We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An amazing place”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We have had two wonderful trips to The Breakers. The staff could not be kinder. It is an amazing property and a lovely place to relax. We have gone as a family of four and they are terrific about meeting the interests of all involved. Thank you to the great people at The Breakers!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,596
    382
    126
    65
    63
See reviews for
565
664
51
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This classic 5-star hotel is worth a visit. I attended a conference here and enjoyed the great facilities, good food and well manicured lawns. If you bring your own car, valet parking is $25 a day. Room rates were good given the location right on the Atlantic. Golf course is on the property as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

My family just finished our 8th visit to the Breakers. Once again this one of a kind, iconic, and storied resort proved why it is certainly one of the great hotels ever conceived. Having said that...the Pillows!?! What have they done to the Pillows? Let me explain. Whenever we visited the Breakers in the past, the four pillows provided on your bed varied in softness. You could choose the pillow that best met your needs. Not any more. You are now provided with four pillows that are exactly the same, and in my opinion were equally awful. Our entire party felt the same (8 people in 4 different rooms). I called housekeeping to ask for softer pillows and I was given two of the exact same pillows. Since 1/3 of your stay will be spent sleeping, I felt it important to give prospective visitors a heads up. Under no circumstances should this prevent anyone from visiting this amazing hotel, but you might want to pack your own pillows.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room with a view of the Ocean. It will cost more, but few hotels are situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ixthus72005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

From the moment you drive up to the property, you are blown away by the beauty and historic feel of the hotel. I was working in Palm Beach for the two days we stayed, but my husband and son started our vacation early. They both had an amazing time and plenty to do on property. They took exceptional care of my 4 year old from providing beach toys to having a game room with tons of things to keep him busy.

in terms of the property, our view was amazing (looking right over the water), the beds were very comfortable and all the little details exceeded my expectations. Highly recommend to anyone staying in the Palm Beach area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystalchic720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Everything is excellent at this outstanding location. The facility, the staff and location are beyond compare. The cost is to be expected for such an incomparable resort. I especially cannot say enough about the staff, from the valet parking through the front desk personnel, anyone I came in contact with went out of their way to make May stay perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I enjoyed my recent stay at The Breakers, this is my second stay at the property.
You walk in and have the feeling of storied history, old money and luxury. The property is manicured all the way down to the finest points of the landscaping- simply gorgeous.
The front desk staff is very friendly and professional. The valet is friendly yet I had an issue in which they "lost my car" , which contained my luggage that they promised to bring up to my room. I had to go back down to the front desk twice to check on it as I could not go to bed until I received my luggage. Finally I waited at the valet stand until it was found and I brought my luggage upstairs myself. The valet acted disappointed that I did not tip him for that adventure! If it was not for this episode, I would give The Breakers an excellent rating.
There are many choices of where to dine that all are excellent. They have an amazing wine program with in depth wine lists along with very approachable, helpful sommeliers to assist in choosing the perfect beverage accompaniment to your meal. There is fabulous bar in which you can choose wonderful wines as well as cocktails etc.
I particularly enjoyed dining solo poolside on a gorgeous summer day. They have a terrific cafe/sundries shop option in which you can purchase carry out coffee, salads, sandwiches etc which included the very best jambon & fromage croissant I have ever encountered (and that includes all of France- well done!)
This is a resort and with it comes guidelines/rules so you can properly enjoy yourself in an upscale manner meaning- A Dress Code; no flip flops, no cut offs, etc.. understated Bling is encouraged. This Breakers is very Lilly Pulitzer with a side of Tory Burch and Ralph Lauren.
You don't go here to party- you go to have a lovely, relaxing, delicious luxurious time with no annoying boisterous guests ruining your perfect paradise.
There is on site shopping for that new bathing suit and pair of sandals that you must have. Also, if you feel like going for a dreamy Palm Beach walk- Worth Ave is less than a one mile walk away and you can enjoy the greenery and geckos along the way!
I enjoyed the overall experience very much and even extended my stay for a day to soak all the Palm Beach goodness in. I will return again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a full ocean view. You will need to pay an upgrade but it is worth it as they have quite a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here in June this year with our three boys for our fourth year in a row. In the past, this has been our Heaven, our trip to make up for all of the craziness of spring and our perfect family excursion. I have been putting off writing this review because I thought it might make me remember more good than bad--but not so much. When you get down to it, my husband and I could not BELIEVE how much we were nickled and dimed compared to other years. We are more than willing to spend--this is the place to do it. However, the prices in every single restaurant went UP, and i mean WAY up, and so did the prices in the shops, etc. The camp, which in previous years had been included in our summer program, was no longer included, which, we were told upon arrival, making our stay an extra $70 times 3 kiddos, per day. No complimentary coffee in the lobby any longer in the mornings, but rather, one must trudge to the cafe to get it for themselves, and again, pay for it. No more use of the gym in the main building where the views of the ocean are present as you use the equipment--now, suddenly, another CHARGE for this but we were welcome to use a different gym on the 2nd floor......The playground, which is one of the reasons we come, knowing that our boys will have a place to blow off some steam before the dinner hour, was CLOSED for construction while we were there. I did alert the management to the fact that we were disappointed both with the camp situation as well as the kid center, to which, we were given a bungalow for a day as an amenity to our disappointment. Really? Fine but that, in addition to the CRUMMY condition of the beach which was basically overrun with weeds, so much so that we couldn't swim, we didn't feel that the luxury we had in the past. Really too bad--perhaps the timing did have something to do with it as the kids facilities were being re-done, but no excuse really. We have loved this property for years, had it in our minds as our spot of family tradition but we are likely going to put off returning anytime soon. I will add that the housekeeping staff was beyond great and did an incredible and consistent job, the pool staff was attentive and friendly, the camp staff TERRIFIC, but the front desk staff avoids speaking to folks, unfriendly, unprofessional and really not up to par for a property such as this. We hope things perk up before we consider visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank DCSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
747 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
594 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
424 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
#1 of 4 in Palm Beach Shores
1,382 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing