We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is OK....not excellent!”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It is OK....not excellent!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Looks beautiful but a little old fashioned/outdated. Stayed there several years. Sometimes we had very nice rooms or they upgraded us and sometimes we had very very small rooms. Service was sometimes excellent and sometimes horrible. Restaurants and breakfast room are good and good food. Sometimes wanted to invite friends joining lunch at the swimming pool and sometimes they had to pay an entrance fee and sometimes not!! Overall its OK!

Room Tip: Ocean Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdHeinlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    382
    126
    65
    63
See reviews for
564
663
51
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Visited for a business awards conference in April, left pretty disappointed. We had a 4th floor room that looked out to the other 4th floor rooms and over the courtyard. Could not see the beach. Room very small and very basic, nothing special except for the cool in-mirror TV in the bathroom. Walls are paper thin...we could hear our next door neighbor cough, talk on the phone, etc. Considered skipping a buffet style breakfast for room service until I noticed that 2 eggs are $25. I don't consider myself to be 'super cheap', but anything more than $10 for 2 eggs is a blantant rip-off. The Breakers definitely hire a good staff, who were sympathetic to my food allergy and provided excellent service all around. Two thumbs up for the literally hundreds of employees here. No chance I'll be back here, even if the company decides to pay for it again, just an overrated, old, expensive, noisy hotel.

Room Tip: I imagine one of the rooms that face the ocean would be a better view that what we had, overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJN303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I visited the Breakers for Brunch on Easter Sunday. I had family in town and I wanted to bring them somewhere special. The Breakers did not disappoint. Yes, it's quite expensive but I dare say it's worth every penny. Service was top notch and the setting/ambiance was perfection. And then there was the food! I would have been happy with the raw bar alone, but I gladly explored and sampled the wide variety of offerings. A perfect place to celebrate a special occasion. I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoannieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Great three day stay. Property is at all time best shape. Service top tier. Restaurants all excellent. HMF is a great scene. Golf course is in great shape and the beach club and pools are perfect for a post round dip to cool off. Will be back again soon

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Seaurchineceviche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We booked to stay here for a week, but didn't stay a night.
Upon arrival(4pm), our rooms were unavailable, and there was no indication of whether they would be in an hour or so...we went off for some food (having travelled down from Orlando) and found the food offerings somewhat poor, by that I mean the choice and pricing were not great.
When we returned to the reception at 6pm we were given room keys that clearly were neither connecting or adjacent rooms, in fact they were on different floors and in different wings of the hotel, neither of which offered the Ocean Front View we had booked. Reception could do nothing for us claiming a BIG WEDDING had booked them out...well, as we had booked our rooms a year in advance there clearly was no regard FOR US. We said we were not accepting the situation, they essentially said TOUGH so we moved on...guess what, they even tried charging us a No Show One Night Fee...my Card Company sorted that out.
During the short time we were there, the Hotel appeared run down, tired, outdated, and not at all what a 5 star establishment should be....Weather was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank W0rldTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

From outdoor reception, banquet meal, housekeeping, spa, varied pool settings and lavish floral display on entrance to the hotel, the Breaker's staff works extremely hard to give visitors a remarkable experience in relaxation.

Room Tip: Staying close to the beach lets you appreciate the continuous hypnotic wave sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadWIExpTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

After reading all the wonderful reviews, I was hoping not to be disappointed and we were not! The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The interior was exquisite! The staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was large and comfortable (except for the bed and over-sized pillows) Pleasantly decorated and very quiet. We were on the 5th floor. I loved the herb garden and the fact that the fresh herbs were used by the restaurant chefs. Very convenient to the beach....only steps away! The beach was very clean. The cabanas were nicely stocked and we took advantage of a chair massage while enjoying a relaxing afternoon. I also enjoyed my detox mud wrap in the spa. Very professional staff. Can't wait to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
747 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
593 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
423 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
#1 of 4 in Palm Beach Shores
1,381 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Prestigia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing