We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding amenities, great service, and Top Notch Golf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
PGA National Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding amenities, great service, and Top Notch Golf”
Reviewed October 10, 2009

As if the golf on PGA tour tested courses is not enough, it is as though you are golfing on an outdoor tropical zoo. The exotic birds are everywhere you look, even walking right up to you as you tee off. Alligators poke thier leathery heads from the ponds from time to time, as a warning not to be too concerned about the ball that you just sliced in the drink. Turtles arrive on the shoreline of the pond from time to time, almost as guides to the pin. Geckos scurry about the cart paths as we made our way from each tee to green - and not one spoke to me about car insurance. The courses we played (The Haig and The Champion) were tough, but not so daunting that average duffers like us couldn't par the odd hole and enjoy the rest without too much frustration. They are thinking golfers courses.
The hotel rooms all had private balconies, although small. The beds were extremely comfortable. We stayed in a double room with a rollaway, which believe it or not, was nearly as comfortable as the beds. Flat screen TV's in every room, the bathrooms were roomy, and though I'd never have picked those particular showerheads, they were tolerable.
Every staff person we came across was friendly and helpful. No need was left unmet, no question unanswered. The ibar (lobby bar) was well stocked with friendly bartenders, but a bit pricey. We did not visit the on-site restaurant, perhaps for fear of the same sticker shock - but West Palm has so many great restaurants, we figured why not dabble in them? The sundry shop is typical of most hotels - overpriced coffee, bottled water and soda, etc... but they did serve Starbucks coffee - which is a plus.

All in all, this trip was well worth every penny we spent, and left us all looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffKelly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    348
    171
    98
    56
See reviews for
287
352
65
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Everything is at your fingertips. Restaurants (several), gorgeous spa, tennis, and of course amazing golf courses. Off season is the time to go if you want a bargain. Many deals with everything included (full buffet breakfast). Golf was included for the price of renting a cart ($40). No charge for tennis. Several pools including an adult pool. Everyone is ready to go back next year!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieq637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Staff at check in and at Spa and Golf courses attentive, very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were great clean and nicely furnished--though could use a few more floor lamps. Food at Ironwood grille and other restaurants was exceptional. Didn't leave the resort for four days that's how good everything was. Would return in a New York minute!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewGolferBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The staff couldn't have been more hospitable. The service was great everywhere we went. It was a good balance of relaxed atmosphere and attention to detail. The courses were a great challenge and in beautiful condition. My wife and I were able to play and enjoy the round when there were other groups around that we let play through and when we were alone. She got a great golf experience even as a beginner. Of course she credits her teacher, (me). The Leadbetter pro helped too.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Use this package to get a great deal. We had unlimited golf, breakfast and great rooms for a bargain price. The staff was great and the rooms were spotless. I would book again for sure at this resort. The courses were great to play on and the pro shop and staff were on top of everything - all the time !!! The outdoor pool was very unique, clean and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetogolfontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Spent 4 days here for a 40th birthday trip. What an amazing place.

The resort is first class all the way. Huge outdoor saltwater pool with literally hundreds of lounge chairs and lots of areas to relax. The 5 golf courses are all fantastic and in perfect condition. Staff are always eager to help. Food was excellent and lots to choose from both on and off the resort. If you like Thai food, you must try Talay Thai, which is just down the road - Lobster Pad Thai to die for (check out the picture!)

We are definitely planning to go back.

One tip: Club rentals are expensive @ $90-$115 US per round, so if you are going to golf, bring your clubs.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadatravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

PGA resort is terrific! Rooms are first-class, golf was great, and the pool was incredible. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRT95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach Gardens
10.0 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Beach Gardens
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Beach Gar...
#3 of 11 in Palm Beach Gardens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Jupiter Beach Resort
Jupiter Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Jupiter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
7.1 mi away
Palm Beach Marriott Singer Island Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PGA National Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PGA National Resort & Spa

Property: PGA National Resort & Spa
Address: 400 Avenue of Champions, Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33418-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PGA National Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh off a comprehensive multi-million revitalization, PGA National Resort & Spa is a world-class golf, spa, vacation and meetings destination. The South Florida locale offers 90 holes of championship golf on five courses including the famed Champion Course, home to the popular PGA TOUR Honda Classic and legendary “Bear Trap.” A distinguishing highlight at PGA National is its new 33,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art Sports & Racquet Club (SRC). The impressive new facility features the latest exercise equipment, indoor racquetball court, three aerobics studios with new sound systems, five-lane saltwater lap pool, spin room with video road mapping, indoor volleyball court, two Pickleball / POP tennis courts, and 19 Har-Tru tennis courts (11 lit for night play). PGA National offers customized suites ideal for weddings, golf “buddy trips” and spa aficionados. Its numerous multi-use settings include a permanent, lakeside wedding venue with stunning vistas; scenic Lakeside Lawn perfect for receptions; iDeck – a new 3,000-square-foot terrace ideal for indoor / outdoor dining and entertaining; “Bar 91” 19th hole bar and grill; 40,000 square feet of self-contained conference and event space; and seven on-site restaurants and lounges including its acclaimed chef-driven Ironwood Steak & Seafood. The Spa at PGA National is a 40,000-square-foot oasis of tranquility featuring 32 treatment rooms and areas with 100 diverse treatments, the exclusive “Waters of the World” outdoor mineral pools, full-service salon, and relaxing lounge areas. Conveniently located within driving distance of major Florida population centers, the AAA Four Diamond resort is 15 minutes from Palm Beach International Airport (PBI), one hour from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (FLL) and 90 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your PGA National Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pga National Hotel Palm Beach Gardens
Pga National Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing