We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Best Hotels I've Ever Stayed In!”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The Breakers is the best in everything! My husband had a meeting her & even the event meals were so unlike any event meals I have ever had. Awesome! Rooms were great & service was super. Everyone goes out of their way to make your stay the best! Did spa treatments & was very pleased! Would love to return!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,284)
There are newer reviews for The Breakers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,175 - 1,181 of 2,284 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Breakers was quite an introduction to Palm Beach. Alot of grand hotels have faded over the years but The Breakers has managed to stay up to date without losing its character. Everyone from the valet, to the waiters to random employees I would ask directions from were gracious, friendly and attentive without knowing whether or not I was a guest. The food and the amenities were exceptional, pricey --yes but well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssrrNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Luxurious resort with friendly staff, excellent food and even better accommodations. It is not too far from the airport, but far enough that it feels secluded and serene. Many pools, small beach and snack bar / bar options are all available within walking distance. Great place for events as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nellie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This lavish hotel is probably one of the finest in the entire U.S. The accommodations, the service, the food (oooooh the food) are perfect. I defy you to find a speck of dirt anywhere.There are all kinds of things to keep you occupied...golf, tennis, 5 swimming pools, kite surfing and just sitting out and watching the world go by. Even if you stay for only one day you will never forget this experience. Make sue you stay on a Sunday to partake in the "Sunday Brunch". Lobster, shrimp, eggs (of all kinds), crepes, a surplus of deserts and on and on...you get the picture.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the tower building closest to the pools. Spring for the ocean view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbuckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently spent a week at The Breakers Resort. XLNT accommodations; lovely grounds; and superb food but has a few places that are difficult and/or impossible to maneuver for disabled people.

There are at least 2 sets of elevators within the main building. I used the one closest to our room to go down to the floor where some meeting rooms are located, and also to visit the beach (per hotel signage). The meeting rooms were available, but the only beach access had many stairs stairs -- NO RAMP. Also, could not access the lobby floor from this floor as there was another set of stairs.

In order to get to the lobby I had to ascend on the elevator at least onet floor, travel quite a distance to the other set of elevators, then use that elevator to access the lobby. Very indirect access since they should have a ramp down to the lobby floor from the Mezz floor where the meeting rooms are situated; there were only 5 or 6 steps, but even one is too many for those of us who must use a wheelchair or scooter.

The rest rooms to serve the Circle Room (where they offer a fabulous Sunday Buffet Brunch) have an entry door immediately followed by a second entry door within a few feet. Once again, those of us in a wheelchair or scooter could not access this restroom since there was not sufficient space between the two doors. Imagine when such a need is urgent and you cannot complete something as simple as an entry.

The Breakers is a 1st class resort, but this lack of ADA compliance is unacceptable. I realize that this is not an issue for fully ambulatory people, but please have some compassion for those of us who have lost that precious ability.

Lastly, the rates were exorbitant. We had a conference rate of ~ $400 per night, but were advised that 'in season' the room was $700 per night. Very nice room, but not that nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent 5 days last week being pampered and living the luxurious life at The Breakers. I have never experienced such a high level of service. Everyone at this hotel is uber-friendly and wanting to be of assistance. The rooms are very comfortable. The pools are gorgeous. Food quality is superb (but expensive). I'm trying to figure out how I can get back as soon as possible. Can't say enough good things about The Breakers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband, on my 60th birthday, booked us a room for several nights at the Breakers, in Palm Beach, FL. From the time we walked in the door I was awed! The lobby is absolutely breathtaking. Look at the walls! Look at the ceilings! Read the history! This is what a FIVE STAR hotel should be. We've stayed at others high end hotels, but The Breakers is the best by far.

Room Tip: It's more expensive, but we stayed on the 4th floor - facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeenaM05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
756 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
613 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
834 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
#1 of 5 in Palm Beach Shores
1,406 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range: $405 - $1,391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing