We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festival Field Hockey Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
PGA National Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntington Beach
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Festival Field Hockey Stay”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Travelling from Orange County, CA I was surprised to see that West Palm Beach looked a lot like home just more spacious with bigger buildings, LOTS of gated communities and much less traffic. (like Murrieta) Unfortunately, since we were here for the big Field Hockey event, visiting the beach didn't happen so I cannot compare the beaches. We also did not play golf. With that said, I can say that the International Polo Fields are exquisite.

Our stay was during Thanksgiving week and the hotel was mostly booked up with field hockey players playing in the largest field hockey tournament called Festival. The front desk said they were sold out the whole week. (I felt sorry for the golfers who came for a golfing Thanksgiving week as they were overrun by teenagers)

Our Junior Suite at the PGA Resort was big and nicely appointed and looked to have been recently remodeled. It had a bar with fridge, small flat screen TV on wall, large sofa that pulled out into a bed and patio overlooking the garden area. I liked that the bathroom was divided into two parts with a his/her sink area. The decorating wasn't to my taste as it was all tile flooring (probably for the summer humidity) but clean. It reminded me of hotel rooms in Puerto Vallarta. The staff was all very courteous and friendly. Parts of the hotel still looked under construction.The pool area was beautiful and it was next to the lake. What a view! One of our favorite times was having margaritas by the pool at the restaurant called, Wave Cafe. Although, I could have done without the loud, nauseating Jamaican music :( Service was friendly and the margaritas were good.

We ate at Ironwood Steakhouse one night. It was comparable to Flemings and Ruth Chris back home in the OC. The steaks cooked perfect and were very flavorful. In fact, everything we ate was excellent. The service was good but it lacked in some areas of knowledge and professionalism. But we could tell our server was doing his best so we rolled with it. We also witnessed rich golfing snobs who seriously lacked courtesy and manners. When you got people talking down to you like that, I am sure keeping long term staff must be hard for them.

We also ate the Thanksgiving dinner served at the hotel. Honestly, I was prepared for the worst and was surprised at how good it was! We enjoyed our dinner and desert and would do it again next year even if on the expensive side. It was us making the best with our field hockey family while missing our traditional meal with family backhome.

The ibar in the lobby area was inviting and a great place to catch up with other parents each evening. We had a couple drinks but did not eat there. The food looked very good and the prices were not over priced.

Cafe Pronto was a great stop for coffee, fruit, pastries and snacks. Psst! There is a Walgreens for snacks and Starbucks right down the street.

I gave it 4 stars because of the large pool next to the lake, Ironwood Restaurant, good vibe in ibar and a good Thanskgiving Dinner. In my home town, it would be a 3 star hotel.

Pillows: Anything but a feather pillow is just wrong! When I called house keeping to ask if they had any for our room, they said yes. They quickly delivered 2 more pillows- both poly fill. Sigh! That cost them 1 star for sure! Lol

Dislike: Although we had no small children with us, II was taken aback by the hotel putting a stuffed turtle on the bed next to a made up towel animal for children to play with. Read the tag and it says it's for sale $20

Lion Country Safari is near the Polo fields. Since ours closed many years ago, it was a nostalgic stop for us. May not have as many animals as ours did when in Irvine but feeding the Giraffes was a highlight.

Room Tip: If your team players stay in the cottages, they are NOT in the main hotel area. However, there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihave2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    353
    174
    104
    58
See reviews for
300
365
65
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Charging $6 + tax for a bottle of water when the tap water was undrinkable was cruel.
Charging over $50 for a "complimentary" pick-up at the airport & another $50 for return when there is no other means of transportation is not cool. The "Ironwood" restaurant was way over-priced. We are gourmet diners, this was not. No, we will not be returning to this so-called resort.
Ever!

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk, ask for a room close to the elevators. Buy your own water before che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arden Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is in desperate need of renovation. The fitness center has equipment from the 80s, old carpet, old towels, just overall a terrible environment. The lobby looks worn as well. Our rooms were big and decent, comfortable beds but hallways have low ceilings and are dark and dingy. The pool area is nice and big, but the restaurant at the pool is undersized,overpriced and pretty disgusting. If you bring in food from the outside into the pool area the attendants chase you out, however revolting cigars and dogs sitting on chaise lounges are acceptable. The buffet breakfast is passable but also overpriced. The staff at the front desk is unfriendly and could not provide any concierge type service when the concierge was not around, which was essentially never. Stay as far away from this place as possible.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We came to this resort after a junior golf series of competitions to celebrate New Year's Eve with the family. We had dinner at the Ironwood restaurant, we had never experienced such agony. It took forever, 4 hours. We are a party of 6. 2 of the steaks were great, the other 2 dry and burned and the fish was literally CREMATED!!!, the rest was nice to be fair. The Manager was very apologetic, and sorted things out for us very efficiently but, still, our dinner was an expensive

spoiled experience!
We booked two cottages 809/ 810, as the hotel rooms were full. My goodness!!! It is hard to believe how they still dare to offer them to clients. The state of these cottages is appalling. The worst is the SMELL of dirty filthy carpets , sofas the pillows!! watch out for the smelly pillows!!! The deco.....we don't go there. There is NO map of the resort, and you depend on their shuttle to go from one place to the other , your own car or take a healthy walk if you want to cool your anger down. Big disappointment, overrated. Next time stay in a motel nearby and you will get the same quality, cheaper, come to this resort only to play golf, and for the uppers, stay at the four seasons hotel at Palm beach and come here to play golf .

Room Tip: Don't accept a cottage offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcyUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was recently in the palm beach gardens area visiting friends and had the good fortune to stay at PGA national resort. The last time I was there was almost 15 years ago and things have changed for the better. Totally renovated inside and out I was happy with my decision. The only issue I had was with the quality of alcohol served at the lobby bar, when at a resort the drink selection should reflect the overall experience and a "top shelf" selection of scotch and burbon was missing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muttontown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

It was definitely a treat! I had a "WOW" moment starting with hospitality. There were smiling faces everywhere as soon I entered the SPA. Having a "girls day out" with my mom was very special. I immediately had other friends in mind for my next trip so they can experience what I loved at PGA National Resort & Spa. The service was impeccable and food was superb! Palm Beach is lucky to have a place like this!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jomama4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful holiday experience at PGA. My husband and myself enjoyed a week at this great resort. Staff, from the bellman on, we're a pleasure. One of our particular favorites - our room service waiter - could not have been nicer. WE WILL BE BACK!!

Room Tip: I wouldn't think there was a bad room on the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach Gardens
10.0 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
812 reviews
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Palm Beach Gardens PGA Boulevard
Embassy Suites by Hilton Palm Be...
#4 of 11 in Palm Beach Gardens
960 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Palm Beach Marriott Singer Island Beach Resort & Spa
8.5 mi away
Jupiter Beach Resort & Spa
15.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PGA National Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PGA National Resort & Spa

Property: PGA National Resort & Spa
Address: 400 Avenue of Champions, Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33418-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PGA National Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh off a comprehensive multi-million revitalization, PGA National Resort & Spa is a world-class golf, spa, vacation and meetings destination. The South Florida locale offers 90 holes of championship golf on five courses including the famed Champion Course, home to the popular PGA TOUR Honda Classic and legendary “Bear Trap.” A distinguishing highlight at PGA National is its new 33,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art Sports & Racquet Club (SRC). The impressive new facility features the latest exercise equipment, indoor racquetball court, three aerobics studios with new sound systems, five-lane saltwater lap pool, spin room with video road mapping, indoor volleyball court, two Pickleball / POP tennis courts, and 19 Har-Tru tennis courts (11 lit for night play). PGA National offers customized suites ideal for weddings, golf “buddy trips” and spa aficionados. Its numerous multi-use settings include a permanent, lakeside wedding venue with stunning vistas; scenic Lakeside Lawn perfect for receptions; iDeck – a new 3,000-square-foot terrace ideal for indoor / outdoor dining and entertaining; “Bar 91” 19th hole bar and grill; 40,000 square feet of self-contained conference and event space; and seven on-site restaurants and lounges including its acclaimed chef-driven Ironwood Steak & Seafood. The Spa at PGA National is a 40,000-square-foot oasis of tranquility featuring 32 treatment rooms and areas with 100 diverse treatments, the exclusive “Waters of the World” outdoor mineral pools, full-service salon, and relaxing lounge areas. Conveniently located within driving distance of major Florida population centers, the AAA Four Diamond resort is 15 minutes from Palm Beach International Airport (PBI), one hour from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (FLL) and 90 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your PGA National Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pga National Hotel Palm Beach Gardens
Pga National Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing