We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Surprisingly Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chappaqua, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have been coming to The Breakers for a number of years & have always enjoyed the epitome of Palm Beach as embodied by this institution. We have stayed in the hotel, enjoyed several dinners & several more spa treatments. However, this time, wed feb 19, we rented a pool bungalow, to enjoy with our children, at a substantial amount. We also had a spa appointment which made my better half feel a bit better. However, we were shocked to be facing a crane, a wall & the noise of construction. We had booked the bungalow a week in advance & no one informed us of the horrendous circumstances. To make matters worse we have 6 yr old who couldn't partake in any of the children activities. I informed the hotel representatives a week in advance of our 6 yr old but not even my emails or request by the pool were responded to. Our pool concierge was apologetic but had no control over the situation and even he messed up our food order! Our stay was surprisingly disappointing considering the number of times we have enjoyed The Breakers. We trust and hope that Tricia Taylor becomes aware of this mishap.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    327
    112
    57
    50
See reviews for
483
577
40
468
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
207 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went for a conference. It was our first time there. We got an upgrade on our room which was a mini suite. It was wonderful. The property and restaurants were very special, and the waitstaff couldn't do enough for us. We had beautiful weather for February. The meeting areas were done extremely well and made the conference very smooth and convenient. We can't wait to come back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff49085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have been memebers of this hotel for several years now and were always friendly with the staff and always had a great relaxing time.
But since recently the service has changed dramaticaly, we are not finding the same nice atmosphere there used to be, the staff is not helpfull at all, especially at the beach. No help for disable people. They certainly spend much money to build new pools but instead of that maybe they should spend time on educating their staff. This is sad and disappointing, i hope it will go back to what it was!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdrianaTOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for the perfect get away that offers serenity, beautiful scenery and service that is top notch then you will relish your Breakers stay. The grounds are magnificent and lush, the pools are tranquil, and the restaurants offer a wide variety of tastes. The Seafood Bar in particular is a favorite and you can't go wrong there! If you have an opportunity to stay at the Breakers it will rank as one if the best!!!! Enjoy and make sure to take a guided bike tour to learn about the interesting history of this magnificent hotel from years gone by and also take a look at the Venetian Ballroom! It's amazing....

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natsfandc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed two nights for a business function. Rooms were clean, nicely appointed, and beds comfortable. Overall size of rooms is small-- with many beds being full size instead of queen. The property itself is striking-- sitting on the atlantic ocean. Beach is pretty small and the numerous pools seemed to always be pretty crowded but overall a nice place to stay. Also check out the Four Seasons Palm beach for a comparable property-- doesn't have the storied history like the Breakers but also a beautiful property with lots to offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natsfandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We headed to West Palm Beach to take a break from the horrific winter the East Coast is having this year. The Breakers was just what the doctor ordered. We had a corner suite, beach front that fit us all comfortably. The kids club was terrific. Our youngest (7), had a great time while our oldest (10) enjoyed the playstation available to him. The staff at the family center were exceptional. The grounds are gorgeous and the pools were meticulously maintained. Food was just so-so and very expensive.

Room Tip: corner suite was great. we were on the 1st floor, would request higher next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meand3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We arrived last November in the middle of the night. Walking in to the grand lobby of The Breakers, it was hard to believe we were still in America. Imagine magically lit high ceilinged, marbled entries and corridors. Imagine frescoed walls and ceilings, authentic and painstakingly brought over from Italy over 100 years ago. Our 1 a.m. welcome could not have been more gracious. Our room, facing the parking lot and with an uninteresting view, was still beautifully appointed and comfortable. Sheets, towels, bed, closets -- all of these amenities were well above average. The service was excellent, across the board. As we were part of a conference, most of our meals were provided by the hotel's catering service. The food was acceptable, though not exceptional. I am sure that their restaurants serve higher calibre fare. As we were experiencing a significant tropical storm that weekend, the weather was dramatic. High swells and wind kept everyone off the beach and away from the pools. Never mind, as just being in the hotel is entertainment enough. There are many cozy corners to snuggle in to, to read a book or enjoy a game of cards. Being at The Breakers felt like really getting away -- to another era, to another country. My only disappointment is that the Hotel has slowly sold off its property over the years. Surrounding the hotel now on all sides are awful condos and golf courses. I wonder what the extensive gardens might have looked like 100 years ago. All and all -- we had a marvelous time, and look forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: Even the rooms facing the parking lot are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenya2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#2 of 35 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#6 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing