We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of My Favorites!”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One of My Favorites!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I frequently stay at The Breakers for business and family vacations. Management and staff take hospitality to a whole new level. The multicultural staff and international guests make this a welcoming and hospitable destination. The rooms are luxurious, spotless and comfortable. I have enjoyed oceanfront rooms but also find the island view rooms have the most glorious sunsets (and cost less). There are dining options on property (most overlooking the Atlantic) and numerous within walking or a short drive. It is helpful to review the hotel's website, menus and prices. Insider tip: there are special deals in the area during summer months esp September (taste of the Palm Beaches).
We recently had a family vacation there celebrating a birthday. We were honored many times over! Very baby/child/teen friendly. Fyi: the Italian Restaurant has wonderful food but is located next to the children's rec area so it is noisy; not a quiet, romantic venue. Expect costs/fees to be
comparable to other resorts/ hotels of this caliber.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west are less expensive and usually have glorious sunsets!! Some rooms have all tile f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMay51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,620
    386
    127
    67
    66
See reviews for
585
668
51
557
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Breakers hotel for 3 nights as a part of a business incentive trip with his company. Check-in went great, as we were surprisingly upgraded to an ocean front suite. It was incredible! It is the largest room either of us had ever seen with 2 bathrooms, a living room, foyer, two balconies, 3 TVs, wine fridge, huge bathroom with double sinks, etc. The views from our room were amazing of the ocean.
There are 3 pools that are also just off of the beach. The pools have tons of chairs and are very clean, but they do not allow you to actually eat at the pool if you wanted lunch or a snack. They do serve drinks but you have to go to a restaurant onsite to eat. The pool attendants are also great at tracking down chairs, laying out chair covers and towels. The beach is also great --- tons of chairs that are not rentals with umbrellas, clean sand, waiters, etc. The grounds and hotel itself are also beautiful.
That is probably where the upside ends. Every item you order has a 20% service fee attached to it when 20% service was not consistently provided. One day we had lunch at the pool bar and our tab for 4 people with one sandwich, an order to peel & eat shrimp and 6 drinks was $130 with the 20% fees. We called the manager over and had the fees removed as service was terrible. We waited for and ended up asking for menus, had to ask to place our order, and sat forever with empty drinks.
A quick recommendation though is a great coffee shop/deli on the main level where you can get coffee and a bagel or muffin for $5. That is by far the best deal at the hotel. Don’t try to do lunch there though. What I thought was a deli was really boxed lunch meat sandwiches.
Overall, we did have a great trip in great accommodations, but be prepared to spend some cash if you eat or drink on site.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade at the front desk! The Ocean View Suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I thought that this was a beautiful property. As everyone has stated, the service is very good, the grounds are beautiful, and the historic building is stunning.
I can understand the high prices - the upkeep for such a huge property and that much staff must be astounding. It's totally worth it though to stay in such a beautiful property - the views are gorgeous.

Pools: The pools were lovely. I wish there was a dedicated lane pool - they advertise that - but I didn't see one and there were too many kids playing in the long main pool to be able to swim. Also the "activity" pool for kids didn't really have activities - you had to buy a noodle for $6 - go into town to CVS and pay $2 for some water toys - you need to bring your own. I thought that they could have provided a few noodles and toys. I liked that there were lifeguards.

Beach: The beach was beautiful and the views amazing. The only thing to know is that if you like long walks on the beach, this is not the place - it's not really amenable to that because it's quite narrow in places and not really designed for beach walking.

Services: The service was great and everyone was so kind. My only suggestion is that they give you more info about the resort - like another review said - I wish there was more information on the different restaurants and facilities. We found out about so much through friends we were with who had been there before. We wouldn't have known about the children's play area or the offsite restaurants otherwise. Same for the fitness facilities - there are two but I couldn't figure that out at first.

Restaurants: To me, the food was not very good. I am surprised by the positive reviews. I just found it sort of bland and not that varied. We spent a lot of time by the activity pool and ate at the ocean grill - the choices were limited and bland. The kids menu was not great either - if you order the kids pasta expect literally a plate of mushy boiled pasta for $10 with no veggies and some bottled sauce. Pack snacks or drinks for your kids at the poolside because a small smoothie or a fruit cup will cost you $10 each and if you have a couple of kids and they get hungry and thirsty at the pool you will easily spend $60 a day on just snacks.
I didn't discover until the last day that there was a small store to get coffee from in the morning - because it wasn't that easy to just get a cup of coffee here - no coffee makers in room and no starbucks kiosk or complimentary coffee in lobby.

Rooms: The room was very nice. The housekeeping was not very good - hair in our bathroom when we first arrived on the counter top and bathtub and on on the shower wall - ugh!! We tipped daily but somehow our room was never very well cleaned. But it's all good - she was nice and we didn't want to complain and we had a great holiday.
Also, I did not find the beds comfortable - too soft for my taste and the pillows were too high. Walls are also thin - room next to us had two crying children that kept us up - not the hotel's fault -but thin walls.

I would go back because it is so lovely but next time I will pack more snacks, bring my own pool toys, and investigate off site restaurants more.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view - definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrASToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Breakers is an old family favorite. The hotel and restaurants were favorites of my children for Birthdays and such. Tradition, quite thankfully, dies hard here. You can always expect the finest in service and amenities in Palm Beach and The Breakers gracefully upholds this standard. Whether you come here for high tea, evening cocktails with a fabulous ocean view or a child's Birthday celebration, you will feel pampered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElisePortlandOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This resort is truly amazing and you feel like you've stepped back in time as you approach the resort and as you enter the lobby. It is a very expensive resort, but I can see why considering the staffing requirement to maintain such a pristine environment and service level (1,850+). They are always there to make sure you have what you want when you want it. The facilities are in perfect condition, minus some of the renovation work going on in one of the pool/patio areas, and even the golf course is in perfect condition. Just try to find a divot, other than your own :). Every staff member is professional and courteous, at all times. The two rooms we stayed in were very nice but nothing extra special, except for the TV's that are part of the mirrors in the bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable, but the pillows were way too soft and you needed to use 2 of them just to get some support to rest your head or your neck would hurt. They have a shuttle service that will take you to/from only select locations, such as 3 or 4 participating restaurants nearby if you desire more variety. Food and drinks are generally very expensive in the resort, as you might expect. From hamburgers at $16+/-, to fish tacos at $17, to pasta dishes at around $28+/-, and on up. You can expect to spend per person around $20-25 for breakfast, $25-30 for lunch, and $45 on up significantly for dinner. Their food quality and preparation is wonderful. No complaints whatsoever! Even the childrens portions were quite generous and could suffice for many adults. Parking at the resort is Valet only, I believe, so there are expenses there as well. The taxi ride to/from the airport is about $25. Very friendly and helpful taxi drivers!

Room Tip: Ask if your assigned bedroom has carpet or tile flooring, depending on your preference. Flagler'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongballBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is an exceptional hotel. The overall level of service and the staff are excellent. The new HMF Restaurant is a tremendous improvement and worth a visit in itself. We have been coming to this hotel for ten years and always regret leaving.

Room Tip: The Flagler Club and its team are a special experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

After some difficulties in the past, the Breakers has once again proven to be one of the best hotels in Florida. This beautiful resort provides for everything the heart desires. From an unique beachfront property to great restaurants (try its new gem HMF), followed by lovely staff and nicely renovated rooms and suites it definitely has shown that this landmark can still provide best service in a historic environment.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
749 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
606 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
800 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
#1 of 4 in Palm Beach Shores
1,390 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing