We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves a place on your bucket list.”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a stay at The Breakers on our bucket list so we booked a stay. I was hoping it would be a grand hotel: well run, beautiful location, historic, excellent service, NOT over-the-top silliness. We weren't disappointed. It was a lovely experience. The staff was perfect...cordial, really nice people - that perfect balance of unobtrusive but attentive. Example, we, as gardeners, were walking through the hotel's kitchen garden. We bumped into the chef from the lobby lounge/restaurant, HMF (I think his name was Joe) as he was cutting for his meal prep. We asked a question about a specific herb and he offered to show us around the garden from a chef's perspective. That was a very nice small moment, especially in a big hotel. By the way, the food in Joe's restaurant was fantastic...really not to be missed. (Some of the very low chairs there, on the other hand, were're very well-suited for dining.) During our stay, we took a walk over to the Flagler Museum. It was really interesting and a pleasant walk. So glad we had this on our bucket list.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2peripatetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 2,371 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

This property is one of the finest hotels I have ever stayed at. I was aware the provenance the property possessed but I was extremely impressed with accommodations, staff, grounds and public space. I had dined at the Breakers several times but this was my first time as an overnight guest. I am in the hospitality business and we are the hardest to please and our expectations are never exceeded. I will not deny that staying at the property is expensive but it is worth it. The management maintains the property in pristine condition and the staff cannot do enough to make you comfortable and happy. This property has maintained impeccable standards of class and elegance without making the feel guest intimidated or uncomfortable. It is nice to see that manners and decorum are still in vogue at the Breakers. Many guests have commented on the size of the guestrooms but it is insignificant due to the fact that why would you want to stay in the guestrooms when the public spaces are sublime.The guestrooms are a perfect size and well appointed with excellent amenities. The Breakers is the only property that I have stayed at in the U.S. that depending where you are in the Resort you are transported to Paris, Venice or the South of France just by turning the corner. I will be returning to the Breakers every time the opportunity presents itself. I thank the staff and management for keeping the genteel traditions alive that are so lacking in many other properties and in daily life in general they are to be commended.

Room Tip: When booking your reservations the site tells you exactly the size of the room you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarketingHyannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I always wanted to stay at this hotel after I visited here several years ago just at the bar so I had very hight expectations of this place. All those expectations were met and above. We book one week over New Years here and had wonderful vacation. The property is glamorous, historical and the location could not be better. The beach was beautiful and so were all the pools, even over the busy holidays never crowded. We enjoyed every day lunch at the poolside restaurant. We tried all the property restaurants and service was excellent every where its very obvious that people enjoy to work here. Cocktails and sushi was probably the best i ever had. Our room was quite small with partial ocean view but luxurious amenities and the housekeeping did wonderful job as well. Highlight was Fantasy Ball on New Years Eve. Fantastic catering tons of caviar, sushi, all you can wish for and off course open bar with signature labels. As everything at The Breakers expensive evening but definitely worth it. A must experience if you are looking for unique New Years eve. So when you come to this hotel be prepared to spend big $$$$$ but you will have also wonderful pampered vacation from the moment you are promptly checked in till you leave nothing is a problem here. Cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms with the balconies facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terka05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a beautiful property in many ways and the service is excellent. So is the food. It is a bit stuffy but, hey, it's Palm Beach. Expect people to be all decked out on a Saturday night. This is not casual Caribbean wear.

The beds were substandard and the pillows were terrible. I woke up in back pain every day and our friends had the same experience so it was not our imagination.

The pools are reasonably quiet but very busy and not terribly relaxing. Unless of course you like lots of people. A short weekend stay - sure - a week vacation, never.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel grounds and common areas are beautiful and steeped with history. The staff were all friendly and the food was good. The pool areas were very nice, albeit crowded. My spouse had "the best massage ever" at the spa!

Given the notoriety of the property and the room rates, we were shocked at how small our room was. The "standard" rooms were very small (Hilton Garden Inn size) with a very small round table and two chairs. No sofa or comfortable seating area, no desk. The bathroom was also a bit disappointing since there was no separate toilet area...it sat next to the glass walled shower. If planning a multi-day stay, it may be worth trying to upgrade room type.

Spouse and I both found the king bed to be uncomfortable. Noticeable sagging to both sides, bow from head to toe, and a ridge in the middle.

Room wasn't refreshed until after 3:00 pm each day.

We were very glad to have the opportunity to stay at this historic property in West Palm Beach. The next time we are planning to stay at a high end property in Florida, we'll try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonesUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Beautiful property; rooms r way too small; no balcony; impeccable service, fabulous food, great bar! Beach & pools r wonderful. Enjoyed the spa & golf course (oldest in the state). Not worth the price regardless of the history... Can now check The Breakers off my bucket list!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyh614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel is expensive to stay at but it is worth it.
My room was beautifully furnished and decorated. Every amenity was given. Nothing was missing. The bed was comfortable with ample covers and pillows. The bathroom was perfect with generously furnished bottles of shampoo, mouthwash, lotion and everything you could look for. Heavenly soap, many towels, bedroom slippers and bathrobes of a deluxe feel.
The room was immaculate. It was well lit, good seating choices, a desk, excellent TV.
To return to the room after your busy day was always a pleasure; it was so inviting.

The banquet staff handled my peculiar dietary requests with courtesy and patience and brought me wonderful alternatives to the regular dinners.
Everyone at the Breakers is obviously instructed to be courteous and helpful, happy to see you. The young girls in the bar area are gorgeous and delightful.
I was at a meeting so I never even got to the beach or any of the hotels special offerings.
But the banquet rooms were exciting enough. High ceilings were decorated in spectacular murals or carvings; every room was unique in its beauty.
This is a happening place and divinely run to offer comfort, pleasure and a rewarding experience to all who stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conserve731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
778 reviews
1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#4 of 34 in West Palm Beach
957 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range: $498 - $2,292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing