We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Service at its Best and Food at its Worst” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customer Service at its Best and Food at its Worst”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

My wife, young son and myself stayed at The Breakers for 2 days in July 2010. We decided to end our 2 week Florida vacation on a high note and we are so glad we did. We had researched several hotels for the Palm Beach area on Trip Advisor and the concensus was always the same, if you go, stay at The Breakers.

Amazing customer service is everywhere. Anytime we would pass any member of the hotel we were always warmly greeted. From the time we arrived at the valet to the moment we left, there was no doubt that everyone wanted to make your experience as wonderful as possible.

The hotel is very opulent and very awe inspiring. It is very easy to see that much pride is taken in keeping the hotel beatiful at all times. They have an enourmous flower arrangement by the front desk that was pure heaven to smell each time we passed it. The main lobby furniture is extra large and luxurious and I swear they had a seat for every person in that hotel.

Our room was very well appointed. We came to discover that our room was on their un-renovated floor, but you never would have guessed it by how beautifully maintained the room was. There wasn't a single scuff mark on any of the walls, not even in the closet. The room was fresh and inviting and while the bathroom was a touch small the very large windows made the bathroom seem much larger. The mattress and linens were first class and very soothing at the end of a long day. The only issue we had with our room was a slightly off-putting smell that emitted from a drain that was in the bathroom on the second day there. We called the front desk and spoke with Jennifer (Jen) and within 5 minutes a maintenance worker came to examine the situation and informed us that housekeeping would come to sterilize the drain. Whatever they did worked great and by the time we returned from the pool, the room was odour free. Jen left us a message asking us if the problem was fixed to our satisfaction. If not, she offered to relocate us to a superior room for the inconvenience and even offered to have her staff assist us in packing up our belongings and help us move. ABSOLUTELLY UNBELIVABLE!! We were flying out the next day and wanted to use the hotels amenities rather than re-pack so we decided to stay in our room. When we returned that night from dinner, we discovered that Jen had left a teddy bear and two toy ducks for our son on our bed...he was super excited. On a minor note, the pressing iron in the room should really be upgraded to a better unit. It lacked a cap over the opening where you pour the water and it made ironing very tedious, if you moved the iron too quickly the water would spill all over your garment you were pressing.

The grounds of the hotel are picture-perfect from anywhere you stand. The landscaping is breathtaking and the grass, shrubs, and flowers are always perfect eventhough you never see anyone tending to them. In total we counted 2 main pools, a relaxation pool, a toddler pool and even a lap pool. Other people have mentioned that it is hard to get a pool chair but we never had an issue and really with some many pools and chairs, it seems that if you walk down before 12noon you would easy find a spot. Although we did not rent a cabana or beach bungalow there were several guests that did and you could look in as you passed by. The bungalows were almost as amazing as the hotel rooms.
The pool towels were super soft and smelled very crisp and fresh. They even have water dispensers at every pool; the lime and lemon in the water dispenser give the water a nice light citrus flavour. The chairs and umbrellas on the beach are complimentary aswell so no need to bring money.

Now to the BAD!! Some reviwers on here have mentioned that the food at the Breakers is amazing and that they loved to eat there. For some reason we had the opposite feeling. We ate at the "Ocean Grill" and "The Italian Restaurant". First about the Ocean Grill. The Breakers Burger is $16 and only consists of a very unspecial burger, some condiments and some curly fries. You could get the same burger at any fast food restaurant. Our son had Mahi-Mahi on a skewer, while this originally sounded great, the fish did not smell or taste particulary fresh and was really dry and overcooked. I had the Turkey Club and it was quite good. Oddly everything was served on a very flimsy plastic plate. It might have been a marketing concept (leisure eating) but it just came across as appearing cheap. The Italian Restaurant was not much better. We ordered a plate of mussels ($15), a pasta carbonara ($25), a ceasar salad ($13) and a kids meatball parmigana (??) and none of it was really anything special. The mussels and sauce were bland, the carbonara was just ordinary, and the ceasar salad was lacking in both size and taste. For a 5 star hotel the food was 3 star at best. My wife and I have dinned at many restaurants and we expect that for these kinds of prices you would at least receive a meal with some imagination, flair, and complex food pairings. The service at these restaurants was top-notch and every server was quite friendly and helpful. The 20% automatic tip was a bit off-putting but the service was great so we would have paid it anyway. We did eat offsite by Worth Ave and were much happier with our meals there.

We will definitely stay here again in the future. The hotel, the grounds and the staff are just too amazing to pass up. Hopefully our dining experiences will be more enjoyable next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianTravellers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,505
    364
    119
    63
    58
See reviews for
537
630
45
517
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

Its been about 10 years since I last visited the property. The Breakers is still one of the best hotels in the country~ Friendly, classy, and elegantwithout being stuffy. My husband and I traveled with other couples. Our room was upgraded upon arrival and was perfect. I especially liked the comfy bed and the noticeable quiet. You never hear hallway noise. Breakfast was included as was our tennis court and valet parking. The Circle room is a glorious place to enjoy your morning coffee and breakfast. Everything was so fresh.
Do make it for happy hour as we met some very interesting people. I could comment on every aspect of our trip, from the beautiful pro shop to the welcoming cold water botle on the complimentary shuttle. My only negative -we were not crazy about the recommended restaurant Echo- too dark and the food was just okay- so I suggest you skip it and head to another restaurant in town.
Everyone in our group agreed if they keep the summer rate in place we will all return next year. Next time we'll plan for one more day!
The Breaker's attention to detail makes it

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conners107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed here a few years ago, prior to a recent renovation, but found this hotel to be a wonderful experience. We were there in August, so it was very hot, but the service was great, the pools and beach beautiful - an overall great experience. Pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

We visited and toured the Breakers previously but had not had the opportunity to stay. We were impressed by the history, architecture, and grounds of the Breakers. What we did not expect when we visited this July, was to be awestruck by the service. At every turn from the time we pulled up to the valet to the minute we drove away down the palm lined drive, every staff encounter was stellar! Rooms were lovely and pristine. Meals may appear pricey to some, but the food and service is worth the price! If you have the time and the inclination indulge in a day at the Bungalows, especially near the relaxation pool -truly a one of a kind experience. The spa is also outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

A high end resort where they know how to pamper. I've travelled around the globe - business and pleasure but have yet to see such consistent/authentic, pleasant and helpful customer service with a smile from everyone everyday. A very classy place that loves kids and is down to earth/no snobbery here. Room was a tad small but fine for the three of us (with a 4 year old). Value was exceptional on summer promo (free kid camp worth $95 per day on it's own, free breakfast - incl. juice/tea/coffee , free WiFi and valet parking). Grab lunch at the cafe and eat in the courtyard just outside. Interesting activities everyday! The larger courtyard was under construction (would never have known other than the view from our window) and was off limits. Golf/tennis prices out of reach - yes pricey but worth every penny. This is a 5 diamond...not a 5 star. Loved it and will definitely be back - with or without kid in tow.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antoniothunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

We traveled with several other couples for a long weekend of golf, dining, and swimming. The staff were professional. Check-in was quick, and our room was ready on arrival. The grounds, public areas and our room were spotless. We ate at four of the restaurants; the food was excellent, but a little on the expensive side. The beach and pools were not too crowded, and we always had beach chairs and umbrellas.
All in all, it was a totally relaxing and enjoyable time. We hope to return with our children sometime in the near future. They will go wild over the many pools, and the calm ocean waters.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquarius70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

Our stay at The Breakers was wonderful from the beautiful building to the first-class service at the hotel. The hotel is extremely kid-friendly - our girls enjoyed the Coconut Crew and were treated like princesses the entire weekend. The room was clean and roomy - the staff took it upon themselves to install bed rails when they realized we had little kids. Service was wonderful everywhere from the hotel shops, restaurants, kids club, pool etc. The Family Center was perfect for the rainy afternoons. The only negative that I can think of is the beach - it isn't a very big beach although it was big enough for us! The Breakers is definitely a gem - the perfect mix of a top-notch resort while kid-friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tampafamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bradley Park Hotel
Bradley Park Hotel
#9 of 10 in Palm Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#9 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing