We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Opulence”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York, NY
1 review
“Opulence”
Reviewed July 29, 2007

My wife and I got married in June and hadn't gone on a proper honeymoon due to our busy work schedules. We had a long weekend in July and decided to meet up in Palm Beach after my wife's business trip for a mini-moon. We pulled up to the Breakers after midnight and were greated by a bell hop named Ed. Ed took us to our room and then showed us around the property. The property speaks Gilded Age and is nothing less than opulent. Everyone was very nice and not pretentious at all. We couldn't have picked a better place. They know service and how to do things right. A chilled bottle of Champagne was waiting in the room for us as a wedding gift from the Hotel. Prices are high but what do you expect at a 5 star resort. The food was great and Sunday brunch in the Circle was outstanding. We're thinking about going back in January for my birthday to get away from the cold NY winter. If you are questioning staying here, don't, just book it and enjoy.

  • Liked — The Service and Architecture
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dolphy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,544
    373
    122
    64
    61
See reviews for
548
645
48
530
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

My wife and I stayed at The Breakers from 06-09July for a weekend getaway. It was everything we expected and more. The hotel lobby, gardens, restaurants, and shops are fantastic. Everything is upscale, gardens are manicured and the Sunday brunch, although expensive, is really a must if you stay at The Breakers. The pools were great and the cabanas and bungalos looked really nice. We did nt rent one but the people who did seemed to enjoy them. The beach was good also. They have umbrellas and chairs at no extra charge. It's not really a white sand beach, and but it's good to just relax and the water was great, although the waves were a bit rough that particular weekend. There is a nice Spa and with a Gym overlooking the pool and ocean, which you can use for an extra fee, but we used the free gym on the hotel's first floor which is free of charge for hotel guests and had fine equipment as well. We did not go to the Spa, maybe next time. We had a basic room with partial ocean view. The room was nicely decorated and the bed, linen and pillows made yu want to not get out of bed! They were that nice. The only negative comment would be that there was no access to a small balcony our room had (we stayed in room 5164), so could only appreciate the view through the window. The bathroom was small but elegant, although the bath tub too small to fit 2 people ot even one comfortably, but the shower had good water pressure and different settings and the bath accesories provided were good quality. Nearby there are very high end shops at Worth Avenue, but unless you are rich (we are not) you might enjoy driving 5 minutes to City Place, which is full of standard shops, restaurants, and a large movie theater. We highly recommend The Breakes and would love to go back again some day.

  • Liked — Hotel architecture and gardens
  • Disliked — bathtub
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Abel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

my husband and i celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary in July '07. our initial plan was to visit Orlando or Miami being that we'd never been to FL before. However, we wanted to do something different from the regular disney vacation or hanging out on the beach so we chose Palm Beach. I must say that after booking the trip and telling people where we were going, we then became very discouraged for picking what was considered " a location for snotty rich folk". I even tried changing the package we had but Orbitz would not allow it so we had to to go on the trip.

Boy were we glad we did. Everyone at The Breakers was far from "high faluten". From staff to guests alike, all were soooo friendly, it was unbelievable. I must say though that it became quite a pricy trip but thank God it was only for five days. However the resort has so many activities (some free and others tagged with a price) to engage in. There was the 2 hour bike tour with Eda and Summer, the many swimming pools, the beach front, snorkeling, the arcade (for the young and young-at-heart and we also did some major shopping @ the Polo Ralph Lauren and Burberry stores and the staff at the City Place Mall (12mins away) knew us as regulars.

  • Liked — high quality service and varied activities to engage in
  • Disliked — quite pricy
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ngeh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenxiville, AP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

My husband won a stay at The Breakers during his annual sales conference. As a dyed-in-the-wool practitioner of frugality, I was not looking forward to taking this trip. It all seemed so excessive to me. In fact, I tried bartering the trip so as to avoid going. In the end, it's lucky that this didn't work out.

The Breakers is an extremely elegant resort and definitely not the sort of place I would be willing to hand over my money to. After all, $400 a night for a room you just sleep in seems absurd. However, even though we didn't pay for this trip, I will now think twice before forming a hard and fast opinion again. We had a wonderful time, a truly restful, relaxing experience.

The room was lovely, with comfortable beds, the softest sheets ever, and a very homey bathroom. We even had a partial ocean view, which was thrilling. Service was impeccable; I don't think there was a time we walked the halls that we didn't see staff hard at work.

What really made it for us was the staff; everyone was NICE, really nice, not just deferentially nice in the way that service staff can sometimes be when dealing with moneyed guests, and extremely helpful. They were happy to converse with you, not merely jump to attention. That made a big difference.

At The Breakers, we were able to walk on the beach, enjoying strolls both at dawn and in the moonlight. In inclement weather, there was plenty to explore in the hotel itself, which is beautifully appointed -- definitely pay attention to the detailed ceilings. The various restaurants both on and off the property were amazing. Delicious food, beautifully presented and service was definitely with a smile.

I even took advantage of a couple of spa services, a rather new experience to cheapskate me, and was delighted with the serenity of the spa and the care and attention of the staff. Their ability to put me at my ease while I was wrapped in a bathrobe was extraordinary.

We enjoyed our stay at The Breakers and used the opportunity as a second honeymoon. We're definitely considering going back there for our third honeymoon in a few years -- or maybe sooner!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank CMCLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

Wow, having a chance to stay at this historic and elegant property for a business trip was special and very enjoyable. I get to travel to some pretty nice places on business like the Broadmoor, Ritz Napels, Ritz Amelia Island, Fairmont Orchid, etc. so I want to be fair in my comparisons.

The breakdown

This hotel has an austerity about it that can be visible on the palm beach skyline even before you cross the bridge to the hotel. It is beautiful, there is not doubt about it. You feel very important pulling up to this place. The staff is friendly for the most part and very accomodating although they sometimes were unorganized. On several occasions I asked the front desk for information about the convention I was attending and they did not have the information. The property did not seem to be crowded at all, in fact it was very peaceful and relaxing. The pools including a relaxation pool are pretty serene. The spa and fitness center are nice to have although I was charged $30 to use the fitness center and steam room/sauna. Food and drinks are the most outrageous here of any place I have been on earth. I paid $8.25 for a beer at one of the convention functions. Hamburgers are $18 plus tax and service charge. Cokes, etc. are $4 or $5. I would advise you to hit the grocery store on the way in. The room was disappointing, although the bedding was very nice and comfortable, it was small with no balcony. Just a side ocean view. We also had some small ants on our nightstand that I mentioned to the maid, I'm not sure they ever handled the problem. The beach is very small, which was not a major issue considering few people were here, but I could see it getting overcrowded at a busy time. Check the place out, tour around, see the gardens, I hear they were nice but I didn't see much of it.

We got a deal at this place paying an offseason rate of something like $169 night for the conference. I have to say that for that price, this place was pretty awesome. But for $500 and up, or whatever the normal going rate is, I would stay elsewhere. This place is defintiely geared for the rich and wealthy. I would say The Broadmoor as far as service, amenties, spa, and things to do is far superior to this place.

Some other tips:

If you have never been to Palm Beach, I would say this is the Beverly Hills of the south. Check out the Blue Martini bar in downtown Palm Beach, a good nightspot with live bands, etc. Rent a Lexus or Mercedes or something, you will be the only person without one! The golf course at the hotel is pretty nice, but very short, only 6,100 from the tips. There is a good jogging/bike path along the intercoastal. Don't run on the beach, the sand is too soft and slopes to the water. Have a good time, don't go broke drinking $8 beers!

  • Liked — Beautiful Surroundings
  • Disliked — Food and Beverage is a ripoff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank DFGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

We stayed at The Breakers for four nights as part of an industry meeting. Wow. The service, atmosphere, dining, spa and resort were amazing.
Although the rooms are rather small for the money, the quality of the bed, bedding, etc. were top notch. The staff is extremely attentive and responsive. The hotel has two fitness rooms, one for hotel guests and one for those who use the spa. (Hotel guests can use the "spa fitness center" for $40 extra/day.) The hotel fitness room was adequate but the one in the spa was terrific. I had a "seastone" massage in the spa which really should be illegal - it was that good. (Ask for Melinda.) The pools and beach were terrific. We spent most our time at the relaxation pool which lived up to its name.
We had dinner one night in the "Circle Room." I think it's only used for banquets or weddings, but if you have the chance, you must see it. I can't begin to explain how beautiful it is. Timeless, elegant...
Even though we were "off season," I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — The elegance of the hotel
  • Disliked — The room size for the price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TariR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2007

My husband and I recently stayed at the Breakers for 4 days, 3 nights. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very pleasant. However, I was surprised at the size of the rooms (smaller than expected) and we had a view of the parking lot (it was a nice parking lot, but I would have preferred to be looking at something a little nicer when I'm making a long trip.) I was very surprised at the prices here. We have stayed at comparable hotels and I am always shocked about the prices that are charged. My husband and I shared a lunch (appetizer and hamburger) and a couple of sodas for $52. Of course, the tip was included with everything. The pools were nice, the beach was much smaller than I expected, the staff was attentive (as they should at these prices). I would recommend this hotel, but be advised the rooms are the size of a average hotel room. I would also suggest bringing your own beverages (water, soda, etc) and snacks to avoid the high prices.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank mothertotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bradley Park Hotel
Bradley Park Hotel
#9 of 10 in Palm Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing