We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful weather, fabulous pools and beach access”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We traveled with several other couples for a long weekend of golf, dining, and swimming. The staff were professional. Check-in was quick, and our room was ready on arrival. The grounds, public areas and our room were spotless. We ate at four of the restaurants; the food was excellent, but a little on the expensive side. The beach and pools were not too crowded, and we always had beach chairs and umbrellas.
All in all, it was a totally relaxing and enjoyable time. We hope to return with our children sometime in the near future. They will go wild over the many pools, and the calm ocean waters.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aquarius70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,862 - 1,868 of 2,343 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

Our stay at The Breakers was wonderful from the beautiful building to the first-class service at the hotel. The hotel is extremely kid-friendly - our girls enjoyed the Coconut Crew and were treated like princesses the entire weekend. The room was clean and roomy - the staff took it upon themselves to install bed rails when they realized we had little kids. Service was wonderful everywhere from the hotel shops, restaurants, kids club, pool etc. The Family Center was perfect for the rainy afternoons. The only negative that I can think of is the beach - it isn't a very big beach although it was big enough for us! The Breakers is definitely a gem - the perfect mix of a top-notch resort while kid-friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tampafamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

This is the perfect place to stay in Palm Beach. The hotel is Impeccably clean. The location is great. There are 4 swimming pools and all are clean and warm. The setting is very beautiful. Service is 5-star. Food is of the highest quality. Although, the beach is not as beautiful as more well known beaches, but the white sands and the overall experience make-up for that short-coming.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samjabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

A business trip brought us back. We have been here several times over the past seven years. Consistently over the years it's always five stars. The service is top notch, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the food is superb! The only downside is that the food and amenities are expensive. The fantastic Cheeseburger will set you back $20 but the Avocado fries are so good you'll forget all about it. The golf course is friendly and immaculate. Not withstanding, this Resort is the best in my book.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrKaffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Staying here is staying in a historic place. Grand old 1925 hotel that still packs them in, even in the Florida summer. I was here for a business meeting and brought my wife, who was celebrating her birthday. Once the hotel found out, there were little surprises for her all weekend. One night in a bar, the manager discovered it was her birthday (coded on charge key, I believe) and waved off our two drinks as on the house "because, come on, it's her birthday". Service all weekend was outstanding.

Walls were thin and we could hear the couple next door arguing all weekend. But then she was REALLY shouting.

I like this place. Now, you can eat much less expensively off grounds (downtown Palm Beach with great restaurants is two blocks to the North, but many people don't know that). One last tip: Avoid the hotel's Flagler's Steak House. Good food (at a price) but no atmosphere at all..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarefootTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I came here for a business trip and brought my fiance. Most of the food and drinks were provided by the conference, but when we did buy our own food and drink it was a little on the high side. The food that was served was really good, but like I said it came with a price. The common areas of the hotel are just flat out beautiful. Very detailed in its design. The room we were in was only ok. We got a room that wasn't renovated, but the partial ocean view made up for it. The pool areas were really nice and they had a nice strip of beach. Great location, but its definitely at a price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlansangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We were at the Breakers over Memorial Weekend and had a wonderful time. The hotel was very luxurious and the service throughout the hotel was uniformly excellent - what you would expect at a 5 star hotel. We booked a one bedroom suite and it was very comfortable for us and our 2 kids (ages 4 and 6). The beach and pool areas were lovely and the staff was extremely helpful despite it being a busy holiday weekend. Our kids attended one morning session and one evening session of the kids' camp and had a terrific time (they had a great number of enthusiastic counselors who were fantastic with the children). The food was very good accross the board but absurdly expensive - I think we had a $30 burger or sandwich one day for lunch (ouch) and the drinks were also more expensive than one would expect even for a luxury hotel. We had been warned about the high food and drink prices so since we were driving to the hotel we had requested a minifridge in our room and brought drinks and fruit and other snacks for our kids which helped keep things a little more reasonable; we also got a great rate on the room so that helped to offset the food prices in our minds. The only negative was that on Saturday and Sunday the hotel's beach and pool area were way too crowded so I would probably recommend going to this hotel on a non-holiday weekend as our experience on Friday and Monday was that it was not crowded at all and that made the pool and beach areas more enjoyable. The hotel often has steeply discounted pricing either directly or through offers with Amex and I would highly recommend staying when you can get a great deal on the room as you will need to factor in that your food and beverage expenses will be higher than at comparable hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamifamily12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
771 reviews
1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
476 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#4 of 34 in West Palm Beach
914 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#7 of 34 in West Palm Beach
913 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range: $503 - $1,869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing