real service animal at the department of justice web site. Thank you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were celebrating 2 teenager's birthdays and they requested Saito's. Always a crowd pleaser. We made reservations ahead of time for the big back room and some how they messed up and gave it to somebody else. Luckily we had 2 people cancel at the last minute and we were alble to fit at a large cooktop or it could have been a disasterous event. Lesson Learned - Comfirm your reservations ahead of time! After surviving the reservation snafu, the meal was a total successs. The chef was wonderful and very entertaining. Service was always timely and attentive. My wife and I had the shrimp and scallop stir fry with fried rice - to die for! I am giving the experience a 4 because of the reservation issue and their general indifference and poor attitude toward us on the subject.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bearcat382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saito's at PBG also viewed

 
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
 

Been to Saito's at PBG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing