We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious room, great food and a fabulous golf experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
PGA National Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed two nights at the PGA National Resort in the "Media Suite", which had more TVs than I have eyeballs, a Bose sound system, a luxurious bedroom and bath, and a charming little balcony overlooking the pool, shaded by a massive palm tree that provided great privacy. Service was fantastic, starting with the great doormen and parking valets, to the reception and bell desks. The housekeeping was immaculate.

I was particularly impressed by the breakfast buffet in the 1st floor cafe. The scrambled eggs were buttery and delicious, the best I've ever had from a buffet steam table. My server, Nadine, was most gracious and friendly.

Additionally, my dinner with friends at the Ironwood restaurant was extraordinary. Our server, David, provided wonderful recommendations for wine and sauces to accompany our perfectly grilled steaks. Although I am a fan of unadorned beef steak, David, unprompted, provided a poivre sauce for me to try with my steak. It was savory and delicious, and quite unlike many of the overly peppery poivre sauces I have tried. I recommend it heartily.

I had the great pleasure of playing the Champion course with two great caddies, Jason and Brian. Because the weather was a bit cool, and overcast with a threat of rain, we had the course practically to ourselves, staying two holes ahead of another foursome. Brian provided fabulous assistance to my sister, a novice golfer, and she had a marvelous time. We walked the course in about 4 hours 15 minutes, never waiting a moment, and still having time for pictures and conversation.

The I-Bar in the lobby served great drinks with generous pours and a very friendly staff, but, unfortunately, the lobby location is a little loud with too many hard reflective surfaces. It could use a little acoustic softening, which would enhance the listening experience, and tone down the clamor of exuberant guests. Even the quietest combo would sound jarringly loud in that lobby.

Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend the PGA National Resort to any serious golfer, or diner. Although it is expensive for the average working man, you will not regret spending the money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rekording
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've played all the courses here more than once. This resort has very good courses on site, but overall still a poor value. We had our tee times changed without notification and got no apology when we asked why. They claimed to call us at which time we pulled out our phones and showed our call history. We were then just told very dismissively that we were re-booked 2 hours later. We also got no response from the teaching director when we tried to sign up for our pre-paid clinic. We spent over $2000 for 3 nights stay and golf. There are much better values and either the 4 Seasons or Ritz provides much better service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the PGA. Although we didn't have enough time to enjoythe Spa and Golf grounds, it all looked spectacular. The rooms are gorgeous with modern finishes. Best part, we had the chance to bring our dog with us!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Outstanding golf resort. All courses on site and very enjoyable to play. Atmosphere of resort is relaxed casual. Ironwood Rest quite good. Service throughout resort was excellent. My favorite coursed in order were Championship, Palmer and Fazio. Pool restaurant was a great spot after golf

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guyoncouch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

i have been coming to this great resort for over 25 years
it is fab
Amazing Golf on the course that has hosted Ryder Cup,PGA seniors and now Honda Classic
Rooms have just been refurbished,great new food outlets and quite simply the most attentive staff around
Terrific value and also tennis spa and fitness centre are all world class
see you there next xmas

Room Tip: get the new refurbished pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

After many years the hotel has undergone a major much needed renovation. The rooms, common areas, restaurants and pool area are beautiful.. Service in the lobby at I bar was excellent. The food at Ironside Restaurant was very good but service poor once the restaurant got busy. All in all a nice stay.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank mlel1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I attended a trade show in Jan., 2013. The hotel just completed a multi million dollar remodeling and it showed. The furniture was new and the room was spacious. The room lighting in the bedroom was marginal, but the living room was bright and cheerful. The cost was high, even by Palm Beach Gardens standards in season, but we were very comfortable.
The meeting rooms were in good condition and the chairs were comfortable.

The golf was awesome, albeit very expensive!! Four golf courses on site, with the Champion being the best by far (also the most expensive.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and it could be quite noisy when the music was playing, which was sever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoogdaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Beach Gardens hotels
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Palm Beach Gardens PGA Boulevard
Embassy Suites by Hilton Palm Be...
#4 of 11 in Palm Beach Gardens
1,017 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Executive Meeting Center Palm Beach Gardens
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and E...
#6 of 11 in Palm Beach Gardens
1,196 reviews
2.7 mi away
Palm Beach Gardens Marriott
Palm Beach Gardens Marriott
#8 of 11 in Palm Beach Gardens
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Beach Gardens
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Beach Gar...
#2 of 11 in Palm Beach Gardens
959 reviews
5 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Beach Gardens Hotel & Suites & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Palm Beach Gar...
#7 of 11 in Palm Beach Gardens
464 reviews
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Beach Gardens
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm B...
#3 of 11 in Palm Beach Gardens
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PGA National Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PGA National Resort & Spa

Address: 400 Avenue of Champions, Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33418-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
Price Range: $246 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PGA National Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh off a comprehensive multi-million revitalization, PGA National Resort & Spa is a world-class golf, spa, vacation and meetings destination. The South Florida locale offers 90 holes of championship golf on five courses including the famed Champion Course, home to the popular PGA TOUR Honda Classic and legendary “Bear Trap.” A distinguishing highlight at PGA National is its new 33,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art Sports & Racquet Club (SRC). The impressive new facility features the latest exercise equipment, indoor racquetball court, three aerobics studios with new sound systems, five-lane saltwater lap pool, spin room with video road mapping, indoor volleyball court, two Pickleball / POP tennis courts, and 19 Har-Tru tennis courts (11 lit for night play). PGA National offers customized suites ideal for weddings, golf “buddy trips” and spa aficionados. Its numerous multi-use settings include a permanent, lakeside wedding venue with stunning vistas; scenic Lakeside Lawn perfect for receptions; iDeck – a new 3,000-square-foot terrace ideal for indoor / outdoor dining and entertaining; “Bar 91” 19th hole bar and grill; 40,000 square feet of self-contained conference and event space; and seven on-site restaurants and lounges including its acclaimed chef-driven Ironwood Steak & Seafood. The Spa at PGA National is a 40,000-square-foot oasis of tranquility featuring 32 treatment rooms and areas with 100 diverse treatments, the exclusive “Waters of the World” outdoor mineral pools, full-service salon, and relaxing lounge areas. Conveniently located within driving distance of major Florida population centers, the AAA Four Diamond resort is 15 minutes from Palm Beach International Airport (PBI), one hour from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (FLL) and 90 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your PGA National Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pga National Hotel Palm Beach Gardens
Pga National Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing