We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Little to add to the raves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, MI
Level Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Little to add to the raves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Breakers is exquisite, yet you don't feel like a self-conscious rube. For business meetings, the many conference rooms work quite well and the meals do not have that banquet-chicken feel. To the contrary: best group meals I've had at a business meeting. Staff are approachable and helpful. The Spa is on the small and humble side, but is going to be expanded shortly. It will move temporarily into the main building while this is done. My only complaint is the cost of drinks. Expect to pay $12-14 for a glass of wine or cocktail, with an automatic 20% gratuity added.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Opinion8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,406
    339
    113
    59
    55
See reviews for
500
593
43
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Breaker's is stunning. The meeting rooms are very ornate and beautifully decorated. The hotel rooms are a bit small and most do not have nice views, however they are very elegant overall. The beach club is great, lots of fun pools, but it's on the complete other side of the hotel. Also, the cost of food is outrageous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RadlerGreatNeck_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Breakers is historic luxury, no doubt about it. The facilities are excellent and the rooms and bathrooms were very elegantly appointed and luxurious, while also feeling homey. We traveled as a couple and felt that it was a family-oriented resort, with lots of children. Nice beach and great pools (including an adults-only pool), as well as great resort-style golf.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Floirda
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

At once it was very elegant, classy and elaborate, something you would not have wanted to miss. That is sadly gone. The atmosphere is nothing like what it used to be in fact we almost thought it was just a regular restaurant when we saw the line and the food display which leaves ALOT to be desired. Basically, the breakfast choices are almost non existent and whatever they do have is greasy and cold. A small amount of seafood tough not very appealing. The rest of the food was also cold and believe it or not they actually have a toaster on the buffet. The worst part though was driving home we had to stop to be physically ill to put it mildly. Not a happy ending.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sascha07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

In the class of the Homestead in VA & the Broadmoor in CO, this is an old large hotel that emphasizes service and a resort approach.

There were some posts on here that the service was spotty; I found the service very prompt and accommodating. I was here for a business conference, and ate all meals on site. Considering mass preparation and serving, the food was excellent. Breakers was large enough to accommodate our meeting of about 200.

Overall, though, the value for the price did not seem fitting. For this price range, for a personal trip, I would look at some other options nearby. There are other highly rated, smaller hotels that are not on the “breakers”, but only a short walk to the beach. Also, the beaches here are getting pretty short in some places, e.g, Phipps Ocean Park at south end of Palm Beach, the beaches were closed due to erosion from Sandy, that came thru 2 months ago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NATS_fan_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Am a very tough critic and demand great service. Also stay in a variety of higher end hotels and I must tell you these folks are simply superb. The level of service I experienced was close to perfect. From the housekeeping staff to the bellman to the golf course staff. All simply superb.

A great choice of on site dining and a wide variety of food and prices. We had two meals as part of a large group and that was very well done as well. The grounds are impeccably well maintained and the pool area is gorgeous.

Was her with adults...not sure what and how they cater to children. Can not offer an opinion here.

All of this comes at a high price but remember you get what you pay for. Think they do just an outstanding job. Now remember this is an older hotel but I believe over the years they have done a nice job of upgrading when and where necessary.

Expensive but worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTrun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Was disappointed by the breakers!
Individual staff are great and try hard, but you come back to the fact that it is a resort and a very expensive one. rooms are very average - we had a partial ocean view on the 5th floor, but no desk, no tea and coffee making facilities. Was very hit and miss getting your room made up - some mornings 9 another day 3.30pm - really?

The other point I'd add, is there are a lot of kids 7/8 years not being managed by parents who doing lunch and too busy. This can be annoying to say the least - I felt for the poor guys in the swimming pool with lane swimming that was invaded. By 3 such kids. Overall - wouldn't return sorry!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules196350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 35 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#6 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#4 of 35 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing