We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at The Breakers with wife and two kids (8 and 9 years old). Outstanding resort. Service is far better than Ritz or Four Seasons. The facilities, grounds, rooms and common areas are all perfect. By far one of the best hotels we've had the pleasure of visiting. On par with a resort like Sea Island Georgia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conk05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are planning to bring a large group of models to a resort for private training, photo shoots, learning new sports, ... Sent small groups and ourselves.
This is hotel clearly shows the grandeur of the age when it was built. Good staff. Lots of children and happy families. Our concern was security. No practical means to prevent photos, amateur paparazzi, and control teenage and early 20s males behaving like boors. Mom and grandma will not.
Back to hotel: Great, not cheap, good for couples, families, weddings ...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdcnyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had a wonderful occasion to spend 5 days at the Breakers recently and was pleased to discover that it maintains the comfort and grandeur that I've experienced in previous stays years ago. It's truly a restful and beautiful place and I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PositiveEnerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Breakers is a beautiful hotel with all of the amenities you'd expect from a hotel of this caliber. The rooms were very nice and roomy, with a comfortable bed and an amazing bathroom. The staff was very attentive. The only negative things I have to say are that the beach is not large and most of the evening restaurants are not on-site (the hotel provides free shuttles to the off-site restaurants). There are some pool restaurants and a few bars that serve food on-site, which were very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in this beautiful property on early June. My husband and our 5 children. Our kids and us stayed on suite 3135, which is a king size ocean front suite with a separate living area with an additional double beds connecting room. Not sure about all the buzz about rooms being small, I think they were a pretty decent size, perhaps because we were on a suite we felt that we had plenty of room. They baby proof the room in advance as requested and provided a crib.
Also my husband side of the family joined us on separate rooms, we were a total of 14 people. 8 of them kids and needless to say, we choose the right place to bring our busy crew!
From the moment we arrived, our kids were greeted with tokens for the play machines, beach toys and stuffed animals for our 2 yr old baby girl. We ate on the steakhouse, the grill restaurant by the pool and the Italian restaurant all great food, but we loved the most the Italian!
The service was phenomenal, at the steak restaurant the waiters helped our kids to cut their meat and they took them for a tour of the gardens while we the adults were finishing eating. We had the promo were the kids ate for free, and we took advantage of that!Kids meals come with dessert which they loved!
We were very well taken care by the tool, with great service all the time, with a great smile. Our kids loved swimming in the beach!
One thing I wish is that they wouldn’t charge to get boogie boards or tubing floats for the beach… I’ve stayed in some high end resorts in Mexico, Caribbean & Hawaii and they are part of the amenities of those resorts, that’s the only thing I will ask, beside getting at least clean towels in the evenings since there’s no turn down service.
I love the shops they have in the property, I mean, for kids, for me, for the girls, it's dangerous!
Beds are very comfortable as well. We had the continental breakfast+ and it was good for the kids with plenty of options, for me was just ok.

Room Tip: if you want space, get a beach front suite. That's the way to go, go big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudillita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

An amazing property with a wonderful staff. All of the facilities are first class. The Flagler Steakhouse is one of the best meals I've ever had. Service was excellent. The Seafood Bar is excellent--perhaps a bit expensive for a lunch but with an incredible view. Incredible wine list in the lounge.
We were there for a conference and that was also well done. Rooms were cool (not freezing like so many are) and the sound systems worked well.
Valet system for the cars can be a bit challenging when everyone leaves at the same time--definitely call in advance for your car if multiple events are going on.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCL03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was just at the hotel for a Banker conference. The Breakers is Old World charm... The grounds, hotel/rooms, and service are all first class. The restaurants are excellent. I had the opportunity to dine in Palm Beach as well and also was treated to a great culinary experience. Certainly try the Seafood Bar which has a great view of the "breakers" and have a drink while watching the fish and eels swim by incorporated into the bar. Indulge yourself with a stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetsMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
760 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
863 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#7 of 34 in West Palm Beach
892 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
#1 of 5 in Palm Beach Shores
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range: $496 - $1,807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing