We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Night's Sleep”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Good Night's Sleep”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

In September 2012 we visited the Breakers for a work retreat and stayed 3 nights. As my husband likes staying in hotels as much as I do, he came along for the ride. This posting will be less detailed than some of my more recent postings, as I forgot to take photos and do not recall the room we were in. What I do remember is that our room had garden (not ocean views), our room and the bathroom were quite large, and the room was dead quiet at night -- as a result we slept very well. The main pool was closed when we visited, so I cannot comment on it (it is likely open by now). The hotel has a gracious "old world" feel with a number of places inside or out to sit and relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCityTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,620
    386
    127
    67
    66
See reviews for
585
668
51
557
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have been going to this resort for the past ten years. This resort is not what it used to be. The demographics have changed completely. If you think you are getting a relaxing world class resort experience, think again. The demographics now consists of loud , noisy, obnoxious, rude , young adults. The hotel staff losses control of the rowdy crowds and the situation. You will be better off going to Vegas if you like this sort of thing.

Room Tip: Go to Vegas
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I really didn't believe it when I read online that this was one of the most family friendly resorts in the country because I didn't picture it that way (from what I knew of it) but we decided to give it a shot w/ 2 young kids under 5 and it met & exceeded expectations! The staff was so so so helpful and child friendly, we never felt like our toddlers occasionally running through the lobby or talking a little too loud in a restaurant or hallway was a problem and for the most part the guests were equally open and accepting, though of course we tried our best to keep everyone under control :) (I was a little worried the other guests there would not love kids being around but there were tons of families there and most of the guests were very friendly & not bothered by little kids).
We got a jr suite b/c we wanted a little more room- great size for a family of 4. However, the beds are a bit high and our daughter fell out on one of our first nights so she & our son had to share the pullout loveseat after that...ok b/c they're young but not really great for more than one bigger kid. My only real complaint about the room was that they used king sized pillows on full sized (?queen) beds...if you have 2 ppl sleeping in there, the pillows just don't work. They are also really smooshy/soft kinds of pillows which I personally don't like so I didn't find sleeping very comfortable. Though the service is so good I bet if I had called I could've gotten alternative pillows...
Someone else mentioned this but there is 1 pool in particular that is very kid friendly, it has a zero entry side that is roped off for the littler nonswimmers & is right by the beach entrance so you can go back & forth. We used the kids camp a couple times for half days & our kids had a great time. The family center is great- I actually wish the Breakers would put more photos of it on their website b/c it is pretty big, there is a full arcade, a little movie theater, an arts & crafts room, a play room that is great for babies/young toddlers and a little eating room where the kids camp kids eat their lunch. Also basketball courts outside and a nice little playground.
Beach is small but all we really need and lots of shells wash up which my daughter loved collecting. One thing I think the resort is missing is a nice walking trail/path on property- we love to go for walks around resorts but the only way to walk or run for more than 5-10 min is to go off property and walk on sidewalks.
We did the summer savings deal where the kids ate free at all the restaurants and we got a great continental breakfast for everyone... of course the adults' meals and drinks were not inexpensive but it was great to not worry about going to good restaurants and what would the kids eat, etc. Plus the continental bfast was great,esp at the Circle room, we don't need more than that for bfast! It was a bit of a bummer that several of the on site restaurants are not open for dinner (at least in summer, not sure about winter) and you had to go off site but it was not really a big deal for us, we ate at the Italian restaurant twice (the ravioli & tortelloni were really awesome and the pizza was a great casual outside in our bathing suits meal), we went off site to Echo once (the kids and adult meals there were really delicious and though it is not the type of place we would typically take our kids, the staff there were great w/ them and we went on the early side). Same goes for the Seafood Bar- didn't look like it would be kid friendly going in but they were great w/ the kids. Service/gratuity is included in all your bills which we found helpful, we didn't have to worry about that, and the service was still awesome everywhere even though tip was included, which is pretty impressive. However, make sure to bring some tip money for the beach attendants and valets, etc.
We went into West Palm to Cityplace (I think that is what it is called) for a more casual dinner & change of scene one night & also had a lot of fun driving out to Lion Country Safari with the kids one day for a couple hrs.
It was a great vacation, we would go back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with my husband for a conference. The interior of the hotel reminds me of the Biltmore in Asheville, NC. The service was impeccable...Really! Everyone from the valets, cleaning staff, people just walking around with name tags (LOL) would stop and ask me if they could help me, that could be because I looked lost ... the resort & grounds are massive. Rooms are beautiful and very clean. Everything, indoor and out was impeccable.
Pros: Everything about the service, decor and food. The pool service was exceptional, outstanding.
Cons: spa doesn't really compare to other resort spas I've been to, but they are working on it. There isn't a hair salon...so after being by the pool/beach all day, it would have been nice to have someone else do my hair. The staff said they could arrange to have someone come to my room for a blowout, but since a two egg breakfast for one was $50...I was afraid to ask the cost.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about the views because most rooms do not have balconies. Also, because of the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweedlebug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in May. It was truly a wonderful experience, the hotel is breathtakingly beautiful and lives up to its reputation as one of the best in the world. We were made to feel so welcome on arrival and immediately relaxed. The interior of the hotel is absolutely stunning, one doesn`t know where to look, with beautiful furniture, tapestries, and the ceilings which are amazing. Our room was just perfect, soft luxurious bedding, great bathroom, walk in closet, comfy seating, plus a TV in the bathroom mirror and all the little things that make a stay extra special. The choice of restaurants is great. We ate in the Beach side restaurant, the seafood grill, the Italian restaurant, the bar, and of course the Circle restaurant for breakfast, all delicious food, each uniquely beautiful. The pools are fabulous, and the private beach spectacular, the views to die for. Great selection of shops, we got some lovely souvenirs. The staff were all so helpful. Overall, I can`t wait to go back to this hotel and would highly recommend it without reservation. P.S. Bought the DVD on the historic tour of The Breakers and thoroughly enjoyed watching it when we returned home.

Room Tip: We stayed in a non sea view room, but as the sea views are dominant from many areas of the hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e-golden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at The Breakers with wife and two kids (8 and 9 years old). Outstanding resort. Service is far better than Ritz or Four Seasons. The facilities, grounds, rooms and common areas are all perfect. By far one of the best hotels we've had the pleasure of visiting. On par with a resort like Sea Island Georgia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conk05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC metropolitan area
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are planning to bring a large group of models to a resort for private training, photo shoots, learning new sports, ... Sent small groups and ourselves.
This is hotel clearly shows the grandeur of the age when it was built. Good staff. Lots of children and happy families. Our concern was security. No practical means to prevent photos, amateur paparazzi, and control teenage and early 20s males behaving like boors. Mom and grandma will not.
Back to hotel: Great, not cheap, good for couples, families, weddings ...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdcnyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
749 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
606 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
800 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
#1 of 4 in Palm Beach Shores
1,391 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing